MozillaZine

Smooth Scrolling

Discussion of features in Mozilla Firefox
CounterCW
 
Posts: 6
Joined: November 28th, 2002, 1:30 pm

Post Posted November 28th, 2002, 1:33 pm

Is it possible to implement smooth scrolling into Phoenix? I know some people may not want it, but it should atleast be an option.
I find I have to scroll more in Phoenix/Mozilla than in IE!

Thanks for an awesome program! (I just started using it yesterday)

Stefan

User avatar
 
Posts: 2051
Joined: November 5th, 2002, 2:46 am

Post Posted November 28th, 2002, 1:37 pm

CounterCW wrote:Is it possible to implement smooth scrolling into Phoenix? I know some people may not want it, but it should atleast be an option.


There is a smoothscroll thingy coming in the Gecko engine enventually.
When it's ready Phoenix will get it too.

I find I have to scroll more in Phoenix/Mozilla than in IE!


You are kidding are you not?
It takes considerably LONGER to scroll with "smooth" then "imediate" scroll.
Instead of imediateöy moving to the scrolled area, your actual scrolling is delayed to make it smoother.
Last edited by Stefan on November 28th, 2002, 1:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.

seb

User avatar
 
Posts: 1578
Joined: November 4th, 2002, 11:26 pm
Location: Paris, France

Post Posted November 28th, 2002, 1:39 pm


CounterCW
 
Posts: 6
Joined: November 28th, 2002, 1:30 pm

Post Posted November 28th, 2002, 1:48 pm

Stefan wrote:You are kidding are you not?
It takes considerably LONGER to scroll with "smooth" then "imediate" scroll.
Instead of imediateöy moving to the scrolled area, your actual scrolling is delayed to make it smoother.


I meant that for every revolution of the scroll wheel, the page is scrolled more in IE than in Mozilla/Phoenix.
I just tested it out.

In IE, it will will scroll almost double that of Mozilla/Phoenix per "movement" of the scroll wheel. So, if I want to scroll down in Phoenix, I gotta keep on scrolling and scrolling to get to the bottom. I know I could change this in my mouse settings, but then it would affect my other programs too!

CappuchinoMan
 
Posts: 223
Joined: November 14th, 2002, 5:50 pm

Post Posted November 28th, 2002, 2:07 pm

Advanced: Mouse Wheel

Stefan

User avatar
 
Posts: 2051
Joined: November 5th, 2002, 2:46 am

Post Posted November 28th, 2002, 2:54 pm

CounterCW wrote:
Stefan wrote:You are kidding are you not?
It takes considerably LONGER to scroll with "smooth" then "imediate" scroll.
Instead of imediateöy moving to the scrolled area, your actual scrolling is delayed to make it smoother.


I meant that for every revolution of the scroll wheel, the page is scrolled more in IE than in Mozilla/Phoenix.
I just tested it out.

In IE, it will will scroll almost double that of Mozilla/Phoenix per "movement" of the scroll wheel. So, if I want to scroll down in Phoenix, I gotta keep on scrolling and scrolling to get to the bottom. I know I could change this in my mouse settings, but then it would affect my other programs too!


You are NOT talking about "smooth scrolling" but how much each move on the scroll moves the screen.
That is something compleatly else, that is in no way related.

In Mozilla you will find that setting where cappuchino sais, but at least in my version of Phoenix (Gecko/20021125) it's not avialble yet in the UI.
That means you have to add it manually to your registry for now.

CounterCW
 
Posts: 6
Joined: November 28th, 2002, 1:30 pm

Post Posted November 28th, 2002, 2:59 pm

I guess I just want both features then. =)

laszlo

User avatar
 
Posts: 5198
Joined: November 4th, 2002, 6:13 pm
Location: .de

Post Posted November 28th, 2002, 4:56 pm

CappuchinoMan wrote:Advanced: Mouse Wheel

Not (yet) in Phoenix...

CounterCW wrote:I meant that for every revolution of the scroll wheel, the page is scrolled more in IE than in Mozilla/Phoenix.
I just tested it out.

In IE, it will will scroll almost double that of Mozilla/Phoenix per "movement" of the scroll wheel. So, if I want to scroll down in Phoenix, I gotta keep on scrolling and scrolling to get to the bottom. I know I could change this in my mouse settings, but then it would affect my other programs too!

You can change this in Phoenix without affecting other programs. Just add the following lines to user.js:

user_pref("mousewheel.withnokey.sysnumlines", false);
user_pref("mousewheel.withnokey.numlines", 12);

Play with the 12 above to find out what you like.

CounterCW
 
Posts: 6
Joined: November 28th, 2002, 1:30 pm

Post Posted November 28th, 2002, 8:57 pm

Fantastic!

Thank you laszlo!

Return to Firefox Features


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests