MozillaZine


[Ext] BackTrack Tab History

Announce and Discuss the Latest Theme and Extension Releases.
avada
 
Posts: 1901
Joined: February 10th, 2008, 6:30 am
Location: Hungary

Post Posted November 20th, 2016, 3:33 am

Cool. I'll try it.

avada
 
Posts: 1901
Joined: February 10th, 2008, 6:30 am
Location: Hungary

Post Posted November 21st, 2016, 10:48 am

Uh-oh. Plain middle clicking seems to be broken by 0.13b3.

On the plus side my original example seems to work. On every website.
On gmail neither method (middle or left click) works, for clicking links inside e-mails.

AlexVallat
 
Posts: 90
Joined: September 30th, 2006, 8:53 am

Post Posted November 21st, 2016, 11:53 am

Thanks for reporting this. Just to be clear, when you say it doesn't work in gmail, you mean it doesn't copy the history, not that it's broken navigation entirely?

avada
 
Posts: 1901
Joined: February 10th, 2008, 6:30 am
Location: Hungary

Post Posted November 21st, 2016, 12:02 pm

AlexVallat wrote:Thanks for reporting this. Just to be clear, when you say it doesn't work in gmail, you mean it doesn't copy the history, not that it's broken navigation entirely?

Yes. There's no history for the opened tabs.

After downgrade the functionality is restored for middle click. (Not just on gmail)

AlexVallat
 
Posts: 90
Joined: September 30th, 2006, 8:53 am

Post Posted November 21st, 2016, 12:20 pm

OK, I think I see what's going on. gmail was swallowing the click event so it never reaches me. I've fixed it so that it intercepts click events first rather than last now, should solve the problem:

https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefo ... ons/0.13b4

Thanks

avada
 
Posts: 1901
Joined: February 10th, 2008, 6:30 am
Location: Hungary

Post Posted November 21st, 2016, 1:05 pm

AlexVallat wrote:OK, I think I see what's going on. gmail was swallowing the click event so it never reaches me. I've fixed it so that it intercepts click events first rather than last now, should solve the problem:

https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefo ... ons/0.13b4

Thanks

Hi!

It's better. But you forgot about the part where I said that with middle click it's broken everywhere. :) (meaning no history for the opened tab)
So that's still a regression.

If it works for you, it might be because I'm on mozilla-central (middle clicking works with v0.12 though)

AlexVallat
 
Posts: 90
Joined: September 30th, 2006, 8:53 am

Post Posted November 22nd, 2016, 1:08 am

avada wrote:Hi!

It's better. But you forgot about the part where I said that with middle click it's broken everywhere. :) (meaning no history for the opened tab)
So that's still a regression.

If it works for you, it might be because I'm on mozilla-central (middle clicking works with v0.12 though)

Do you mean Nightly? I've tested it on Nightly (53) and it seems to be working fine with middle clicking on ordinary links. Can you create a clean profile to check if it's a compatibility problem with some other add-on? Are you seeing the "BackTrack:Frame:No parent to copy history from." message in the console? How about Ctrl+Click, or the context menu "Open Link in new tab" commands?

avada
 
Posts: 1901
Joined: February 10th, 2008, 6:30 am
Location: Hungary

Post Posted November 22nd, 2016, 1:38 am

Doesn't happen with new profile.
This is all I get when middle clicking on your name and waiting for the page to load in the background:
Code: Select all
unsafe/forbidden CPOW usage  flashgotService.js:1383:4
unsafe/forbidden CPOW usage  RemoteAddonsParent.jsm:872:2
GET
http://forums.mozillazine.org/memberlist.php [HTTP/1.1 200 OK 671 ms]
Use of nsIFile in content process is deprecated.  loader.js:244:15
GET
http://forums.mozillazine.org/styles/prosilver/template/styleswitcher.js [HTTP/1.1 200 OK 0 ms]
GET
http://forums.mozillazine.org/styles/prosilver/template/forum_fn.js [HTTP/1.1 200 OK 0 ms]
GET
http://forums.mozillazine.org/styles/prosilver/theme/print.css [HTTP/1.1 200 OK 0 ms]
GET
http://forums.mozillazine.org/static/forums/style/static_phpbb_style_php.css [HTTP/1.1 200 OK 0 ms]
GET
http://forums.mozillazine.org/styles/prosilver/theme/normal.css [HTTP/1.1 200 OK 0 ms]
GET
http://forums.mozillazine.org/static/forums/style/board.css [HTTP/1.1 200 OK 0 ms]
GET
http://forums.mozillazine.org/static/common/images/title2.gif [HTTP/1.1 200 OK 0 ms]
GET
http://forums.mozillazine.org/static/common/images/navHeader.gif [HTTP/1.1 200 OK 0 ms]
unsafe/forbidden CPOW usage  bootstrap.js:2801
GET
http://forums.mozillazine.org/styles/prosilver/theme/medium.css [HTTP/1.1 200 OK 0 ms]
GET
http://forums.mozillazine.org/styles/prosilver/theme/large.css [HTTP/1.1 200 OK 0 ms]
unsafe/forbidden CPOW usage  RemoteAddonsParent.jsm:872:2
GET
http://forums.mozillazine.org/styles/prosilver/theme/images/corners_left.png [HTTP/1.1 200 OK 0 ms]
GET
http://forums.mozillazine.org/styles/prosilver/theme/images/corners_right.png [HTTP/1.1 200 OK 0 ms]
GET
http://forums.mozillazine.org/styles/prosilver/theme/images/icon_home.gif [HTTP/1.1 200 OK 0 ms]
GET
http://forums.mozillazine.org/styles/prosilver/theme/images/icon_fontsize.gif [HTTP/1.1 200 OK 0 ms]
GET
http://forums.mozillazine.org/styles/prosilver/theme/images/icon_textbox_search.gif [HTTP/1.1 200 OK 0 ms]
unsafe/forbidden CPOW usage  RemoteAddonsParent.jsm:872:2
BackTrack:Frame:No parent to copy history from. Last parent seen NaN ms ago
unsafe/forbidden CPOW usage  flashgotService.js:1383:4


Edit:
Context menu, ctrl+click is equally broken.
Last edited by avada on November 22nd, 2016, 1:52 am, edited 1 time in total.

AlexVallat
 
Posts: 90
Joined: September 30th, 2006, 8:53 am

Post Posted November 22nd, 2016, 1:47 am

avada wrote:Doesn't happen with new profile.
This is all I get when middle clicking on your name and waiting for the page to load in the background:

OK, so it's not detecting the click, and it's quite likely to be an interaction with another addon. I'll do some testing with Flashgot (the only one I can see from the log) - any others you think might be likely culprits?

avada
 
Posts: 1901
Joined: February 10th, 2008, 6:30 am
Location: Hungary

Post Posted November 22nd, 2016, 1:54 am

AlexVallat wrote:
avada wrote:Doesn't happen with new profile.
This is all I get when middle clicking on your name and waiting for the page to load in the background:

OK, so it's not detecting the click, and it's quite likely to be an interaction with another addon. I'll do some testing with Flashgot (the only one I can see from the log) - any others you think might be likely culprits?

For tab opening I can only think of Tab Mix Plus (v0.5.0.2pre.161109a1).

avada
 
Posts: 1901
Joined: February 10th, 2008, 6:30 am
Location: Hungary

Post Posted November 22nd, 2016, 2:13 am

No joy without flashgot. Doesn't seem like there's a conflict

Nor with Tab Mix Plus, Complete Youtube Saver, Location Bar Enhancer. (The last two also appeared in the console before backtrack error)
Maybe you changes ar not compatible with multi process mode, or multiple content processes within it?

avada
 
Posts: 1901
Joined: February 10th, 2008, 6:30 am
Location: Hungary

Post Posted November 22nd, 2016, 2:59 am

avada wrote:Maybe you changes ar not compatible with multi process mode, or multiple content processes within it?


It looks like this is the case!
When I increase as long as the number of content processes reach the limit. After which the functionality is restored. So unlike v0.12, v0.13 is not compatible with multiple content processes.

AlexVallat
 
Posts: 90
Joined: September 30th, 2006, 8:53 am

Post Posted November 22nd, 2016, 12:19 pm

avada wrote:
avada wrote:Maybe you changes ar not compatible with multi process mode, or multiple content processes within it?


It looks like this is the case!
When I increase as long as the number of content processes reach the limit. After which the functionality is restored. So unlike v0.12, v0.13 is not compatible with multiple content processes.


Yes, well spotted! I adjusted the dom.ipc.processCount value to 4 and reproduced it easily. Not being able to share state across frame scripts makes things really tricky - I'll have to send messages back to the chrome script to act as a common data store. Oh well, that's progress for you, I guess. Or process, at least...

Please give b5 a go. It's quite a large refactoring change to do this, so I may have broken something else inadvertently.

https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefo ... ons/0.13b5

Thanks,

Alex

avada
 
Posts: 1901
Joined: February 10th, 2008, 6:30 am
Location: Hungary

Post Posted November 22nd, 2016, 2:23 pm

AlexVallat wrote:Yes, well spotted! I adjusted the dom.ipc.processCount value to 4 and reproduced it easily. Not being able to share state across frame scripts makes things really tricky - I'll have to send messages back to the chrome script to act as a common data store. Oh well, that's progress for you, I guess. Or process, at least...

Please give b5 a go. It's quite a large refactoring change to do this, so I may have broken something else inadvertently.

https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefo ... ons/0.13b5

Thanks,

Alex

It still doesn't seem to be working for me at all when middle (or ctrl) clicking. Isn't possible to use the old v0.12 way for middle clicking and such? (Which works) And the new way only with left click?

AlexVallat
 
Posts: 90
Joined: September 30th, 2006, 8:53 am

Post Posted November 22nd, 2016, 3:18 pm

avada wrote:It still doesn't seem to be working for me at all when middle (or ctrl) clicking. Isn't possible to use the old v0.12 way for middle clicking and such? (Which works) And the new way only with left click?

Huh, that's disappointing. Was there anything in the log this time? I'm afraid it is not possible to use the old method mixed with the new, and chances are it would stop working soon enough anyway. I don't know why middle clicking results in a new content process when left clicking a link that opens a new tab does not, but I don't think that is behaviour that can be relied on. I have to assume that no frame script can share data with any other (even if at present they sometimes do).

Return to Extension/Theme Releases


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest