MozillaZine

Still using v52.9, big security risk?

Discussion of general topics about Mozilla Firefox
tonynyc
 
Posts: 29
Joined: August 9th, 2013, 12:20 pm

Post Posted October 27th, 2018, 9:10 am

Hello, still using v52.9, is there really a security risk using an old version? I'm using ublock and flash blocker, Thanks.

lasardo
 
Posts: 182
Joined: September 9th, 2018, 1:41 pm

Post Posted October 27th, 2018, 10:09 am

From here https://www.mozilla.org/en-US/security/ ... s/firefox/ there are dozens of vulnerabilities that have been fixed since 60.0.2 ESR was released and 52.9 was end-of-life d, the majority of which do apply to 52.*. The security risk is real, if you want to use an old browser make sure you have an antivirus software that is active, and I would actually suggest doing any financial transaction such as banking or purchases with a secure browser. So, use 52 for normal tasks, but run a portable up to date Firefox or some other browser version for anything financial. Also, there were no "permissions" for extensions in old Firefox, so any extension you have could potentially be spying on you the way Stylish did. Ublock origin does help. 2 other things that would help are turning on the protect me from malicious sites blocking in Firefox options, and although it breaks everything until you train it, using Noscript would help.

LoveMyFoxy

User avatar
 
Posts: 2251
Joined: December 11th, 2009, 11:23 am
Location: USA

Post Posted October 27th, 2018, 11:58 pm

Hi, Lasardpo, we spoke yesterday regarding the same topic. Can I run 2 versions at the same time with 2 diff. profiles, or do I have to close one.

I could never figure out Noscrpt, and ditched it. I didn't know which scripts to allow and which not.
2 Desktops--Win 7 Ult. 64-bit, 6GB RAM /Waterfox64 56.2.11/Thunderbird 52.9ESR/Verizon FIOS wired network

LIMPET235
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 38705
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 1:53 am
Location: The South Coast of N.S.W. Oz.

Post Posted October 28th, 2018, 3:14 am

HI LMF,
Of course you can run 2, 3 or as many versions as you want.
Here's the old/original thread for ref; > viewtopic.php?f=38&t=2265881
More details with image links > viewtopic.php?p=11079425#p11079425
The KB article > http://kb.mozillazine.org/Using_multipl ... _-_Firefox

re; No Script...
I usually just "Temporarily Allow" when not sure...
Ancient Amateur Astronomer
Win-7-HP/Intel® DualCore-2.0GHz/500G HDD/4 Gig Ram/550Watt PSU/350WattUPS/Firefox-20.0-57.0-61.0-62.0/T-bird-2.0.0.24/SnagIt-v10.0.1/MWP-7.11.0.
(Always choose the "Custom" Install.)

Brummelchen
 
Posts: 4346
Joined: March 19th, 2005, 10:51 am

Post Posted October 28th, 2018, 4:12 am

regarding noscript and settings
https://blog.jeaye.com/2017/11/30/noscript/

this new style for settings never was intuitive for me, reason why i stick with ublock because its much more clear to use
https://github.com/gorhill/uBlock/wiki/ ... uick-guide

as long i dont click the padlock any made settings are gone after browser restart and i dont have to think about when i dont care.

advantage noscript v10 - it includes options from umatrix concernign fonts, frames and more.
disadvantage - it had impacts to firefox dialogs - itself or extensions - although this should not happen, not now.

tonynyc
 
Posts: 29
Joined: August 9th, 2013, 12:20 pm

Post Posted October 28th, 2018, 8:52 am

I gave up the fight, upgraded to 63, miss not having: Cookie Controller, Status 4 Ever, Simple White Compact Theme..

dfoulkes

User avatar
 
Posts: 22535
Joined: June 28th, 2008, 10:31 pm
Location: Mesquite, Nevada

Post Posted October 28th, 2018, 9:37 am

As for handling cookies... you might want to review this ext...

https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefo ... utodelete/
As you can see she's (The CAT) always alert and on the prowl for Meoware !!

tonynyc
 
Posts: 29
Joined: August 9th, 2013, 12:20 pm

Post Posted October 28th, 2018, 9:44 am


mightyglydd

User avatar
 
Posts: 9465
Joined: November 4th, 2006, 7:07 pm
Location: Hollywood Ca.

Post Posted October 28th, 2018, 10:03 am

Phew!
Glad you did the right thing Tony, word out of Germany is the security risks were so dire that without updating to the latest version you might not have survived the night.
@I believe another Fx forum's offering free counseling for 52esr 'Legacy Extension Addicts'.
Last edited by mightyglydd on October 28th, 2018, 10:17 am, edited 1 time in total.
#KeepFightingMichael

lasardo
 
Posts: 182
Joined: September 9th, 2018, 1:41 pm

Post Posted October 28th, 2018, 10:11 am

For more compact icons, if you go to hamburger / settings icon, then customize, in the bottom middle of the screen is a density option that you can pick compact if you haven't already.

LoveMyFoxy

User avatar
 
Posts: 2251
Joined: December 11th, 2009, 11:23 am
Location: USA

Post Posted October 28th, 2018, 7:55 pm

LIMPET235 wrote:HI LMF,
Of course you can run 2, 3 or as many versions as you want.
Here's the old/original thread for ref; > viewtopic.php?f=38&t=2265881
More details with image links > viewtopic.php?p=11079425#p11079425
The KB article > http://kb.mozillazine.org/Using_multipl ... _-_Firefox

re; No Script...
I usually just "Temporarily Allow" when not sure...


Thanks. I currently have 2 profiles with one version, this couldn't be too hard. 3 profiles with 2 versions... :shock:
Last edited by LoveMyFoxy on October 29th, 2018, 11:47 am, edited 1 time in total.
2 Desktops--Win 7 Ult. 64-bit, 6GB RAM /Waterfox64 56.2.11/Thunderbird 52.9ESR/Verizon FIOS wired network

tonynyc
 
Posts: 29
Joined: August 9th, 2013, 12:20 pm

Post Posted October 29th, 2018, 8:55 am

When typing in the address bar, "search with" shows along with all the search engines, any way to make this stop? Thanks.

Brummelchen
 
Posts: 4346
Joined: March 19th, 2005, 10:51 am

Post Posted October 29th, 2018, 10:25 am

this is IMO only changeable with Aris his css tweaks
https://github.com/aris-t2/customcssforfx

advantage - when inserted a string and clicking on search engine you automatically will get results from that engine with that string.
you need to know that the address bar is a so called omni bar and it dont need another search bar/field.

LoveMyFoxy

User avatar
 
Posts: 2251
Joined: December 11th, 2009, 11:23 am
Location: USA

Post Posted October 29th, 2018, 11:46 am

tonynyc wrote:When typing in the address bar, "search with" shows along with all the search engines, any way to make this stop? Thanks.


Tony, please start your own thread if this isn't relevant to the OP's (Original Poster's) problem.
2 Desktops--Win 7 Ult. 64-bit, 6GB RAM /Waterfox64 56.2.11/Thunderbird 52.9ESR/Verizon FIOS wired network

tonynyc
 
Posts: 29
Joined: August 9th, 2013, 12:20 pm

Post Posted October 29th, 2018, 11:51 am

LoveMyFoxy wrote:
tonynyc wrote:When typing in the address bar, "search with" shows along with all the search engines, any way to make this stop? Thanks.


Tony, please start your own thread if this isn't relevant to the OP's (Original Poster's) problem.



Helloooo, I am the original poster :D , And that's not all you missed, notice how others hijacked the thread and took it off topic...

Return to Firefox General


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests