MozillaZine

Flash Player Messup

Discussion of bugs in Seamonkey
troothteller
 
Posts: 230
Joined: June 11th, 2012, 11:49 am

Post Posted October 5th, 2018, 1:32 pm

I will try creating a new Profile; but deactivating everything on the addons page did not improve anything.

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 120259
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted October 5th, 2018, 3:53 pm

Problems can also be caused by configurations settings, some of which may have been changed by previously installed extensions, even if those extensions were later removed. Not all extensions are properly written to remove settings changes on removal that they have made to the system when installed.

troothteller
 
Posts: 230
Joined: June 11th, 2012, 11:49 am

Post Posted October 5th, 2018, 4:44 pm

I just thought of getting SeaMonkey back to its original defaults, having saved its Bookmarks. Backing up this Profile would not be a problem with enough storage areas.

troothteller
 
Posts: 230
Joined: June 11th, 2012, 11:49 am

Post Posted October 12th, 2018, 11:48 am

Forgive my neglect of this post. Switching profiles and Safe Mode did not render the sites any more presentable than before. From restoring my system following a system crash last February, I had enough profiles to avoid making a new one. Besides, IE11, which I read gets ongoing support no longer, is the only browser I have that shows the sites the way they are supposed to look. Chrome, which is supposed to self-update and install its plugins, if they call them that, does not even show the sites with all the icons. Additionally, regarding Safe Mode and new profiles, I tried the same with Firefox. That move did not help.

lasardo
 
Posts: 51
Joined: September 9th, 2018, 1:41 pm

Post Posted October 12th, 2018, 12:16 pm

It sounds like you have pretty big problems with several browsers. First, I want to say that without Flash installed most sites work for most people. And, as you mentioned, Chrome comes with its own Flash. I suspect you either have a corrupt Windows install, bad graphics drivers, or most likely either a virus or an overly intrusive antivirus software. The easiest thing to test is boot into Windows Safe Mode with Networking, which I hope will temporarily disable your antivirus software. Then try some browsing in Chrome. If things are not working then, consider doing a Chrome reset as an experiment: https://support.google.com/chrome/answer/3296214?hl=en Since your problems happen in Firefox, Seamonkey, and Chrome, you might want this post moved to the "Mozillazine Tech" forum. Also consider uninstalling Flash - many sites will then use HTML5 if flash is not there to confuse them. You can always reinstall it later if you want.

If you post back with an update, be sure to mention what antivirus software you have, and anything that might be unusual about your computer - such as, do you have less than 4GB of RAM, do you have a non-SSE2 processor, what is your graphics card.

troothteller
 
Posts: 230
Joined: June 11th, 2012, 11:49 am

Post Posted October 12th, 2018, 1:28 pm

Have you heard of Sophos Endpoint Security And Control? That is my antivirus and firewall. At my local office store, a national chain, I purchased an antivirus removal plan of which Sophos was an option. After my next restart, as long as I am not installing any Windows Updates, I will test in Safe Mode With Networking. On Properties under My Computer, the System box shows 4GB of RAM with 3.79 usable. The processors are two Intel Pentiums P6100 at 2GHz. System Information gives them as Logical Processors. I believe the graphics card is Intel HD Graphics from Device Manager and System Information.

Return to SeaMonkey Bugs


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests