MozillaZine


404 and 403 errors for my own site

Discussion of general topics about Mozilla Firefox
APoster
 
Posts: 8
Joined: January 29th, 2019, 5:20 pm

Post Posted September 20th, 2021, 6:37 pm

Firefox 92.0 on Windows 10

When I use FF to go to my own FTP site, I get 404 error and 403 forbidden errors. With MS Edge, no problem. The URL is http://enformationism.info/gnomon/ This site was working fine until a few days ago.

An empty test page is http://enformationism.info/ftp/ and it gets the same errors.

Is there anything I can do to view my site using FF? The alternative is to use MS Edge.

malliz
Folder@Home

User avatar
 
Posts: 44294
Joined: December 7th, 2002, 4:34 am
Location: Australia

Post Posted September 20th, 2021, 6:39 pm

Using any addons? And what Security software are you using? Those links work for me
What sort of man would put a known criminal in charge of a major branch of government? Apart from, say, the average voter.
"Terry Pratchett"

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 125435
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted September 20th, 2021, 6:53 pm

malliz wrote:Using any addons? And what Security software are you using? Those links work for me


Same results here.

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 20888
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted September 21st, 2021, 10:05 am

Fine here.
Test in (FF) http://kb.mozillazine.org/Safe_mode.


my own FTP site

I'll just point out that that is not an ftp:// site.
(Simply a http: page with "ftp" in its' name. Oh, & FF doesn't even do ftp:// :evilgrin:.)
Fire 750, bring back 250.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

APoster
 
Posts: 8
Joined: January 29th, 2019, 5:20 pm

Post Posted September 21st, 2021, 3:25 pm

Maliz, Dan Raisch, the rube

Thanks for the feedback. I doubt that my FF extensions would suddenly start blocking my own site. And MS Edge opened the site, even with the same Security software. Anyway, I put the virus checker into Passive Mode, and voila! the site opened in FF. Ironically, even with the Security software back in active mode, I can now open the site in FF. But, I'm keeping my fingers crossed.

Sadly, the cause of the No Permission messages remains a mystery. And it caused me several days of frustration. I chatted with the webhost support on 5 occasions, They were helpful, and tolerant of my vexation but they had no idea what was wrong. They just said, "it works on my end". Grrr!

PS__I labeled the site "FTP" because I use an FTP app to upload the reusable txt files and jpg images for storage, where I can have quick access to them for my online blog. :grin:

Return to Firefox General


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests