MozillaZine

larger Search bar or Opera like search in address bar

Discussion of features in Mozilla Firefox
mstoer

User avatar
 
Posts: 90
Joined: November 28th, 2002, 11:12 am
Location: Victoria, BC, Canada

Post Posted November 28th, 2002, 11:17 am

I am fairly new to Phoenix, but I I love what I see. Hats off to all involved! I find the search bar a bit small and it cannot be re-sized (or moved). Is it spossible to enlarge it ior to simply use the Opera style searchign within the address bar (ie "g phoenix extensions" for a Google search of "phoenix extensions")?

Marcell

Mook
 
Posts: 1752
Joined: November 7th, 2002, 9:35 pm

Post Posted November 28th, 2002, 12:49 pm

You can use the second option; just do a search on google and bookmark the first page of results. Then edit the bookmarks, and replace the search term to <code>%s</code>, and enter <code>g</code> as the keyword. This is what I currently use.

Actually, there may already by a "Google Quicksearch" bookmark under Quick Searches. You can just change its keyword if this is the case.

alanjstr
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 9100
Joined: November 5th, 2002, 4:43 pm
Location: Anywhere but here

Post Posted November 28th, 2002, 1:10 pm

mstoer wrote:I am fairly new to Phoenix, but I I love what I see. Hats off to all involved! I find the search bar a bit small and it cannot be re-sized (or moved). Is it spossible to enlarge it ior to simply use the Opera style searchign within the address bar (ie "g phoenix extensions" for a Google search of "phoenix extensions")?

Marcell


The search bar can be moved (View -> Toolbars -> Customize)

The search bar can be resized via userChrome.css (insert css code here, someone, please)

Stefan

User avatar
 
Posts: 2051
Joined: November 5th, 2002, 2:46 am

Post Posted November 28th, 2002, 1:56 pm

My personal whish would be for the return of the built into URL bar search function.
The current implementation is a waste of space IMO.

Keep the dropdown "switch searchtarget" and a search-button that links this to the URL-bar.

alanjstr
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 9100
Joined: November 5th, 2002, 4:43 pm
Location: Anywhere but here

Post Posted November 28th, 2002, 2:06 pm

Stefan wrote:My personal whish would be for the return of the built into URL bar search function.
The current implementation is a waste of space IMO.

Keep the dropdown "switch searchtarget" and a search-button that links this to the URL-bar.


Put the following in user.js
user_pref("keyword.URL", "http://google.com/search?btnG=Google+Search&q=");

Restart Phoenix and type search terms in the URL box and hit enter.

My test worked:
take me home -> http://www.google.com/search?btnG=Googl ... 0me%20home

Stefan

User avatar
 
Posts: 2051
Joined: November 5th, 2002, 2:46 am

Post Posted November 28th, 2002, 3:05 pm

alanjstr wrote:
Stefan wrote:My personal whish would be for the return of the built into URL bar search function.
The current implementation is a waste of space IMO.

Keep the dropdown "switch searchtarget" and a search-button that links this to the URL-bar.


Put the following in user.js
user_pref("keyword.URL", "http://google.com/search?btnG=Google+Search&q=");

Restart Phoenix and type search terms in the URL box and hit enter.

My test worked:
take me home -> http://www.google.com/search?btnG=Googl ... 0me%20home


That is far from what I'm suggesting.
To begin with it doesn't alow me to choose between search on page, google or another websearch.

mstoer

User avatar
 
Posts: 90
Joined: November 28th, 2002, 11:12 am
Location: Victoria, BC, Canada

Post Posted November 28th, 2002, 4:00 pm

Thanks I got it to work. There is a google quicksearch item and I just edited that. Works great and now I don't need that little search bar. That can be tossed. To search within a page I just use CTRL-F anyway. I am still learning the ins and outs of Phoenix and it's just superb!

Marcell

[quote="Mook"]You can use the second option; just do a search on google and bookmark the first page of results. Then edit the bookmarks, and replace the search term to <code>%s</code>, and enter <code>g</code> as the keyword. This is what I currently use.

Actually, there may already by a "Google Quicksearch" bookmark under Quick Searches. You can just change its keyword if this is the case.[/quote]

thenightfly42

User avatar
 
Posts: 983
Joined: November 5th, 2002, 8:03 am

Post Posted November 29th, 2002, 12:49 pm

mstoer wrote:To search within a page I just use CTRL-F anyway.

I'm also an Opera ex-user. Try to get accustomed to the Type Ahead Find feature; it's much better than CTRL-F.

Return to Firefox Features


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest