MozillaZine

ie tab for Mac OSX?

Discussion of features in Mozilla Firefox
sheltiefan
 
Posts: 2
Joined: September 19th, 2008, 9:40 pm

Post Posted September 19th, 2008, 9:48 pm

is there a planned release of your ie tab that will work with OSX? i'm really tired of having to work with windows on my Mac to access certain web pages. from what i hear your ie tab is the ticket - except you say it will not work with os X. will it ever?

Euchre

User avatar
 
Posts: 2804
Joined: April 16th, 2006, 12:48 pm

Post Posted September 20th, 2008, 5:18 am

Internet Explorer is no longer included with, nor developed for Mac OS X. For this reason, you can expect that no version of IETab will be made for OS X. ActiveX, virtually the only reason you would need IE for anything, is not available on Mac OS X anyway. If you visit a site that requires ActiveX then you are stuck with using Windows and IE. Most sites that require that are for doing something to Windows itself though, like Windows Update and online malware scanning. If a site you use that doesn't require ActiveX refuses to load in Firefox, Camino, or Safari then I suggest you install User Agent Switcher in Firefox, or User Agent in Camino. Modifying the user agent in Safari is a little more tricky, with the primary hurdle involving enabling the debug menu.
Gecko
One Rendering Engine to rule them all.

steviex
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 28902
Joined: August 12th, 2006, 8:27 am
Location: Middle England

Post Posted September 20th, 2008, 5:23 am

Remember that IE Tab actually RUNS IE....

This means that you actually have to HAVE IE Installed on your computer.

Do you have IE for Mac Installed ?? (This assumes you have found a discontinued version and got it working)

Another option would be using a Virtual Machine or a compatibility layer like Crossover....
Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I'm not sure about the former. -Albert Einstein

Please DO NOT PM me for support... Lets keep it on the board, so we can all learn.

sheltiefan
 
Posts: 2
Joined: September 19th, 2008, 9:40 pm

Post Posted September 23rd, 2008, 9:29 pm

steviex wrote:Remember that IE Tab actually RUNS IE....

This means that you actually have to HAVE IE Installed on your computer.

Do you have IE for Mac Installed ?? (This assumes you have found a discontinued version and got it working)

Another option would be using a Virtual Machine or a compatibility layer like Crossover....


thanks you - i didn't realize that. i did have windows running, but it suddenly decided i needed to activate it (which, of course, i already had). i'll need to re-install it since i can't get anyone to get me to the activation screen - i'm just stuck in a loop

Euchre

User avatar
 
Posts: 2804
Joined: April 16th, 2006, 12:48 pm

Post Posted September 23rd, 2008, 11:31 pm

If you are running Windows (via Boot Camp, Parallels, or VMWare) and want IE Tab for ActiveX to complete the activation for Windows - you just need to run IE that's already installed IN Windows. No part of the activation process for Windows installed on a Mac involves OS X. It doesn't need to, Windows is doing that work all unto itself. You don't need IE Tab on Firefox (or any other Gecko browser) on OS X to make use of IE's features needed for Windows installed on a Mac. The two are just totally separate matters.
Gecko
One Rendering Engine to rule them all.

litoo0
 
Posts: 1
Joined: December 24th, 2017, 4:11 am

Post Posted December 24th, 2017, 4:13 am

man there is a version for IE that works with mac
[url=https://www..com/..../../internet-explorer-for-mac.html]internet explorer for mac[/url]

LIMPET235
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 38476
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 1:53 am
Location: The South Coast of N.S.W. Oz.

Post Posted December 24th, 2017, 4:23 am

Why post to a thread that died in 2008?

Locking due to old age.
Ancient Amateur Astronomer
Win-7-HP/IntelĀ® DualCore-2.0GHz/500G HDD/4 Gig Ram/550Watt PSU/350WattUPS/Firefox-20.0-57.0-61.0-62.0/T-bird-2.0.0.24/SnagIt-v10.0.1/MWP-7.11.0.
RadioYachting. (Always choose the "Custom" Install.)

Return to Firefox Features


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests