MozillaZine

FF54.0,64bit on Ubuntu 16- how to get it to use more memory?

Discussion of general topics about Mozilla Firefox
KrisM2

User avatar
 
Posts: 364
Joined: November 9th, 2004, 5:45 pm
Location: Boston

Post Posted June 21st, 2017, 2:59 pm

I left FF to go to Chromium, but the other day I caught it using 14GB, (and other issues) so back to FF - I use side tabs since my beloved tabmix will probably disappear - besides I have grown to love it. But FF uses very little of the 16GB memory.
I run about 100-150 tabs.
I did already change
browser.cache.memory.capacity;8192
browser.cache.memory.enable;true

I'll attach some pics...

http://imgur.com/a/sc4Li
Last edited by KrisM2 on June 22nd, 2017, 11:09 am, edited 1 time in total.
GA-Z97X-UD3H mobo, i5 4670K, Corsair H80i V2 liquid, 16GB Ballistix, 64bit: Ubuntu 17.04/win7 , SSD Sammy 250GB Evo, Sammy 120 evo, EVGA 850 B2 PSU

malliz
Folder@Home

User avatar
 
Posts: 43266
Joined: December 7th, 2002, 4:34 am
Location: Australia

Post Posted June 21st, 2017, 3:12 pm

Why on earth do you want it to use more memory? It will only use what it needs
What sort of man would put a known criminal in charge of a major branch of government? Apart from, say, the average voter.
"Terry Pratchett"

KrisM2

User avatar
 
Posts: 364
Joined: November 9th, 2004, 5:45 pm
Location: Boston

Post Posted June 21st, 2017, 3:20 pm

Make it faster.
GA-Z97X-UD3H mobo, i5 4670K, Corsair H80i V2 liquid, 16GB Ballistix, 64bit: Ubuntu 17.04/win7 , SSD Sammy 250GB Evo, Sammy 120 evo, EVGA 850 B2 PSU

Grumpus

User avatar
 
Posts: 11608
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 4:23 am
Location: ... Da' Swamp

Post Posted June 22nd, 2017, 6:26 am

Are you considering the old ram disc trick where parts of the software package load in memory instead of having to go back and forth across the buss to the discs?
If so you would need to de-construct Firefox to see what uses the disc and what uses ram and see if it's possible to reallocate the instruction set to use ram.
On the other hand you could dump needless extensions, kill the disc cache and probably do just about as much considering the SSDs you indicate.
You also need to consider your connection to the Internet and your processor.
You may have the ram but not necessarily the processor or connection to make the jump to warp speed.
If I understand the new multi-process for Firefox and future FF this might resolve your issue as well depending on how many cores your processor uses.

KrisM2

User avatar
 
Posts: 364
Joined: November 9th, 2004, 5:45 pm
Location: Boston

Post Posted June 22nd, 2017, 8:38 am

Grumpus wrote:Are you considering the old ram disc trick where parts of the software package load in memory instead of having to go back and forth across the buss to the discs?
If so you would need to de-construct Firefox to see what uses the disc and what uses ram and see if it's possible to reallocate the instruction set to use ram.
On the other hand you could dump needless extensions, kill the disc cache and probably do just about as much considering the SSDs you indicate.
You also need to consider your connection to the Internet and your processor.
You may have the ram but not necessarily the processor or connection to make the jump to warp speed.
If I understand the new multi-process for Firefox and future FF this might resolve your issue as well depending on how many cores your processor uses.


I used to do the RAM thing a long time ago when I was on win7 - I'll look at it again for Linux.
Processor is i5 4670K 3.5, 4 cores - all seem to be used. idles at 5-10%.
Internet is 100Mbs
GA-Z97X-UD3H mobo, i5 4670K, Corsair H80i V2 liquid, 16GB Ballistix, 64bit: Ubuntu 17.04/win7 , SSD Sammy 250GB Evo, Sammy 120 evo, EVGA 850 B2 PSU

Grumpus

User avatar
 
Posts: 11608
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 4:23 am
Location: ... Da' Swamp

Post Posted June 22nd, 2017, 10:07 am

You'll still need to see if anything is programmed to call parts of the software (static/default) on the disc across the buss.
Just placing Firefox in a ram disc doesn't mean it will work as a lot of it already performs there.
What gets saved is usually across the buss.
Open about:memory and see if there's anything there which might be be a clue.
Look at some of the memory management utilities in the Ubuntu repositories.
With the changes using the Rust system being implemented by various OSs and Firefox you might want to look at memory management for that language.

KrisM2

User avatar
 
Posts: 364
Joined: November 9th, 2004, 5:45 pm
Location: Boston

Post Posted June 22nd, 2017, 11:02 am

Grumpus wrote:You'll still need to see if anything is programmed to call parts of the software (static/default) on the disc across the buss.
Just placing Firefox in a ram disc doesn't mean it will work as a lot of it already performs there.
What gets saved is usually across the buss.
Open about:memory and see if there's anything there which might be be a clue.
Look at some of the memory management utilities in the Ubuntu repositories.
With the changes using the Rust system being implemented by various OSs and Firefox you might want to look at memory management for that language.


Yes! Thanks! I have abandoned it as I read some caveats against it. I will leave it as it is. Actually it seems plenty fast enough playing with it today. I think there were some google problems in our area a few days ago and that slowed everything up. Kept changing the DNS on my router. Don't know where it is now,(edit 8888,8844) but works. I did see mem up to 4 or 5gb yesterday so that's great. I'm happy!
Thanks again!
GA-Z97X-UD3H mobo, i5 4670K, Corsair H80i V2 liquid, 16GB Ballistix, 64bit: Ubuntu 17.04/win7 , SSD Sammy 250GB Evo, Sammy 120 evo, EVGA 850 B2 PSU

KrisM2

User avatar
 
Posts: 364
Joined: November 9th, 2004, 5:45 pm
Location: Boston

Post Posted June 22nd, 2017, 11:11 am

It may be time to start nightly'ing 57 to make sure my extensions will work... Soon!
GA-Z97X-UD3H mobo, i5 4670K, Corsair H80i V2 liquid, 16GB Ballistix, 64bit: Ubuntu 17.04/win7 , SSD Sammy 250GB Evo, Sammy 120 evo, EVGA 850 B2 PSU

Grumpus

User avatar
 
Posts: 11608
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 4:23 am
Location: ... Da' Swamp

Post Posted June 23rd, 2017, 5:45 am

A good number of people who have made extensions needed for various functions are probably doing the same thing.
However, nightlys are not always a finished product so what works or doesn't may change, good luck and be careful.
As a side note it seems to me the Ubuntu team has made an effort to keep things working regardless of some changes.
As an example you can still find and delete unwanted search engines while other systems seem to hide them.
This may change with FF57.

KrisM2

User avatar
 
Posts: 364
Joined: November 9th, 2004, 5:45 pm
Location: Boston

Post Posted June 23rd, 2017, 9:22 am

Yes, good advice - I went and looked at the downloads and did nothing - maybe in August.

Is C=F an absolute true in all conditions? I bet not.
GA-Z97X-UD3H mobo, i5 4670K, Corsair H80i V2 liquid, 16GB Ballistix, 64bit: Ubuntu 17.04/win7 , SSD Sammy 250GB Evo, Sammy 120 evo, EVGA 850 B2 PSU

Grumpus

User avatar
 
Posts: 11608
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 4:23 am
Location: ... Da' Swamp

Post Posted June 23rd, 2017, 12:14 pm

[OAEnEl] <---Global individual application; Solve: if 3Px=F then C=F but 3Px ≠ C
Nope, never in the open air, otherwise global.

KrisM2

User avatar
 
Posts: 364
Joined: November 9th, 2004, 5:45 pm
Location: Boston

Post Posted June 23rd, 2017, 12:56 pm

Grumpus wrote:[OAEnEl] <---Global individual application; Solve: if 3Px=F then C=F but 3Px ≠ C
Nope, never in the open air, otherwise global.

OK, never in open air(define?) but global in vacuums, solids, liquids? crystalline lattices?

Edit - like inside a capacitor? Like an open variable cap?

or C=4Px ?

or when capacitance = farads and capacitance not= force ?
GA-Z97X-UD3H mobo, i5 4670K, Corsair H80i V2 liquid, 16GB Ballistix, 64bit: Ubuntu 17.04/win7 , SSD Sammy 250GB Evo, Sammy 120 evo, EVGA 850 B2 PSU

Grumpus

User avatar
 
Posts: 11608
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 4:23 am
Location: ... Da' Swamp

Post Posted June 24th, 2017, 5:43 am

This has nothing to do with electronics, more important.
Hint a formula regarding economy (En)

Return to Firefox General


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests