MozillaZine

Composer missing features on 64bit Windows

Discussion of bugs in Seamonkey
mrheckman
 
Posts: 3
Joined: January 13th, 2005, 11:53 pm

Post Posted May 26th, 2016, 11:30 am

I didn't see this previously posted in any of the SeaMonkey forums, but has anyone else seen that the user interface to Composer is missing features when SeaMonkey is installed on a 64-bit Windows system compared to the same build installed on a 32-bit system?

For example, the text highlighter button on the Format toolbar appears to the left of the "smaller font size" button on a 32-bit system, but there is no text highlighter button on a 64-bit system. Is this a bug? What could cause it?

frg
 
Posts: 406
Joined: December 15th, 2015, 1:20 pm

Post Posted May 27th, 2016, 1:12 am

Not seeing any differences here. Could you post a screenshot.

FRG

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 17545
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted May 27th, 2016, 8:01 am

What versions of SeaMonkey & from where?
(At first I was thinking you were talking about 64-builds of SeaMonkey, but you must not be.)
And I gather this is in Win10, in each instance, where this his happening?

Composer is missing features

"Text highlighter" (not that I'm sure what that is?) & what else?

Any change if you restart in Safe Mode?
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

Andy Boze

User avatar
 
Posts: 2755
Joined: June 30th, 2005, 9:53 pm
Location: South Bend, IN

Post Posted May 27th, 2016, 10:08 am

You can see an image of SM Composer with the text highlight tool at http://ataridogdaze.com/FreeWebsiteNoAds/SeaMonkeyComposerLbl.gif. The tool disappeared for me a long time ago. It might've been about the time I switched to Win7 64-bit. It seems to me I managed to get it back once, but I don't use Composer anymore, so it wasn't an issue for me. If you use the DOMi to look at the Composer window's chrome, you can see it's supposed to be there. I didn't see that there has been a bug filed about it.
But then again, I may be wrong.

Andy Boze

User avatar
 
Posts: 2755
Joined: June 30th, 2005, 9:53 pm
Location: South Bend, IN

Post Posted May 27th, 2016, 11:24 am

Ah, now I remember how I got it back. You have to set Composer to edit using CSS styles.

From the Composer window, click Edit | Preferences | Composer, then in the Editing section, check "Use CSS styles instead of HTML elements and attributes". That'll turn on the text highlight button on the editing toolbar.
But then again, I may be wrong.

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 17545
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted May 27th, 2016, 11:43 am

OK, with that change, now I see it.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

mrheckman
 
Posts: 3
Joined: January 13th, 2005, 11:53 pm

Post Posted June 13th, 2016, 10:25 am

Oh, thanks so much! Checking the "Use CSS styles" box did the trick. There were several other features also missing when that box was unchecked.

Return to SeaMonkey Bugs


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests