MozillaZine

[EXT] Forecastfox (fix version)

Announce and Discuss the Latest Theme and Extension Releases.
13wolfblake37
 
Posts: 7
Joined: March 18th, 2017, 8:54 pm

Post Posted March 20th, 2017, 6:35 am

Use Tracking Protection is set to always and the Block List is set to strict and I can still change locations! It looks like everything is working fine.

pag77
 
Posts: 1133
Joined: December 26th, 2013, 10:46 pm

Post Posted March 20th, 2017, 7:10 am

ok, thank you!

iammike
 
Posts: 12
Joined: April 28th, 2012, 12:27 am
Location: SE-Asia

Post Posted March 21st, 2017, 11:53 pm

Using version 2.4.8

Since this morning I get a Connection Error and I also can't search for any Locations.

Nothing has changed on my PC, no add-ons updated or added.

Any clues ?

Edit1 : Created an Empty (NEW) FF Profile. Installed FFfox(fix) and when searching for locations I got one time this error message

An error has occurred while looking up your location on Google Maps. Please try again.


I have tried many World CIties, Like Paris, Amsterdam etc etc but NO GO.

Edit 2: Disabled Firewall, but same error mesage "Connection Error". When I hover the mouse over the error message I get this
"There was a problem connection to the weather service"


Edit 3: Problem Solved, there was maintenance going on at the AccuWeather site ](*,)
Last edited by iammike on March 22nd, 2017, 1:31 am, edited 1 time in total.

pag77
 
Posts: 1133
Joined: December 26th, 2013, 10:46 pm

Post Posted Yesterday, 12:46 am

Please try open: https://www.accuweather.com/
everything is fine?

I see this:
Image

pag77
 
Posts: 1133
Joined: December 26th, 2013, 10:46 pm

Post Posted Yesterday, 12:51 am

Now it seems all right.
Apparently these were some temporary problems on the server accuweather.com

anon42
 
Posts: 279
Joined: December 1st, 2005, 12:07 am

Post Posted Yesterday, 12:58 am

Tonight I started seeing "Connection Error" next to the Forcastfox (2.4.8) icons (San Jose Ca.). I didn't think too much of it since it's probably due to something changed on Accuweather again and that it either might clear up by the next day or someone else might report it and maybe Forcastfox needs to be tweaked. With that in mind I didn't intend to post about that right now. But I ran into a separate problem which required me to post anyhow and it has nothing to do with Accuweather. It's Forcastfox's options page.

I haven't had any occasion to visit the Forcastfox's options page for quite some time, probably since I set it up. But I wanted to experiment setting up a new location to see if the connection error I was seeing had anything to do with my specific location. That's when I noticed most of the options page was not displaying correctly.

The Location, Previous Locations were missing information. The icons were missing. All the selected options were not highlighted.

After playing around with a separate copy of my profile (I have 31 addons) I discovered the options page display problem was due to NoScript. To confirm it was just NoScript I took a clean profile, installed only NoScript and Forcastfox, and sure enough the Forcastfox options page was screwed up as described above.

Now it is possible it is NoScript's fault. Or it could be Forcastfox's fault. I don't know. But I figured that since I have to start somewhere, and I had the possible connection error problem that I might have to report, I would start here and I expect you more responsive to possible problems than I'll ever get from NoScript!

Oh, by the way, check my sig below. I'm on a Mac 10.6.7 so what I am seeing is for FF 48.0.2, the last FF I can use with 10.6.

pag77
 
Posts: 1133
Joined: December 26th, 2013, 10:46 pm

Post Posted Yesterday, 1:04 am

I already contacted the NoScript author and we solved all the problems
Please expect to update Forecastfox and NoScript

iammike
 
Posts: 12
Joined: April 28th, 2012, 12:27 am
Location: SE-Asia

Post Posted Yesterday, 1:29 am

Hi @pag77

Yes problem solved. Never thought of looking at the Accuweather site :(

Sorry

anon42
 
Posts: 279
Joined: December 1st, 2005, 12:07 am

Post Posted Yesterday, 1:41 am

The Connection Error did clear itself.

And thanks in advance for the NoScript fix. That was quick! =D>

Return to Extension/Theme Releases


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests