MozillaZine

[Ext] Tap To Tab

Announce and Discuss the Latest Theme and Extension Releases.
em_te

User avatar
 
Posts: 355
Joined: June 13th, 2004, 1:03 am

Post Posted September 6th, 2017, 1:18 am

Tap To Tab 0.3.1

Summary:
Double click (double tap) on a link to open it in a new Tab. Designed for tablets and laptop trackpads, which don't have a right click mouse button.

Link:
https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/tap-to-tab/

Description:

Designed specifically for touch-screen tablets and laptops with trackpads (which don't have a right-click mouse button), you can now double-click on a link to open it in a new background tab.

It works similar to the "open link in new tab" option in the popup menu when you right-click on a link, but this method is faster, because right-clicking is a slow process without an external mouse.

You can configure in the settings window to:
* Focus opened tab; or
* Open new tab in background


Picture:

Image
Last edited by em_te on September 6th, 2017, 9:56 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Brummelchen
 
Posts: 3278
Joined: March 19th, 2005, 10:51 am

Post Posted September 6th, 2017, 7:47 am

chromium conversion ;)
https://chrome.google.com/webstore/deta ... podkdgcodd

works also with a double mouse click.

sepiabrown
New Member
 
Posts: 1
Joined: November 14th, 2017, 11:19 am

Post Posted November 14th, 2017, 11:42 am

Not working in firefox android version 57. Device is galaxy tab 10.1 with s pen. Hope you can fix!

Brummelchen
 
Posts: 3278
Joined: March 19th, 2005, 10:51 am

Post Posted November 16th, 2017, 8:28 am

meanwhile installed in my second profile where it is more usable than "right click to open new tab", no conflict between my userscript (violentmonkey)

Scribe_uk

User avatar
 
Posts: 34
Joined: April 15th, 2014, 9:16 am
Location: West London, England.

Post Posted November 18th, 2017, 2:28 am

Don't be misled by its name; double clicking with a mouse works equally well. This is a very good replacement for https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefo ... blclicker/ which I understand from its developer won't be migrated to WebExtensions.

The only thing I can add, is that it would be even better if the double click speed could be made adjustable, since I find it a little fast, but that is in no way intended as a criticism!

Thanks for a really useful add-on.:D

ortega
 
Posts: 4
Joined: June 23rd, 2011, 4:15 pm

Post Posted December 6th, 2017, 7:54 pm

Hi. Is it possible to get an option to open links in background in default order? Normally, without this extension new links open in background tabs like this by pressing ctrl+click:

[a][1][2][3][b][c]

And if I open the links with Tap to Tab the order is like this:

[a][3][2][1][b][c]

[a][b][c] are the current opened tabs with [a] being the current tab and [1] [2] [3] are the new tabs opened in that order.

Thanks for the addon.

Przemix
 
Posts: 2
Joined: January 3rd, 2018, 12:12 pm

Post Posted January 4th, 2018, 11:56 pm

I agree to that. This extension bypass the new-tab-behaviour settings. Please change that or give us ability to chose where the new tab opens.
It is strange that middle button link clicking gives me different results that doubleclicking

sarossell
 
Posts: 4
Joined: August 7th, 2015, 12:53 am

Post Posted March 3rd, 2018, 12:24 pm

Excellent add-on! Great work. Thank you. However, I must agree with Przemix and Ortega. Please consider either supporting default Firefox tab order function or include options to select tab open order. Currently, the new tabs open next to the original in spite of the Firefox setting "browser.tabs.insertRelatedAfterCurrent" set to False. Personally, I prefer all new opened tabs to open at the end of the tabs.

moztime
 
Posts: 1
Joined: March 18th, 2018, 11:00 pm

Post Posted March 18th, 2018, 11:18 pm

Installed this add-on today and it works great, until I went to check my emails. On my Yahoo email account, whenever I go to click on the check boxes in the left most column, the ones you generally use to select emails for group delete etc, it opens the email instead of checking the box. On my Gmail and Outlook email accounts it doesn't cause any problems, but on Yahoo email I had to disable the add-on to use those check boxes.

Tap To Tab 0.3.3
Firefox Quantum 59.0.1 (64 bit)
Windows 8.1 (64 bit)

Return to Extension/Theme Releases


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests