MozillaZine

Firefox won't let me set default browser

Discussion of general topics about Mozilla Firefox
MR2David
 
Posts: 2
Joined: July 4th, 2017, 2:08 pm

Post Posted July 4th, 2017, 4:11 pm

Firefox has been doing a lot of odd things with the past 10, or so, upgrades. I hated IE, and everyone I knew was checking out FF because Mozilla was a more stable browser. I decided to give FF a try, and was happy until this last several changes.
I downloaded Opera, just to try it, and although it seems pretty easy to use, it hijacked the default browser from FF.
I deleted Opera intending to use FF until I found something else that I liked. When I downloaded FF 54 I checked to have FF my default browser.
When I tried to open a link in email I now find that IE opens. IE asks if I want it to be my default browser, and I check NO, but FF still asks if I want it as my default browser, but as many times as I checked that, and gone in to Options/General and checked that, it won't let me make it my default browser.
I've been at this for 3 days and I'm about ](*,)

malliz
Folder@Home

User avatar
 
Posts: 43327
Joined: December 7th, 2002, 4:34 am
Location: Australia

Post Posted July 4th, 2017, 4:24 pm

Its your operating system doing that try
https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/hel ... t-programs
What sort of man would put a known criminal in charge of a major branch of government? Apart from, say, the average voter.
"Terry Pratchett"

alpine5536
 
Posts: 93
Joined: June 29th, 2015, 10:23 am

Post Posted July 10th, 2017, 4:30 pm

Try setting it as default by going into Control Panel / Default Programs and try to set it as default from there.

malliz
Folder@Home

User avatar
 
Posts: 43327
Joined: December 7th, 2002, 4:34 am
Location: Australia

Post Posted July 10th, 2017, 4:41 pm

Read others replies before saying something silly
What sort of man would put a known criminal in charge of a major branch of government? Apart from, say, the average voter.
"Terry Pratchett"

alpine5536
 
Posts: 93
Joined: June 29th, 2015, 10:23 am

Post Posted July 10th, 2017, 6:17 pm

malliz ???????????????? Explain

malliz
Folder@Home

User avatar
 
Posts: 43327
Joined: December 7th, 2002, 4:34 am
Location: Australia

Post Posted July 10th, 2017, 6:24 pm

malliz wrote:Its your operating system doing that try
https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/hel ... t-programs

Follow the link
What sort of man would put a known criminal in charge of a major branch of government? Apart from, say, the average voter.
"Terry Pratchett"

alpine5536
 
Posts: 93
Joined: June 29th, 2015, 10:23 am

Post Posted July 10th, 2017, 7:08 pm

Ok..My bad, I was thinking Windows 10 .

Return to Firefox General


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests