MozillaZine

[Ext] History Submenus Ⅱ -- Show sub-menus in History Menu

Announce and Discuss the Latest Theme and Extension Releases.
Schmye Bubbula
 
Posts: 82
Joined: July 14th, 2008, 7:46 am

Post Posted August 7th, 2014, 4:39 pm

History Submenus Ⅱ 3.0.0
About the time I updated to this current version a couple of weeks ago, I began getting long lags and the "spinning beach ball" many times when I click my History menu in the menu bar. Not every time, maybe a third of the times I click it. I've purged my Firefox history to two months, and I also reduced the History Submenus preferences to very conservative settings, and it shortened the hangs, but in earlier versions I never got any hangs at all with even very high-depth history settings.

Has anyone reported these kinds of lags with the latest version? Or have there been reports of other Firefox Add-on extensions that are in contention with History Submenus?

Image
• Firefox 48.0.2
• Mac OS X 10.6.8
• MacBook Pro (5,2) 17-inch, "Mid 2009"

Merci chao

User avatar
 
Posts: 205
Joined: December 31st, 2006, 11:20 pm
Location: Macau

Post Posted August 7th, 2014, 5:07 pm

Please disable all other extensions and test again.
If the problem disappears, enable few extensions every time to find out which one causes the conflict.
If the problem still remains, please try to downgrade to an old version.
Please forgive my poor English, as I'm a Chin... well, Macaoese, that speak in Cantonese.

History Submenus II || Page Title in URL Bar || Double Click Top-Left to Close || Personal Menu

Mr Wolf 80

User avatar
 
Posts: 64
Joined: May 3rd, 2007, 11:26 am

Post Posted September 25th, 2014, 1:25 pm

Hi!
First of all: many thanks for your add-on. I had been looking for something like this for a long time.

I have several computers and I installed History Submenus II in all of them, but only in one, my main PC (Windows 7 64 bit, Firefox 32.0.3), it works correctly: it shows all the pages visited in submenus as expected.
In the other computers, instead, it shows only a few random pages under submenus, pages I visited many days before. If I visit a new page, it doesn't appear under submenu. But all the pages I visited (included the new ones) are correctly displayed in Firefox history. I tried to delete the history, but new pages are still not showed under submenus.
By the way, Firefox in all my computers is configured exactly in the same manner (same addons, same settings...). I installed it in PCs with Linux and Windows XP, and initially I thought it didn't work just in Linux and Windows XP, but then I installed History Submenus II in another PC with Windows 7 64 bit and got always the same problem.

Is there anything I can try?

Thanks in advance!

Mr Wolf 80

User avatar
 
Posts: 64
Joined: May 3rd, 2007, 11:26 am

Post Posted October 4th, 2014, 7:23 am

Hi, I tried to disable ALL the other add-ons, but the problem perstists.

Opening the console, I get this message related to History Submenus II:

mutating the [[Prototype]] of an object will cause your code to run very slowly; instead create the object with the correct initial [[Prototype]] value using Object.create

HistorySubmenus2.jsm:453

Schmye Bubbula
 
Posts: 82
Joined: July 14th, 2008, 7:46 am

Post Posted October 4th, 2014, 7:54 am

Merci chao wrote:Please disable all other extensions and test again.
If the problem disappears, enable few extensions every time to find out which one causes the conflict.
If the problem still remains, please try to downgrade to an old version.

I had already tried disabling all other extensions (apologies for not mentioning that), but the lethargy persists. That's why I asked whether you had received any reports of these kinds of lags with 3.0.0 — maybe some other extension in contention with 3.0.0 left behind the culprit in my profile that causes the problem even when the extension itself is disabled, which makes finding whatever it may be in about:config a needle in a haystack.

Downgrading to v2.3.8 solves the problem. But don't you want to find the solution with 3.0.0? Am I the only person reporting this?
• Firefox 48.0.2
• Mac OS X 10.6.8
• MacBook Pro (5,2) 17-inch, "Mid 2009"

Mr Wolf 80

User avatar
 
Posts: 64
Joined: May 3rd, 2007, 11:26 am

Post Posted October 4th, 2014, 7:57 am

Yes, sometimes it takes several seconds to open history.

Schmye Bubbula
 
Posts: 82
Joined: July 14th, 2008, 7:46 am

Post Posted October 4th, 2014, 8:48 am

^ Thanks for the corroboration, Mr Wolf 80 — then it's probably not just me and one of my umpteen extensions or a corrupted profile; you have provided a valuable data point. I'm increasingly thinking that 3.0.0 must have introduced some problem.

The problem with downgrading to the earlier version is that it gets updated automatically to the new version with the problem. If I turn-off Update Automatically, then none of my other extensions will update automatically.
• Firefox 48.0.2
• Mac OS X 10.6.8
• MacBook Pro (5,2) 17-inch, "Mid 2009"

Merci chao

User avatar
 
Posts: 205
Joined: December 31st, 2006, 11:20 pm
Location: Macau

Post Posted October 5th, 2014, 6:48 pm

3.0.0 is an update for restartless only, but it comes with huge code restructuring.
If downgrading can solve the problem, then it might be the best bet.
The auto-update can be disabled separately. Double-click the extension entry and you can see the option.

If anyone wants to help me to find out the root cause, please create a new clean Firefox profile, reproduce the problem, zip and e-mail me the whole profile.
If you can't find my e-mail address in my user profile, please PM me.
Please forgive my poor English, as I'm a Chin... well, Macaoese, that speak in Cantonese.

History Submenus II || Page Title in URL Bar || Double Click Top-Left to Close || Personal Menu

Schmye Bubbula
 
Posts: 82
Joined: July 14th, 2008, 7:46 am

Post Posted October 6th, 2014, 7:07 am

^ Done; check your email, Merci chao. Fresh new profile with only History Submenus Ⅱ 3.0.0 installed. Copied my places.sqlite history from my regular profile to give you plenty of history. (Don't judge me for all the porn! :wink: ) I tested and confirmed the lag we've been talking about. I have emailed you the link ("History Submenus test profile.zip," 12 MB) because this board's user profile for you doesn't offer an email attachment option. Please reply to my email right after you've downloaded it so I can delete it from my Dropbox storage.
• Firefox 48.0.2
• Mac OS X 10.6.8
• MacBook Pro (5,2) 17-inch, "Mid 2009"

Merci chao

User avatar
 
Posts: 205
Joined: December 31st, 2006, 11:20 pm
Location: Macau

Post Posted October 6th, 2014, 8:11 am

Schmye Bubbula wrote:^ Done; check your email, Merci chao. Fresh new profile with only History Submenus Ⅱ 3.0.0 installed. Copied my places.sqlite history from my regular profile to give you plenty of history. (Don't judge me for all the porn! :wink: ) I tested and confirmed the lag we've been talking about. I have emailed you the link ("History Submenus test profile.zip," 12 MB) because this board's user profile for you doesn't offer an email attachment option. Please reply to my email right after you've downloaded it so I can delete it from my Dropbox storage.

I've downloaded it and I'll check it later, thanks.
Please forgive my poor English, as I'm a Chin... well, Macaoese, that speak in Cantonese.

History Submenus II || Page Title in URL Bar || Double Click Top-Left to Close || Personal Menu

EdePopede
 
Posts: 2
Joined: February 2nd, 2015, 5:46 am

Post Posted February 2nd, 2015, 9:38 am

tl;dr: Does the addon remove and/or hide history entries from before the last month?

long version: i started using ff 33.1.1 on a test profile around the day it was released. on Dec, 21 i I installed some addons, HS II being the only one related to history. Some days later i was sure to realize something strange. And had that impression again about one month ago. And now there is a new month. And again I tried to recall an entry from my history in the URL bar, and I know I've been there before. Nothing.
I then opened the sidebar and later the manager. The oldest history entries now are from January as they've been from december before. Those from november were gone before, now I've seen the december has disappeared. Not sure, when.

It seems that there aren't any history entries older than about 2 weeks – the "submenus for … days" was set to 14. Now i changed it to what appears to be the max (365) and still no older entries. Does SM II really delete entries older than the selected number of days? I have another test profile from an update I didn't do in the end with an entry from the beginning of 2014. Installed the addon there, but nothing happened. Maybe only when firefox is idle, I even restarted a few times with no result.

Merci chao

User avatar
 
Posts: 205
Joined: December 31st, 2006, 11:20 pm
Location: Macau

Post Posted February 3rd, 2015, 6:03 am

EdePopede wrote:tl;dr: Does the addon remove and/or hide history entries from before the last month?

long version: i started using ff 33.1.1 on a test profile around the day it was released. on Dec, 21 i I installed some addons, HS II being the only one related to history. Some days later i was sure to realize something strange. And had that impression again about one month ago. And now there is a new month. And again I tried to recall an entry from my history in the URL bar, and I know I've been there before. Nothing.
I then opened the sidebar and later the manager. The oldest history entries now are from January as they've been from december before. Those from november were gone before, now I've seen the december has disappeared. Not sure, when.

It seems that there aren't any history entries older than about 2 weeks – the "submenus for … days" was set to 14. Now i changed it to what appears to be the max (365) and still no older entries. Does SM II really delete entries older than the selected number of days? I have another test profile from an update I didn't do in the end with an entry from the beginning of 2014. Installed the addon there, but nothing happened. Maybe only when firefox is idle, I even restarted a few times with no result.
HS2 never modifies or deletes you history. (I even don't know how to do this)
If you have any doubt, you may look into the source code.
https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefo ... se/287076/
Please forgive my poor English, as I'm a Chin... well, Macaoese, that speak in Cantonese.

History Submenus II || Page Title in URL Bar || Double Click Top-Left to Close || Personal Menu

Brig
 
Posts: 2
Joined: March 15th, 2012, 9:43 am

Post Posted March 11th, 2015, 10:53 am

Hello:

This is a terrific add-on, but one thing troubles me: clicking on a link opens the link in the current tab, not in a new tab. I also use the Tab Utilities Lite add-on and have it set to open history links in new tabs. If I open a link from Firefox's History window, it's opened in a new tab, as expected. If you could allow links to be opened in new tabs, that would be fabulous.

Many thanks,
Brig

Mr Wolf 80

User avatar
 
Posts: 64
Joined: May 3rd, 2007, 11:26 am

Post Posted March 11th, 2015, 1:33 pm

Hi, you can open the link on another tab by clicking on it with the mouse wheel. Of course, if you're using a mouse. Hope it helps.

Merci chao

User avatar
 
Posts: 205
Joined: December 31st, 2006, 11:20 pm
Location: Macau

Post Posted March 11th, 2015, 5:05 pm

Brig wrote:Hello:

This is a terrific add-on, but one thing troubles me: clicking on a link opens the link in the current tab, not in a new tab. I also use the Tab Utilities Lite add-on and have it set to open history links in new tabs. If I open a link from Firefox's History window, it's opened in a new tab, as expected. If you could allow links to be opened in new tabs, that would be fabulous.

Many thanks,
Brig
You should report to the developer of Tab Utilities Lite. HS2 does not modify or change the click or command event handler of history items.
Actually, I set Tab Mix Plus to open histories in new tabs and it always works.
Please forgive my poor English, as I'm a Chin... well, Macaoese, that speak in Cantonese.

History Submenus II || Page Title in URL Bar || Double Click Top-Left to Close || Personal Menu

Return to Extension/Theme Releases


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: gramesh_vns1 and 4 guests