MozillaZine

Firefox 69: Flash disabled by default

Discussion of general topics about Mozilla Firefox
4td8s
 
Posts: 701
Joined: June 24th, 2009, 1:07 pm

Post Posted May 21st, 2019, 8:55 am

now there actual FF 69.0a1 nightly builds - try any of them to see if they actually run with Adobe Flash completely disabled

back then, it was not the time to worry about FF 69 disabling flash because there were no FF69 builds to back Mozilla's claim about disabling flash by default (it was all talk, no action)

the situation now has changed as the Firefox 69.0a1 nightly builds have been recently made available

WaltS48

User avatar
 
Posts: 4390
Joined: May 7th, 2010, 9:38 am
Location: Pennsylvania, USA

Post Posted May 22nd, 2019, 6:24 am

My 69.0a1 still has Flash set to "Ask to Activate".

I do go to one web site where I am occasionally asked depending on which stream I select.

Still early in the 69.0a1 development cycle so maybe they haven't disabled Flash yet.

If I select Disable for Flash do you expect Nightly not to run at all?
Linux Desktop - AMD Athlon(tm) II X3 455 3.3GHz | 8.0GB RAM | GeForce GT 630
Windows Notebook - AMD A8 7410 2.2GHz | 6.0GB RAM | AMD Radeon R5

dickvl

User avatar
 
Posts: 53175
Joined: July 18th, 2005, 3:25 am

Post Posted May 23rd, 2019, 6:56 pm

I still see all three possible choices for Flash in the current Nightly build.
"Ask to Activate", "Always Activate", "Never Activate"
Make sure you have the latest Flash version because outdated Flash is always on the blocklist.
https://get.adobe.com/flashplayer/otherversions/

dickvl

User avatar
 
Posts: 53175
Joined: July 18th, 2005, 3:25 am

Post Posted May 23rd, 2019, 7:54 pm

The plan is to remove the "Always Activate" choice, leaving only the two other choices during the time that Flash is still supported.
bug 1519434 - Remove "Always Activate" and "Remember this decision" Flash options in Firefox 69

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 20519
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted May 24th, 2019, 10:09 am

(Not that I have any issues with Flash's demise...)


The plan is to remove the "Always Activate" choice

I could see where that would aggravate people, people who actually need to use Flash, regardless.

leaving ... the two other choices during the time that Flash is still supported.

That's fine (for those not fitting into the category just above) & so long as the prompt choice actually does work (though I believe there have been some cases where "prompt" did not work, but "always on" did, so if "always on" is removed...)
Fire 750, bring back 250.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

4td8s
 
Posts: 701
Joined: June 24th, 2009, 1:07 pm

Post Posted July 10th, 2019, 10:21 am

dickvl wrote:The plan is to remove the "Always Activate" choice, leaving only the two other choices during the time that Flash is still supported.
bug 1519434 - Remove "Always Activate" and "Remember this decision" Flash options in Firefox 69


confirmed in the official Firefox 69 beta release notes:
https://www.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/69.0beta/releasenotes/

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 20519
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted July 10th, 2019, 7:26 pm

(While the Pref, plugin.state.flash, still exists, setting it to '2' [always allow], looks to have no effect.)
Fire 750, bring back 250.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

MdniteEagl
 
Posts: 40
Joined: March 27th, 2010, 6:48 pm

Post Posted June 29th, 2020, 10:04 am

MdniteEagl wrote:(Jan 16 2019) All the animated radar pages at weather.gov (US National Weather Service) remain Flash powered.

Update - National Weather Service has seen the light... on the animated local radar pages that are still currently Flash, they now show this message:

"The National Weather Service is in the process of migrating away from Flash. This page currently uses Flash; If it does not work on your browser, please click on the "Standard Version" link in the upper left of this page as a workaround for now."
Tower: HP EliteDesk 705 G3 - Win 10 Pro - AMD Ryzen 5 Pro 1500 - 64GB (4x16GB) 2133MHz DDR4 - Fox 77.0.1/TB 68.9/Edge 83.0
Laptop: HP ZBook 17 G4 - Win 10 Pro for Workstations - Intel Xeon E3-1535M - 64GB (4x16GB) 2400MHz DDR4 - Fox 77.0.1/TB 68.9/Edge 83.0

Return to Firefox General


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests