MozillaZine

the feautre "Block images from domain" is not instantaneous

Discussion of bugs in Seamonkey
Michael REMY
 
Posts: 304
Joined: December 19th, 2009, 2:27 am

Post Posted April 21st, 2016, 7:57 am

hi,

it looks abvious, but why ""Block images from domain" is not instantaneous ?

Once i activate this feature, the image should be hidden right now, isn't it ?
so why the effet will take place the next time ?

When, you change the style of a page (view menu/style), it is instantaneous , so why not with "block images" ?

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 17420
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted April 21st, 2016, 8:46 am

I guess cause it would need to do something like clear your cache & then also reload the page?
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

LordOfTheBored
 
Posts: 236
Joined: December 7th, 2005, 8:36 pm

Post Posted April 21st, 2016, 9:18 pm

Michael REMY wrote:hi,

it looks abvious, but why ""Block images from domain" is not instantaneous ?

Once i activate this feature, the image should be hidden right now, isn't it ?
so why the effet will take place the next time ?

When, you change the style of a page (view menu/style), it is instantaneous , so why not with "block images" ?

So if you accidentally click block images, you can easily hit unblock? And accidentally is really the only time I've ever used the feature, so I like it better this way.

Also, it is block images, not hide images.

Michael REMY
 
Posts: 304
Joined: December 19th, 2009, 2:27 am

Post Posted April 21st, 2016, 11:34 pm

LordOfTheBored wrote:
Michael REMY wrote:hi,

it looks abvious, but why ""Block images from domain" is not instantaneous ?

Once i activate this feature, the image should be hidden right now, isn't it ?
so why the effet will take place the next time ?

When, you change the style of a page (view menu/style), it is instantaneous , so why not with "block images" ?

So if you accidentally click block images, you can easily hit unblock? And accidentally is really the only time I've ever used the feature, so I like it better this way.

Also, it is block images, not hide images.


i always refered it in another old post a long time ago.
Once we click Block This image, the image SHOULD BE replaced by a regular blank one (like a scare with the message -blocked by seamonkey).
Because whjen we visit a page, we have no indication/alert/messsage that something is blocked there.

LordOfTheBored
 
Posts: 236
Joined: December 7th, 2005, 8:36 pm

Post Posted April 22nd, 2016, 12:28 am

Michael REMY wrote:Once we click Block This image, the image SHOULD BE replaced by a regular blank one (like a scare with the message -blocked by seamonkey).
Because whjen we visit a page, we have no indication/alert/messsage that something is blocked there.

Isn't that the point? Presumably one blocks images they want to disappear.

dgpatton16
 
Posts: 3
Joined: April 27th, 2016, 4:29 pm

Post Posted April 28th, 2016, 8:38 am

LordOfTheBored wrote:
Michael REMY wrote:Once we click Block This image, the image SHOULD BE replaced by a regular blank one (like a scare with the message -blocked by seamonkey).
Because whjen we visit a page, we have no indication/alert/messsage that something is blocked there.

Isn't that the point? Presumably one blocks images they want to disappear.
Can someone help me? I right-clicked and chose "Block images from domain" on the drop-down menu by accident. Now, I can't get it back. I've deleted cookies, history, gone into Preferences and made sure "Load All Images" was set. I've tried everything. It's blocking Jpg's and Png's, not everything.

Please help?

Donna

dgpatton16
 
Posts: 3
Joined: April 27th, 2016, 4:29 pm

Post Posted April 28th, 2016, 8:42 am

LordOfTheBored wrote:
Michael REMY wrote:hi,

it looks abvious, but why ""Block images from domain" is not instantaneous ?

Once i activate this feature, the image should be hidden right now, isn't it ?
so why the effet will take place the next time ?

When, you change the style of a page (view menu/style), it is instantaneous , so why not with "block images" ?


So if you accidentally click block images, you can easily hit unblock? And accidentally is really the only time I've ever used the feature, so I like it better this way.

Also, it is block images, not hide images.

-------------------------------------------------------

How do you "hit unblock"? It disappears from the drop-down menu.

Help?

Donna

edlon
 
Posts: 20
Joined: June 11th, 2009, 5:46 pm

Post Posted April 28th, 2016, 7:15 pm

How do you "hit unblock"? It disappears from the drop-down menu.

If you right click on the page and then click on "view page info" then click the permissions tab then click "Load Images" allow, you will get images back after you reload page.

dgpatton16
 
Posts: 3
Joined: April 27th, 2016, 4:29 pm

Post Posted April 29th, 2016, 7:51 am

Thank you. But, this is SeaMonkey, not Firebird or Thunderbird. It doesn't have a "view page info" when you right-click.

It's okay, though. I just copied a backup of Permissions from a backup copy and it fixed it.

Thanks,
Donna

barbaz
 
Posts: 1651
Joined: October 1st, 2014, 3:25 pm

Post Posted April 29th, 2016, 8:29 am

dgpatton16 wrote:this is SeaMonkey, not Firebird or Thunderbird. It doesn't have a "view page info" when you right-click.

(FWIW in my SeaMonkey that's at View > Page Info)
*Always* check the changelogs BEFORE updating that important software!

Return to SeaMonkey Bugs


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest