MozillaZine

FF 68 - Is the "wrap_long_lines" setting being ingnored?

Discussion of bugs in Mozilla Firefox
jbuck
 
Posts: 8
Joined: March 10th, 2017, 3:10 pm

Post Posted July 12th, 2019, 8:32 am

After I updated to FF 68 on my desktop I noticed that long lines are wrapping to fit the window, even though I have set "plain_text.wrap_long_lines" to be "false" in about:config.

It is like this setting is now being ignored.

For what it is worth, I now have the same problem on my Android phone when it updated to FF 68.

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 20074
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted July 12th, 2019, 9:13 am

Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

jbuck
 
Posts: 8
Joined: March 10th, 2017, 3:10 pm

Post Posted July 12th, 2019, 11:02 am

I do not think this is the same thing. But if I read it correctly and it applied here, I would see the opposite (word wrap will not enable).

What I am seeing is in relation to a setting in about:config. The pages I am viewing are plain text, not HTML. Everything had displayed fine up to 67.x, but now 68 no good.

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 20074
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted July 12th, 2019, 11:22 am

While view_source.wrap_long_lines is "view source", see if it might not have an effect?
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

jbuck
 
Posts: 8
Joined: March 10th, 2017, 3:10 pm

Post Posted July 12th, 2019, 2:06 pm

Interesting!

In about:config "view_source.wrap_long_lines" is indeed set to "false" and when I "view page source" it works; that is, the lines do not wrap. The text file I am viewing looks as it should!

The only difference is the lines are shifted to the right to accommodate for line numbers, I assume. (Being a plain text file and not HTML there are no line numbers presented.)

A nice work around, but would be nicer if it were back to normal. 8-)

Elgonn
 
Posts: 1
Joined: September 17th, 2007, 12:07 am

Post Posted July 17th, 2019, 11:40 am

Does anyone know what is required to get this functionality back so plain text files can be viewed correctly by default?

Is there a userChrome entry that can be edited?

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 20074
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted July 17th, 2019, 6:28 pm

plain_text.wrap_long_lines looks to be working in FF 70 (default value is 'true').
(Don't have a 68 on hand to test against.)

My test file, test.TXT:
Code: Select all
Usage: C:\TMP\SEA\homey\65\core\firefox.exe [ options ... ] [URL]
       where options include:

  -h or --help       Print this message.  -v or --version    Print Firefox version.  -P <profile>       Start with <profile>.  --profile <path>   Start with profile at <path>.
  --migration        Start with migration wizard.  --ProfileManager   Start with ProfileManager.  --no-remote        Do not accept or send remote commands; implies --new-instance.
  --new-instance     Open new instance, not a new window in running instance.  --UILocale <locale> Start with <locale> resources as UI Locale.  --safe-mode        Disables extensions and themes for this session.  -MOZ_LOG=<modules> Treated as MOZ_LOG=<modules> environment variable, overrides it.
  -MOZ_LOG_FILE=<file> Treated as MOZ_LOG_FILE=<file> environment variable, overrides it.  If MOZ_LOG_FILE is not specified as an argument or as an environment variable, logging will be written to stdout.  --console          Start Firefox with a debugging console.
  --headless         Run without a GUI.  --save-recordings  Save recordings for all content processes to a directory.  --browser          Open a browser window.  --new-window <url> Open <url> in a new window.
  --new-tab <url>    Open <url> in a new tab.  --private-window <url> Open <url> in a new private window.  --preferences      Open Options dialog.  --screenshot [<path>] Save screenshot to <path> or in working directory.
  --window-size width[,height] Width and optionally height of screenshot.  --search <term>    Search <term> with your default search engine.  --setDefaultBrowser Set this app as the default browser.  --jsconsole        Open the Browser Console.
  --jsdebugger       Open the Browser Toolbox.  --wait-for-jsdebugger Spin event loop until JS debugger connects.  Enables debugging (some) application startup code paths.  Only has an effect when `--jsdebugger` is also supplied.
  --devtools         Open DevTools on initial load.  --start-debugger-server [ws:][ <port> | <path> ] Start the debugger server on a TCP port or Unix domain socket path. Defaults to TCP port
                     6000. Use WebSocket protocol if ws: prefix is specified.
  --recording <file> Record drawing for a given URL.
  --recording-output <file> Specify destination file for a drawing recording.

Save it, drag it into a FF window...
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 20074
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted July 18th, 2019, 11:59 am

65 works.
68.0.1 fails.
70 works.

(Don't know about 69 offhand. So at the least, you might expect things to be working by 70's release ;-).)
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

jbuck
 
Posts: 8
Joined: March 10th, 2017, 3:10 pm

Post Posted July 19th, 2019, 1:58 pm

Yup. Updated to 68.0.1 this morning and it is still bad.

The View Source trick still works which helps for now.

Return to Firefox Bugs


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest