MozillaZine


SeaMonkey 2.53.6 βeta 1 has been released !!!

Discussion about Seamonkey builds
ElTxolo

User avatar
 
Posts: 2659
Joined: July 30th, 2007, 9:35 am
Location: Localhost

Post Posted December 28th, 2020, 8:45 am

How to Ask Questions The Smart Way - How to Report Bugs Effectively ;)
Mozilla/5.0 (X11; Linux x86_64; rv:68.0) Gecko/20211112 SeaMonkey/2.53.10
Mozilla/5.0 (X11; Linux x86_64; rv:68.0) Gecko/20211205 SeaMonkey/2.53.11

ndebord

User avatar
 
Posts: 1059
Joined: December 7th, 2002, 9:53 am

Post Posted January 1st, 2021, 8:36 am

Tried it (SeaMonkey 2.53.6 Beta 1), but found that saved passwords did not work when trying to login here to the forum. Reverted back to 2.53.5.1

Nick
-N- Quis custodiet ipsos custodes
FrameWork, SeaMonkey(64-bit),Windows 10 Pro (X64- 21H1), WinPatrol, Malwarebytes & AVG Suite

ElTxolo

User avatar
 
Posts: 2659
Joined: July 30th, 2007, 9:35 am
Location: Localhost

Post Posted January 2nd, 2021, 7:54 am

ndebord wrote:Tried it (SeaMonkey 2.53.6 Beta 1), but found that saved passwords did not work when trying to login here to the forum.
...

    Image
    Personally, (using only GNU/Linux), I have absolutely no problem using SeaMonkey 2.53.6 βeta 1 with any password.
    I have installed SeaMonkey 2.53.6, in VoidLinux, debian buster (stable) and debian testing (bullseye).
    And, I haven't had, any password problems in either of them ... Image





    Image













    Cheers!! Image
How to Ask Questions The Smart Way - How to Report Bugs Effectively ;)
Mozilla/5.0 (X11; Linux x86_64; rv:68.0) Gecko/20211112 SeaMonkey/2.53.10
Mozilla/5.0 (X11; Linux x86_64; rv:68.0) Gecko/20211205 SeaMonkey/2.53.11

ndebord

User avatar
 
Posts: 1059
Joined: December 7th, 2002, 9:53 am

Post Posted January 2nd, 2021, 3:21 pm

ElTxolo

Can't speak to Linux, only to what I experience here with Windows 10 Pro and SM 32 bit.

Nick
-N- Quis custodiet ipsos custodes
FrameWork, SeaMonkey(64-bit),Windows 10 Pro (X64- 21H1), WinPatrol, Malwarebytes & AVG Suite

Frank Lion

User avatar
 
Posts: 21097
Joined: April 23rd, 2004, 6:59 pm
Location: ... The Exorcist....United Kingdom

Post Posted January 2nd, 2021, 3:51 pm

ElTxolo wrote:
    Image
    Personally, (using only GNU/Linux), I have absolutely no problem using SeaMonkey 2.53.6 βeta 1 with any password.

Same here. Passwords work fine with 32bit SM on Win7 Pro using the 2.53.6 βeta 1 version.
Metal Lion SeaMonkey Themes - Sea Monkey and Silver Sea Monkey
"The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil, is for good men to do nothing." - Edmund Burke (attrib.)

ndebord

User avatar
 
Posts: 1059
Joined: December 7th, 2002, 9:53 am

Post Posted January 2nd, 2021, 4:55 pm

Frank Lion wrote:
ElTxolo wrote:
    Image
    Personally, (using only GNU/Linux), I have absolutely no problem using SeaMonkey 2.53.6 βeta 1 with any password.

Same here. Passwords work fine with 32bit SM on Win7 Pro using the 2.53.6 βeta 1 version.


Frank,

Ouch. That means it is probably an extension that is causing a conflict. I shall try again with the beta and one by one disable extensions in the hopes of figuring out why my SM 32 bit on Windows 10 PRO fails here.

Tks,

Nick
-N- Quis custodiet ipsos custodes
FrameWork, SeaMonkey(64-bit),Windows 10 Pro (X64- 21H1), WinPatrol, Malwarebytes & AVG Suite

frg
 
Posts: 1153
Joined: December 15th, 2015, 1:20 pm

Post Posted January 2nd, 2021, 5:01 pm

If we broke an extension please le me know which one. Out of the hat not remember something removed but there were a lot of changes. But usually wo don't try to break extensions. Check the Error or Browser console for error messages.

ndebord

User avatar
 
Posts: 1059
Joined: December 7th, 2002, 9:53 am

Post Posted January 2nd, 2021, 7:22 pm

Frank Lion wrote:
ElTxolo wrote:
    Image
    Personally, (using only GNU/Linux), I have absolutely no problem using SeaMonkey 2.53.6 βeta 1 with any password.

Same here. Passwords work fine with 32bit SM on Win7 Pro using the 2.53.6 βeta 1 version.


Frank,

Tried again, no love. id and password are saved, but will not show up when I try to log in. Had to manually type in both. Will look to see what might be causing it tomorrow.

Nick
-N- Quis custodiet ipsos custodes
FrameWork, SeaMonkey(64-bit),Windows 10 Pro (X64- 21H1), WinPatrol, Malwarebytes & AVG Suite

Snake4
 
Posts: 1318
Joined: December 27th, 2017, 4:03 am
Location: Australia

Post Posted January 2nd, 2021, 7:44 pm

Try a test New Profile

ndebord

User avatar
 
Posts: 1059
Joined: December 7th, 2002, 9:53 am

Post Posted January 2nd, 2021, 8:11 pm

Snake4 wrote:Try a test New Profile


Snake4,

Could have gone that way, but suspicion on my part was that it was something with the 2.53.6 B1.

I was running the official release, 2.53.5.1 and then the 2.53.6.B1... I was ok with the official, not with .6.

I jumped ahead and am now using 2.53.7 beta 1 pre.... works just fine again. Did not change any of my extensions nor go with safe boot, etc.

Nick
Last edited by ndebord on January 3rd, 2021, 9:39 am, edited 1 time in total.
-N- Quis custodiet ipsos custodes
FrameWork, SeaMonkey(64-bit),Windows 10 Pro (X64- 21H1), WinPatrol, Malwarebytes & AVG Suite

Snake4
 
Posts: 1318
Joined: December 27th, 2017, 4:03 am
Location: Australia

Post Posted January 2nd, 2021, 8:36 pm

ndebord wrote:
Snake4 wrote:Try a test New Profile


Snake4,

Could have gone that way, but suspicion on my part was that it was something with the 2.53.6 B1.

I was running the official release, 2.53.5.1 and then the 2.53.6.B1... I was ok with the official, not with .6.

I jumped ahead and am now using 2.5.3.7 beta 1 pre.... works just fine again. DId not change any of my extensions nor go with safe boot, etc.

Nick

shouildnt really install a beta over the top of a stable

frg
 
Posts: 1153
Joined: December 15th, 2015, 1:20 pm

Post Posted January 3rd, 2021, 6:51 am

> shouildnt really install a beta over the top of a stable

Doesn't matter for the current 2.53 line. As long as the version is higher everything is fine. If it is lower distributed add-ons will be disabled and need to be reinstalled. The latest versions were also profile compatible but this is never guranteed. I usually test by installing beta over latest ga and then ga over beta. Want to keep debugQA in these installations too.

ndebord

User avatar
 
Posts: 1059
Joined: December 7th, 2002, 9:53 am

Post Posted January 3rd, 2021, 8:34 am

Snake4 wrote:
ndebord wrote:
Snake4 wrote:Try a test New Profile


Snake4,

Could have gone that way, but suspicion on my part was that it was something with the 2.53.6 B1.

I was running the official release, 2.53.5.1 and then the 2.53.6.B1... I was ok with the official, not with .6.

I jumped ahead and am now using 2.5.3.7 beta 1 pre.... works just fine again. DId not change any of my extensions nor go with safe boot, etc.

Nick

shouildnt really install a beta over the top of a stable


Snake4,

Not a problem with my setup... I keep a complete copy on an external hard drive (I use Portable SeaMonkey, so never a problem with profiles). As for installing on top of, well there are many posts here about how to do that safely.)

Tks,

Nick
-N- Quis custodiet ipsos custodes
FrameWork, SeaMonkey(64-bit),Windows 10 Pro (X64- 21H1), WinPatrol, Malwarebytes & AVG Suite

ndebord

User avatar
 
Posts: 1059
Joined: December 7th, 2002, 9:53 am

Post Posted January 4th, 2021, 1:15 pm

frg wrote:If we broke an extension please le me know which one. Out of the hat not remember something removed but there were a lot of changes. But usually wo don't try to break extensions. Check the Error or Browser console for error messages.


frg,

sure, the only extension that failed for me with (beta 7 pre) was LightBird 0.7.1. As is my practice, I have reverted to the official release for now.

Nick
-N- Quis custodiet ipsos custodes
FrameWork, SeaMonkey(64-bit),Windows 10 Pro (X64- 21H1), WinPatrol, Malwarebytes & AVG Suite

frg
 
Posts: 1153
Joined: December 15th, 2015, 1:20 pm

Post Posted January 4th, 2021, 7:16 pm

LightBird 0.7.1 is broken. There were various reports for previous version too starting with 2.53.1. Usually results in the message pane not updating correctly.

This needs to be updated for the 2.53.x versions. Nothing we can fix.

Return to SeaMonkey Builds


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest