MozillaZine


Google photos doesn't work in latest build (Linux)

Discussion of bugs in Seamonkey
snorkelface
 
Posts: 23
Joined: August 16th, 2015, 10:06 pm

Post Posted April 17th, 2021, 11:03 am

Seamonkey 2.53.7
Kutuntu 18.04 fully updated

Go to Google photos.
Upload photos.
Create new album.
Shows a blank screen with a circle that keeps going round. Never creates album.
Worked in earlier versions of Seamonkey.

Update: Tried Seamonkey 2.53.1 Did the same thing.

Uploaded and created a new album with Firefox. Everything works like it should. Opened photo album in Seamonkey and all thumbnails are blurry and can't click on one to make larger.

https://photos.app.goo.gl/ts6e4aD6i5mtyygs7

In console I see this:

[code]POST
XHR
https://play.google.com/log
[HTTP/2.0 200 OK 37ms]
POST
XHR
https://photos.google.com/_/PhotosUi/idv/
[HTTP/2.0 200 OK 57ms]
GET
https://photos.google.com/_/scs/social- ... QSb,hZTwPb
[HTTP/2.0 200 OK 0ms]
GET
https://photos.google.com/_/scs/social- ... w/m=yHBDQc
[HTTP/2.0 200 OK 64ms]
POST
XHR
https://play.google.com/log
[HTTP/2.0 200 OK 36ms]
Last edited by DanRaisch on April 17th, 2021, 11:54 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: (Linux added to subject)

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 20888
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted April 20th, 2021, 11:54 am

> Opened photo album in Seamonkey and all thumbnails are blurry and can't click on one to make larger.

Confirmed.
Fire 750, bring back 250.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

snorkelface
 
Posts: 23
Joined: August 16th, 2015, 10:06 pm

Post Posted April 20th, 2021, 1:09 pm

Thanks for confirming this.
I tried Chromium, Firefox, Konqueror, Chrome and all worked. I can only assume that it has something to do with Seamonkey. Tried Seamonkey on 2 other computers with same results, all blurry.
I tried to install an earlier version that did work, but for some reason, it also showed blurry photos. So, is there some setting that even the earlier version of Seamonkey is picking up even though I unzipped it in a new directory?

frg
 
Posts: 1149
Joined: December 15th, 2015, 1:20 pm

Post Posted April 20th, 2021, 1:32 pm

Shows a calc error when I hover over an image. Might be https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=1350857 which is basically not fixed in the Gecko style system. Needs Stylo or new code. Bot are not around the corner for 2.53.

snorkelface
 
Posts: 23
Joined: August 16th, 2015, 10:06 pm

Post Posted April 20th, 2021, 3:27 pm

Could someone please explain how I should reinstall an earlier version of Seamonkey? As I mentioned in my previous post, I downloaded an earlier version into a new directory, but when I stated it from the command line in that directory, it displayed the same symptoms.

I backed up my profile from my previous version. I don't know what I need to delete or backup beyond that. I don't understand why installing an earlier version didn't work. Was it using the new profile in ./mozilla/seamonkey?

Thanks very much for you knowledge and help.

snorkelface
 
Posts: 23
Joined: August 16th, 2015, 10:06 pm

Post Posted April 20th, 2021, 7:43 pm

Never mind. I just tried an older version of Seamonkey on another computer and it does the same thing, so it must be something Google did very recently. I guess I can't use Seamonkey on Goolge Photos anymore. Sadly, more and more websites become unusable with Seamonkey. I guess web developers have never heard of Seamonkey and don't know how to program for access by all web browsers.

Return to SeaMonkey Bugs


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest