MozillaZine

Redirect new windows into tabs

Discussion of features in Mozilla Firefox
SirOmega
 
Posts: 14
Joined: November 28th, 2002, 4:12 pm

Post Posted November 28th, 2002, 4:16 pm

Is it possible to have a setting in the preferences that, by default, whenever a link is to open in a new window, open it in a tab instead?? If this is already possible, my appologies, I'm new to Phoenix (but I must say its now become my browser of choice).

daihard
Folder@Home

User avatar
 
Posts: 16633
Joined: November 17th, 2002, 6:27 pm
Location: Lynnwood, WA

Post Posted November 28th, 2002, 4:57 pm

SirOmega wrote:Is it possible to have a setting in the preferences that, by default, whenever a link is to open in a new window, open it in a tab instead?? If this is already possible, my appologies, I'm new to Phoenix (but I must say its now become my browser of choice).

While not by default, you can open a link in a new tab in two ways. First, 'ctrl + click' will open it in a new tab on the background. Second, 'ctrl + shift + click' will do that with the new tab on the foreground.
Kubuntu 8.04 (kernel 2.6.24-25-generic) / KDE 3.5.10
CentOS 4.8 (kernel 2.6.9-78.0.22.ELsmp) / KDE 3.5.10
Mac OS X 10.6.1 (Snow Leopard) / iPhone 3GS (32GB black)

laszlo

User avatar
 
Posts: 5198
Joined: November 4th, 2002, 6:13 pm
Location: .de

Post Posted November 28th, 2002, 5:04 pm

There's also a pref to open new windows in tabs exclusively (I guess that's what you want):

user_pref("browser.block.target_new_window", true);

asa

User avatar
 
Posts: 684
Joined: November 4th, 2002, 4:16 pm
Location: CA

Post Posted November 28th, 2002, 5:08 pm

SirOmega wrote:Is it possible to have a setting in the preferences that, by default, whenever a link is to open in a new window, open it in a tab instead?? If this is already possible, my appologies, I'm new to Phoenix (but I must say its now become my browser of choice).

Before posting a comment it's a good idea to read or search through the forums so as not to repeat a thread that already happened. This has been discussed several times in the Phoenix and Mozilla forums.

--Asa
"You'd PAY to know what you REALLY think." --Dobbs 1961

daihard
Folder@Home

User avatar
 
Posts: 16633
Joined: November 17th, 2002, 6:27 pm
Location: Lynnwood, WA

Post Posted November 28th, 2002, 5:42 pm

laszlo wrote:There's also a pref to open new windows in tabs exclusively (I guess that's what you want):

user_pref("browser.block.target_new_window", true);

This seems to force the link to open in the same tab instead of in a new tab. I set this option and clicked on a link that usually opens up a new window. The page now opens in the same tab.

laszlo

User avatar
 
Posts: 5198
Joined: November 4th, 2002, 6:13 pm
Location: .de

Post Posted November 28th, 2002, 5:57 pm

daihard wrote:
laszlo wrote:There's also a pref to open new windows in tabs exclusively (I guess that's what you want):

user_pref("browser.block.target_new_window", true);

This seems to force the link to open in the same tab instead of in a new tab. I set this option and clicked on a link that usually opens up a new window. The page now opens in the same tab.

Yes, you're right. The only way to force new windows to go into new tabs instead still seems to be to install the Tabbrowser Extensions.

shimage
 
Posts: 129
Joined: November 5th, 2002, 3:39 am

Post Posted November 30th, 2002, 11:49 pm

daihard wrote:
SirOmega wrote:Is it possible to have a setting in the preferences that, by default, whenever a link is to open in a new window, open it in a tab instead?? If this is already possible, my appologies, I'm new to Phoenix (but I must say its now become my browser of choice).

While not by default, you can open a link in a new tab in two ways. First, 'ctrl + click' will open it in a new tab on the background. Second, 'ctrl + shift + click' will do that with the new tab on the foreground.

what os are you running? i only ask 'cause this isn't workin for me (the ctrl+shift+click)...
nov 30 nightly on win2k

daihard
Folder@Home

User avatar
 
Posts: 16633
Joined: November 17th, 2002, 6:27 pm
Location: Lynnwood, WA

Post Posted December 1st, 2002, 12:17 am

shimage wrote:
daihard wrote:While not by default, you can open a link in a new tab in two ways. First, 'ctrl + click' will open it in a new tab on the background. Second, 'ctrl + shift + click' will do that with the new tab on the foreground.

what os are you running? i only ask 'cause this isn't workin for me (the ctrl+shift+click)...
nov 30 nightly on win2k

Sorry, it should've read 'alt + ctrl + click' for the new tab on the foreground. I hope it works for Win2K as well. I'm using 20021128 on RedHat Linux 7.3.
Last edited by daihard on December 1st, 2002, 11:12 am, edited 1 time in total.

shimage
 
Posts: 129
Joined: November 5th, 2002, 3:39 am

Post Posted December 1st, 2002, 2:33 am

bah humbug. that doesn't work either. oh well, thanks for the tip anyway. (!@#$ windows...)

Toxikk

User avatar
 
Posts: 159
Joined: December 1st, 2002, 1:24 pm

Post Posted December 1st, 2002, 8:39 pm

he means... say you open a *.html file on your pc... it would be sweet if it went into its own tab in an already open phoenix browser.

well... wtf. i just did it and it worked for me. hmmmmmmmmmm... im stumped.

Return to Firefox Features


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests