MozillaZine

[EXT] Screengrab!

Announce and Discuss the Latest Theme and Extension Releases.
GµårÐïåñ

User avatar
 
Posts: 217
Joined: March 26th, 2008, 1:43 pm
Location: Area 51.2

Post Posted April 26th, 2018, 3:13 pm

DanRaisch wrote:Not what you were reporting but how you chose to respond after doing that. He was paying attention and he did respond. You mentioned breaking the extension and he replied that perhaps that was why the setting did't work. What's dismissive about that? Let's drop it there if you are serious about all this just being a problem report.

SO even you didn't bother reading it before commenting like he did dismissively without understanding. When did I ever say I broke the extension? Why don't you got back three messages and ACTUALLY read it and then get back to me. The hack I did was the ONLY WAY it actually worked, so please read and understand before adding unnecessary input. This is what leads to well deserved frustration and snowball into less than polite responses.

Start reading here: viewtopic.php?p=14798161#p14798161 and pay attention to both sides of the conversation and see if you get it.
Lï£ê ï§ å Lêmðñ åñÐ Ì Wåñ† M¥ Mðñê¥ ßå¢k

pag77
 
Posts: 1590
Joined: December 26th, 2013, 10:46 pm

Post Posted May 16th, 2018, 8:20 am

version 2.13
https://addons.mozilla.org/addon/screengrab-fix-version/
https://chrome.google.com/webstore/detail/screengrab/fccdiabakoglkihagkjmaomipdeegbpk

added: Option: Save (+MHTML)
MHTML is a standard format supported by most browsers. It encapsulates in a single file a page and all its resources (CSS files, images..).
http://tools.ietf.org/html/rfc2557
only for Google Chrome, currently MHTML is not supported in Firefox:
https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=18764

added: Image format: WebP
https://developers.google.com/speed/webp/
only for Google Chrome, currently WebP is not supported in Firefox:
https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=1294490

fixed: minor bug fixes

pag77
 
Posts: 1590
Joined: December 26th, 2013, 10:46 pm

Post Posted May 20th, 2018, 1:03 am

version 2.14
https://addons.mozilla.org/addon/screengrab-fix-version/
https://chrome.google.com/webstore/detail/screengrab/fccdiabakoglkihagkjmaomipdeegbpk

changes:
changed: Option: Save (+MHTML):
Google Chrome painfully reacts to the file "*.mhtml"
the extension of the saved file is changed to .mht

updated: Korean locale (thanks VenusGirl)
fixed: minor bug fixes

serj.kzv
 
Posts: 2
Joined: March 24th, 2018, 11:58 am

Post Posted July 28th, 2018, 12:53 am

kubuntu 18.04.1 x64
notification flickering, gif is here https://imgur.com/a/U3Fgsyx

windyplayer

User avatar
 
Posts: 10
Joined: June 28th, 2012, 12:42 pm

Post Posted July 29th, 2018, 4:55 pm

I love screengrab! and use it all the time. And it works, all the time, Except on this page:

https://www.vizio.com/tvs/p65e1.html

When I use visible portion, nothing happens.
When I use Complete Page, I see a little progress bar and nothing happens.
On any another page, it works just fine.
I restarted FF 61.0.1 and tried again. Same thing.
How, and Why, would this page prevent this? Or is it an accident?
I'm using Ghostery with everything blocked, but the page displays fine, and I really need to do that.
Like I said, with Ghostery on, all other pages capture fine with ScreenGrab!. Not sure why Ghostery might be an issue when the page is fine. with it on. I'm not saying that Ghostery has anything to do with it, Just saying I use it.
Thanks a ton.
wp

GµårÐïåñ

User avatar
 
Posts: 217
Joined: March 26th, 2008, 1:43 pm
Location: Area 51.2

Post Posted August 28th, 2018, 9:53 am

Why is the latest version (2.14) being disabled as unverified which they state is when the package is missing a signature?

Image

Firefox 61.0.2 (64-bit)
Lï£ê ï§ å Lêmðñ åñÐ Ì Wåñ† M¥ Mðñê¥ ßå¢k

MZmurphy
 
Posts: 1
Joined: September 4th, 2018, 12:08 pm

Post Posted September 4th, 2018, 2:47 pm

I have read most of this 7 page long thread, and many of the problems seem to be blamed on "limitation from WebExtensions".

However, there are several issues since upgrading from the xul version that I at least cannot recall to have had ever before and
which might (or should) not really be downright impossible to resolve, so I'll list them anyway:

SAVING

  • It's impossible to define any sensible default destination folder, because — as the configuration dialog states — "only subfolders" of the Downloads folder are allowed, and "absolute paths and paths containing backlinks" (a.k.a. truly relative paths) "will be ignored!"
  • In fact, absolute paths entered in said configuration dialog are not simply ignored, but make the whole extension stop working! All you can still do is to open the settings again and to remove the path from the configuration, nothing else does anything anymore. --> Nice way to kill a coworkers ScreenGrab and forcing him to do a reinstallation ... given that he doesn't know about this bug, haha!
  • Worst thing is, once you have specified a sensible saving destination folder, it isn't even remembered; you have to specify it over and over again for every single screenshot! — Seriously? The last piece of software of a comparably high development level like ScreenGrab I used, not remembering the last used save folder, is like from the '90s ...
Workaround: I placed several shortcuts to meaningful, individual destination folders within the "ScreenGrab" folder. But this can't really be it. Further problems with that:

  • Creating a shortcut "example" within the "ScreenGrab" folder and setting the default download folder to "ScreenGrab/example" creates another, regular "example" folder, since the shortcut is actually named "example.lnk" as we should know. I tried it anyway, because:
  • Setting the default download folder to "ScreenGrab/example.lnk", with the quick save option being selected, causes the "Image is saved" popup to appear ... but in fact nothing is saved anywhere! Another bug.
  • Setting the default download folder to "ScreenGrab/example.lnk", with the quick save option being unselected though, causes another kind of "misbehavior" — yet I won't tell you what it is, since it is exactly something I earlier described as a missing standard feature which you will probably claim to be impossible to implement due to "limitation from WebExtensions" ... but let's wait and see ^^

HOTKEY

  • You can define a hotkey, but all that it does is call one of the provided menu items depending on the action being specified in the settings. None of them allows to simply save a screenshot without facing further dialogs.
  • Then again, there is this quick save option labeled "Quickly save (without prompt to filename and dir)" — I'm not a native speaker, but this doesn't sound like valid English to me? — in the settings ... however, it's useless for the above said reasons: appropriate destination folders are neither remembered nor configurable as default folders.
  • Even making use of the welcome aforementioned "misbehavior" doesn't eventually solve the issue, since this finding unfortunately only works in a useful way (or better, at all) with the quick save option being unselected.

So to make this long story short, a.k.a "TL;DR" :
What I'm desperately missing, what I would really like to see and what could be a #1 feature for a lot of users I guess, would be a (configurable) hotkey and/or a context menu item that allows you to just save a screenshot to a once specified folder without any further user interaction. But please, at least fix the "remember last used destination folder" issue. This would save loads of time and an enormous amount of hassle.

GµårÐïåñ

User avatar
 
Posts: 217
Joined: March 26th, 2008, 1:43 pm
Location: Area 51.2

Post Posted September 6th, 2018, 9:17 am

On a lot of pages, I am getting a lot of these in the console:

Code: Select all
Error: ID already exists: s3sg_context_save_popup ext-menus.js
Error: ID already exists: s3sg_context_copy_popup ext-menus.js
Error: ID already exists: s3sg_context_preview_popup ext-menus.js
Error: ID already exists: s3sg_context_settings_separator ext-menus.js

and it causing the page to hang, meaning it will never complete and if you have any other scripts they fail to run because of this blocking.
Lï£ê ï§ å Lêmðñ åñÐ Ì Wåñ† M¥ Mðñê¥ ßå¢k

GµårÐïåñ

User avatar
 
Posts: 217
Joined: March 26th, 2008, 1:43 pm
Location: Area 51.2

Post Posted September 11th, 2018, 10:19 am

After the latest update to 2.16, there are even more errors in the console:
Code: Select all
Error: Could not find any MenuItem with id: s3sg_context_copy_popup
ext-menus.js
Error: ID already exists: s3sg_context_last_operation ext-menus.js
Error: ID already exists: s3sg_context_last_operation_separator ext-menus.js
Error: ID already exists: s3sg_context_save_popup ext-menus.js
Error: ID already exists: s3sg_context_last_operation ext-menus.js
Error: ID already exists: s3sg_context_last_operation_separator ext-menus.js
Error: ID already exists: s3sg_context_save_popup ext-menus.js
Error: ID already exists: s3sg_context_copy_popup ext-menus.js
Error: ID already exists: s3sg_context_preview_popup ext-menus.js
Error: ID already exists: s3sg_context_settings_separator ext-menus.js
Error: ID already exists: s3sg_context_settings ext-menus.js
Error: ID already exists: s3sg_context_last_operation ext-menus.js
Error: ID already exists: s3sg_context_save_popup ext-menus.js
Error: ID already exists: s3sg_context_copy_popup ext-menus.js
Error: ID already exists: s3sg_context_preview_popup ext-menus.js
Error: ID already exists: s3sg_context_settings_separator ext-menus.js
Error: ID already exists: s3sg_context_settings ext-menus.js
Error: ID already exists: s3sg_context_last_operation ext-menus.js
Error: ID already exists: s3sg_context_last_operation_separator ext-menus.js
Error: ID already exists: s3sg_context_save_popup ext-menus.js
Error: ID already exists: s3sg_context_copy_popup ext-menus.js
Error: ID already exists: s3sg_context_preview_popup ext-menus.js
Error: ID already exists: s3sg_context_settings_separator ext-menus.js
Error: ID already exists: s3sg_context_settings ext-menus.js
Content Security Policy: The page’s settings blocked the loading of a resource at self (“script-src”). Source: call to eval() or related function blocked by CSP.

And there is no changelog saying what supposedly changed between 2.14 and 2.16 and the indication of eval() is bothersome.
Lï£ê ï§ å Lêmðñ åñÐ Ì Wåñ† M¥ Mðñê¥ ßå¢k

mtmail
 
Posts: 1
Joined: September 27th, 2018, 2:59 pm

Post Posted September 27th, 2018, 3:22 pm

Screengrab 2.16 on Firefox 62

Checking my about:config the value for extensions.screengrab.advertisement is set to off2. I don't know why, I have the extension installed for years. Might have been set by an older version. I didn't modify the value myself.

prefs.js initializes the preferences with
Code: Select all
'advertisement' : 'wait',      // wait, check, on, off


discount_go.js checks for
Code: Select all
if (advertisement == 'off') { return; }


Effectively the extension has send my IP address (implicit) and every domain I visited (explicit) in the last year(s) to their server.

May I suggest to change the logic to
Code: Select all
if (advertisement !== 'on') { return; }


In my opinion
To improve the functionality of our extensions, we may collect non-personalized browsing history.

from http://www.s3blog.org/screengrab/privacy.html is misrepresenting WHY data is being collected. A list of domain names doesn't improve the functionality of the extension, it improves the money situation of the developer. May I suggest something like "If opted-in we collect non-personalized browsing history to offer you discount deals. We receive a share of income from those deals"

Return to Extension/Theme Releases


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest