MozillaZine

Mouse Gestures

Talk about add-ons and extension development.
neil katz
 
Posts: 2
Joined: November 28th, 2002, 9:22 am

Post Posted November 28th, 2002, 9:29 am

Downloaded and installed in Phoenix .04. Closed and restarted browser, but do not see anything for this in Preferences/Advanced. Using borwser on Win XP which also has Mozilla 1.2 installed - could this make a difference?

laszlo

User avatar
 
Posts: 5198
Joined: November 4th, 2002, 6:13 pm
Location: .de

Post Posted November 28th, 2002, 9:32 am

It's an extension. You have to install it first.

neil katz
 
Posts: 2
Joined: November 28th, 2002, 9:22 am

Post Posted November 29th, 2002, 10:52 am

laszlo wrote:It's an extension. You have to install it first.


See below excerpt from Install Log - looks like I did install it already - anything else I need to do?

http://www.mozilla.org/projects/phoenix ... ozgest.xpi -- 11/28/2002 11:04:09
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Mouse Gestures
--------------

[1/25] Create Folder: G:\Phoenix\phoenix\chrome\mozgest
[2/25] Create Folder: G:\Phoenix\phoenix\chrome\mozgest\content
[3/25] Create Folder: G:\Phoenix\phoenix\chrome\mozgest\content\pref
[4/25] Installing: G:\Phoenix\phoenix\chrome\mozgest\content\pref\pref-mozgest.xul
[5/25] Installing: G:\Phoenix\phoenix\chrome\mozgest\content\contents.rdf
[6/25] Installing: G:\Phoenix\phoenix\chrome\mozgest\content\gestimp.js
[7/25] Create Folder: G:\Phoenix\phoenix\chrome\mozgest\locale
[8/25] Create Folder: G:\Phoenix\phoenix\chrome\mozgest\locale\en-US
[9/25] Create Folder: G:\Phoenix\phoenix\chrome\mozgest\locale\en-US\mozgest
[10/25] Installing: G:\Phoenix\phoenix\chrome\mozgest\locale\en-US\mozgest\mozgest.properties
[11/25] Installing: G:\Phoenix\phoenix\chrome\mozgest\content\mozgestOverlay.js
[12/25] Installing: G:\Phoenix\phoenix\chrome\mozgest\content\pref\logo.png
[13/25] Installing: G:\Phoenix\phoenix\chrome\mozgest\content\mozgestOverlay.xul
[14/25] Create Folder: G:\Phoenix\phoenix\chrome\mozgest\content\jsutil
[15/25] Create Folder: G:\Phoenix\phoenix\chrome\mozgest\content\jsutil\xpcom
[16/25] Installing: G:\Phoenix\phoenix\chrome\mozgest\content\jsutil\xpcom\XPCU.js
[17/25] Installing: G:\Phoenix\phoenix\chrome\mozgest\content\pref\mozgestPrefOverlay.xul
[18/25] Create Folder: G:\Phoenix\phoenix\chrome\mozgest\content\jsutil\rdf
[19/25] Installing: G:\Phoenix\phoenix\chrome\mozgest\content\jsutil\rdf\RDFU.js
[20/25] Installing: G:\Phoenix\phoenix\chrome\mozgest\content\pref\pref-mozgest.js
[21/25] Installing: G:\Phoenix\phoenix\chrome\mozgest\locale\en-US\mozgest\mozgest.dtd
[22/25] Installing: G:\Phoenix\phoenix\chrome\mozgest\locale\en-US\mozgest\contents.rdf
[23/25] Installing: G:\Phoenix\phoenix\chrome\mozgest\content\gestures.js
[24/25] Register Content: resource:/chrome/mozgest/content/
[25/25] Register Locale: resource:/chrome/mozgest/locale/en-US/mozgest/

Install completed successfully -- 11/28/2002 11:04:14

laszlo

User avatar
 
Posts: 5198
Joined: November 4th, 2002, 6:13 pm
Location: .de

Post Posted November 29th, 2002, 11:16 am

Yes, you have it installed. Because of differences in the way the preferences panel is organized in Phoenix, MozGest's prefs won't show up there (it's not yet adapted to Phoenix). So you'd have to use the default config it ships with or edit your user.js manually. If you're not using the 0.4 release (20021029) but a recent nightly (IIRC anything after 20021114) there is a chance it might not work at all.

I just tried it once but don't use it at the moment. A better place to ask questions about Phoenix problems with MozGest would probably be here, because many Phoenix users don't read through the Mozilla part of these forums.

zenwhen
 
Posts: 2
Joined: December 16th, 2002, 2:13 am

Post Posted December 16th, 2002, 2:14 am

When I installed the gestures, the line in prefs.js was never added. Not to hijack... but anyone know why>
Image

Bushwack
 
Posts: 144
Joined: December 4th, 2002, 12:36 pm

Post Posted December 16th, 2002, 2:39 am

Try asking in the phoenix forums someone might be able to help you there.

mozby
 
Posts: 343
Joined: December 21st, 2002, 10:40 am
Location: Germany

Post Posted December 28th, 2002, 12:35 pm

Hi!

I don't know if it's already been discussed, but I did a search and couldn't find anything. So, here it is:

I've got a mouse gestures problem with Mozilla: They all work fine, but only from the second gesture on. In each tab, the first gesture, whatever gesture it may be (it's usually "back" or "close"), never works. If you repeat the gesture or make some other gesture, everyting's fine. And all following gestures work perfectly. But the first gesture in a tab only pops up the menue (I use the gestures with the right mouse button). I don't have this problem with Phoenix. In both Mozilla and Phoenix the m. gestures are configured the same.
It's not a big broblem, but somewhat annoying.
(Win XP and quite a lot of extensions ;-))

Any ideas?

andyed

User avatar
 
Posts: 78
Joined: November 5th, 2002, 6:31 am
Location: Clemson, SC

Post Posted January 6th, 2003, 2:09 pm

Interesting, I don't think I've seen that.

We'd appreciate a bug report at:
http://optimoz.mozdev.org/gestures/bugs.html

officeslave
 
Posts: 9
Joined: January 23rd, 2003, 12:20 pm

Post Posted January 23rd, 2003, 12:21 pm

That's what always happens to me when I use the .3.5 RC. Use .3.4 instead and it'll be fine.

mozby
 
Posts: 343
Joined: December 21st, 2002, 10:40 am
Location: Germany

Post Posted January 26th, 2003, 3:44 pm

officeslave wrote:That's what always happens to me when I use the .3.5 RC. Use .3.4 instead and it'll be fine.


Oh, yes!! You're right. Thanks a lot, it works fine now! :D

SuGa
 
Posts: 68
Joined: November 21st, 2002, 2:11 pm

Post Posted February 3rd, 2003, 2:50 am

.34 and .35rc2 are rejected by Mozilla/5.0 (X11; U; Linux i686; en-US; rv:1.3b) Gecko/20030201 :(
when i try to install one of those packages i get a "Not a valid install package"

officeslave
 
Posts: 9
Joined: January 23rd, 2003, 12:20 pm

Post Posted February 5th, 2003, 6:52 pm

RC3 is out, and it performs correctly. No double-gesturing to get the desired effect.

Return to Extension Development


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests