MozillaZine

javascript and my website

Discuss how to use and promote Web standards with the Mozilla Gecko engine.
arlener
 
Posts: 12
Joined: May 17th, 2013, 1:00 pm

Post Posted September 5th, 2018, 2:02 pm

I upgraded from Windows XP to Windows 7.
Links on my website no longer show. The links are made by javascript. They are to click over to affiliate site and I have no control over them.
In addition, when I go to the affiliate site directly, the home page comes up but most or all of the links do not work, this error is generated:

Error Oops, something went wrong (error).
Please try again.

All of this used to work and it still works under Opera.
I am using 62.0 (32-bit)

Therefore, I had to put a notice before each of my links that if the link doesn't show they should use a different browser such as Opera.

This causes me to abandon FF as my preferred browser and for testing my website.

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 120456
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted September 5th, 2018, 2:06 pm

arlener wrote:This causes me to abandon FF as my preferred browser and for testing my website.

A bit quick on the draw there, aren't you?

Moving to Web Development. What's the URL for your site so we can see what's happening?

arlener
 
Posts: 12
Joined: May 17th, 2013, 1:00 pm

Post Posted September 5th, 2018, 2:18 pm

AdviceOfTheQueen.com

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 120456
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted September 5th, 2018, 2:31 pm

Have you run the code for your site through the W3C Validator tool?
https://validator.w3.org/unicorn/check? ... onformance

arlener
 
Posts: 12
Joined: May 17th, 2013, 1:00 pm

Post Posted September 5th, 2018, 2:51 pm

Yes, long ago.

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 120456
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted September 5th, 2018, 2:56 pm

Good. Perhaps someone else reviewing this thread will offer insight into what is causing your problems.

jscher2000

User avatar
 
Posts: 10299
Joined: December 19th, 2004, 12:26 am
Location: Silicon Valley, CA USA

Post Posted September 8th, 2018, 10:27 pm

Have you tested in Firefox's Safe Mode to rule out possible content blockers or other interferences? http://kb.mozillazine.org/Safe_mode

(I see the boxes with links but the links don't load; maybe the other site is down.)

Return to Web Development / Standards Evangelism


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests