MozillaZine

Starting Composer by itself

User Help for Seamonkey and Mozilla Suite
eldiener
 
Posts: 6
Joined: February 1st, 2005, 5:37 pm

Post Posted October 10th, 2019, 7:27 am

Is it possible to just start the SeaMonkey Composer without starting SeaMonkey itself ?

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 122243
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted October 10th, 2019, 8:22 am


Peter Creasey

User avatar
 
Posts: 589
Joined: October 26th, 2007, 2:32 pm
Location: Texas

Post Posted October 10th, 2019, 9:51 am

I don't see the answer there...or maybe I don't understand the "instructions".

Is there an easy, short answer?
. . . . . . . . . . Pete

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 122243
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted October 10th, 2019, 10:03 am

Change the properties of the shortcut you use to launch Thunderbird (or create a duplicate shortcut) with the following:
"C:\Program Files (x86)\Mozilla Thunderbird\thunderbird.exe" -edit

That was listed in the link above as "-edit <url> Start with editor"

TPR75
 
Posts: 807
Joined: July 25th, 2011, 8:11 am
Location: Poland

Post Posted October 10th, 2019, 11:38 am

DanRaisch wrote:Change the properties of the shortcut you use to launch Thunderbird (or create a duplicate shortcut) with the following:
"C:\Program Files (x86)\Mozilla Thunderbird\thunderbird.exe" -edit

That was listed in the link above as "-edit <url> Start with editor"


In this case it will be:
Code: Select all
"C:\Program Files\SeaMonkey\seamonkey.exe" -edit


...or:
Code: Select all
"C:\Program Files (x86)\SeaMonkey\seamonkey.exe" -edit


:wink:

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 122243
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted October 10th, 2019, 12:20 pm

Acch. Thanks TPR75. You’re absolutely right.

WaltS48

User avatar
 
Posts: 4063
Joined: May 7th, 2010, 9:38 am
Location: Pennsylvania, USA

Post Posted October 11th, 2019, 5:59 am

Peter Creasey wrote:I don't see the answer there...or maybe I don't understand the "instructions".

Is there an easy, short answer?


Use Edit > Preferences > Appearance, remove the check mark for "Browser" and select "Composer".
Linux Desktop - AMD Athlon(tm) II X3 455 3.3GHz | 8.0GB RAM | GeForce GT 630
Windows Notebook - AMD A8 7410 2.2GHz | 6.0GB RAM | AMD Radeon R5

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 122243
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted October 11th, 2019, 6:10 am

Use Edit > Preferences > Appearance, remove the check mark for "Browser" and select "Composer".

That works if you ALWAYS want to start SeaMonkey with the Editor. If it is an occasional need, having a separate shortcut with the -edit switch would be more practical.

Peter Creasey

User avatar
 
Posts: 589
Joined: October 26th, 2007, 2:32 pm
Location: Texas

Post Posted October 11th, 2019, 6:40 am

Walt, thanks, that is very worthwhile info.
. . . . . . . . . . Pete

WaltS48

User avatar
 
Posts: 4063
Joined: May 7th, 2010, 9:38 am
Location: Pennsylvania, USA

Post Posted October 11th, 2019, 2:36 pm

DanRaisch wrote:
Use Edit > Preferences > Appearance, remove the check mark for "Browser" and select "Composer".

That works if you ALWAYS want to start SeaMonkey with the Editor. If it is an occasional need, having a separate shortcut with the -edit switch would be more practical.


Sorry, I misinterpreted the topic to be asking how to do that. :oops: :oops: :oops:

I'd use Geany.
Linux Desktop - AMD Athlon(tm) II X3 455 3.3GHz | 8.0GB RAM | GeForce GT 630
Windows Notebook - AMD A8 7410 2.2GHz | 6.0GB RAM | AMD Radeon R5

Return to SeaMonkey Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests