MozillaZine

3 Flash Players [RESOLVED]

Discussion of features in Mozilla Firefox
LoveMyFoxy

User avatar
 
Posts: 1918
Joined: December 11th, 2009, 11:23 am
Location: USA

Post Posted August 2nd, 2017, 10:09 am

Revo Uninstaller shows that I have 3 versions of FlashPlayer.
26 Active X
26 NPAPI
26 PPAPI

I use FF, Chrome and Opera, never IE. Which one(s) do I not need?
Last edited by LoveMyFoxy on August 3rd, 2017, 8:55 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Desktop--Win 7 Ult. 64-bit, 6GB RAM /FF 52ESR 64/ Thunderbird 52 / MS Sec. Essent./ Windows firewall / Verizon FIOS

the-edmeister

User avatar
 
Posts: 31920
Joined: February 25th, 2003, 12:51 am
Location: Chicago, IL, USA

Post Posted August 2nd, 2017, 10:49 am

26 ActiveX would be for IE - so you can get rid of it.

26 NPAPI is for Firefox and 26 PPAPI would be for Chrome and Opera as long as they haven't dumped Flash.


.
A mind is a terrible thing to waste. Mine has wandered off and I'm out looking for it.

Brummelchen
 
Posts: 2602
Joined: March 19th, 2005, 10:51 am

Post Posted August 2nd, 2017, 1:33 pm

chrome dont need ppapi flash, already built in, but IMO it can use it also - but why setting a risk because one of those may outdated?
glad i dont have any flash here.

LoveMyFoxy

User avatar
 
Posts: 1918
Joined: December 11th, 2009, 11:23 am
Location: USA

Post Posted August 2nd, 2017, 11:07 pm

Brummelchen--
I still need Flash for some sites that haven't switched yet. And none are outdated. I get notified every time a new one comes out.

Ed--
I told Revo just to uninstall the Active X, and it uninstalled all 3. Are they part of 1 package?
Desktop--Win 7 Ult. 64-bit, 6GB RAM /FF 52ESR 64/ Thunderbird 52 / MS Sec. Essent./ Windows firewall / Verizon FIOS

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 17822
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted August 3rd, 2017, 11:47 am

Are they part of 1 package?

No.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

LoveMyFoxy

User avatar
 
Posts: 1918
Joined: December 11th, 2009, 11:23 am
Location: USA

Post Posted August 3rd, 2017, 2:25 pm

I reinstalled the FF one, Chrome has its own. Before I register at the Opera forum, does anyone know if Flash is built-in?
Desktop--Win 7 Ult. 64-bit, 6GB RAM /FF 52ESR 64/ Thunderbird 52 / MS Sec. Essent./ Windows firewall / Verizon FIOS

mightyglydd

User avatar
 
Posts: 9037
Joined: November 4th, 2006, 7:07 pm
Location: Hollywood Ca.

Post Posted August 3rd, 2017, 2:48 pm

The current Oprah? No, like Vivaldi and Slimjet it requires the PPAPI one.
#KeepFightingMichael

LoveMyFoxy

User avatar
 
Posts: 1918
Joined: December 11th, 2009, 11:23 am
Location: USA

Post Posted August 3rd, 2017, 2:58 pm

Now I've lost some faith in Revo Uninstaller.

Thanks to all of you.
Desktop--Win 7 Ult. 64-bit, 6GB RAM /FF 52ESR 64/ Thunderbird 52 / MS Sec. Essent./ Windows firewall / Verizon FIOS

mightyglydd

User avatar
 
Posts: 9037
Joined: November 4th, 2006, 7:07 pm
Location: Hollywood Ca.

Post Posted August 3rd, 2017, 4:46 pm

LoveMyFoxy wrote:Now I've lost some faith in Revo Uninstaller.
Never had any myself, bull in a china shop, Adobe have their own Uninstaller and yes, I reckon the three Flash players (which I use and 'update' in the way that has been mentioned here many times) are in some way 'Adobe connected'.
#KeepFightingMichael

JayhawksRock

User avatar
 
Posts: 10429
Joined: October 24th, 2010, 8:51 am

Post Posted August 3rd, 2017, 5:05 pm

Chances are good that Windows control panel will show a number of old Flash versions installed that could muddy up the water. Go there and take a look by opening the Flash icon item in Control pane.
"The trouble with quotes on the internet is you never know if they are genuine" ...Abraham Lincoln

LoveMyFoxy

User avatar
 
Posts: 1918
Joined: December 11th, 2009, 11:23 am
Location: USA

Post Posted August 3rd, 2017, 9:06 pm

JayHawks--
Ctl Panel shows 2, the NPAPI 26.0.0.137 and PPAPI 26.0.0.131. I keep my eye on it for old versions. Also shows that it's 32-bit and my Win 7 is 64.
Desktop--Win 7 Ult. 64-bit, 6GB RAM /FF 52ESR 64/ Thunderbird 52 / MS Sec. Essent./ Windows firewall / Verizon FIOS

LoveMyFoxy

User avatar
 
Posts: 1918
Joined: December 11th, 2009, 11:23 am
Location: USA

Post Posted August 3rd, 2017, 9:10 pm

mightyglydd wrote:The current Oprah? No, like Vivaldi and Slimjet it requires the PPAPI one.


(OT--
I use ChromeSpy only where required on one site by my online work. Opera is only barely acceptable as a secondary browser, since they started using Chromium. Do you recommend Vivaldi instead?)
Desktop--Win 7 Ult. 64-bit, 6GB RAM /FF 52ESR 64/ Thunderbird 52 / MS Sec. Essent./ Windows firewall / Verizon FIOS

Return to Firefox Features


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest