MozillaZine

[EXT] S3.Translator

Announce and Discuss the Latest Theme and Extension Releases.
pipinek
 
Posts: 9
Joined: November 24th, 2007, 10:57 am

Post Posted February 6th, 2016, 2:06 pm

Thank you but I am afraid it does not work. I have done exactly as described in your instruction.
The shadow is still there:
http://screenshot.net/31ro2br.jpg

Should any other Firefox plugins block the access to to the source code? I mean Ghostery, AdBlock, NoScript, etc?

How about creating a custom theme, ie custom icons, flying-window border, shadow?

Thank you in advance

PS
Cannot find chrome://s3gt/skin/s3gt_tooltip.css.
I am using Firefox on Win 7 Pro 64bit.
Last edited by pipinek on February 6th, 2016, 2:11 pm, edited 1 time in total.

pag77
 
Posts: 1640
Joined: December 26th, 2013, 10:46 pm

Post Posted February 7th, 2016, 2:04 am

pipinek wrote:Thank you but I am afraid it does not work.


you're doing as I wrote?
before:
Image

  • create text file with this text:
    Code: Select all
    .s3gt_translate_tooltip_mini {
       box-shadow: none;
    }
    .s3gt_translate_tooltip_mini:hover {
       box-shadow: none;
    }

  • save file
  • open flying-window, click button "settings", choise "Theme-Custom file"
  • select your file

done! shadow is disabled.
Image

pipinek wrote:Cannot find chrome://s3gt/skin/s3gt_tooltip.css

copy-paste this link to address-bar
or see here:
https://addons.mozilla.org/en-us/firefox/files/browse/376615/file/chrome/skin/s3gt_tooltip.css

pipinek
 
Posts: 9
Joined: November 24th, 2007, 10:57 am

Post Posted February 7th, 2016, 12:39 pm

Hullo,

Thank you it has worked on the other machine exactly as you indicated.

I would appreciate if you could furnish me with some info on changing icons. I presume I have to created them on a local drive and within the same text file point to them. Could you show me some examples of linking them via css?

One more thing - I cannot find a CSS entry to target a fly-window box. Here I would like to get rid of of a shadow as well.

Huge thanks.

PS
I have already managed to make some cleaning.
I was wondering whether (if yes how) I could hide the the logo and a piece of text : Google Translator in the fly-window top bar. It makes a focus on the translated text rather pretty distracted.
Image

pag77
 
Posts: 1640
Joined: December 26th, 2013, 10:46 pm

Post Posted February 8th, 2016, 6:37 am

pipinek wrote:I would appreciate if you could furnish me with some info on changing icons. I presume I have to created them on a local drive and within the same text file point to them. Could you show me some examples of linking them via css?

Code: Select all
#s3gt_translate_tooltip_mini_logo {
   background: url(chrome://s3gt/skin/s3gt-tooltip-mini-logo-blur.png) center no-repeat;
   background-size: contain;
   cursor: pointer;
}
#s3gt_translate_tooltip_mini_logo:hover {
   background: url(chrome://s3gt/skin/s3gt-tooltip-mini-logo.png) center no-repeat;
   background-size: contain;
}
#s3gt_translate_tooltip_mini_logo_plus {
   background: url(chrome://s3gt/skin/s3gt-tooltip-mini-logo-plus-blur.png) center no-repeat;
   background-size: contain;
   cursor: pointer;
}
#s3gt_translate_tooltip_mini_logo_plus:hover {
   background: url(chrome://s3gt/skin/s3gt-tooltip-mini-logo-plus.png) center no-repeat;
   background-size: contain;
}
#s3gt_translate_tooltip_mini_sound {
   background: url(chrome://s3gt/skin/s3gt-tooltip-mini-sound-blur.png) center no-repeat;
   background-size: contain;
   cursor: pointer;
}
#s3gt_translate_tooltip_mini_sound:hover {
   background: url(chrome://s3gt/skin/s3gt-tooltip-mini-sound.png) center no-repeat;
   background-size: contain;
}
#s3gt_translate_tooltip_mini_sound[is_sound_off="true"] {
   background: url(chrome://s3gt/skin/s3gt-tooltip-mini-sound-off-blur.png) center no-repeat;
   background-size: contain;
   cursor: pointer;
}
#s3gt_translate_tooltip_mini_sound[is_sound_off="true"]:hover {
   background: url(chrome://s3gt/skin/s3gt-tooltip-mini-sound-off.png) center no-repeat;
   background-size: contain;
}
#s3gt_translate_tooltip_mini_copy {
   background: url(chrome://s3gt/skin/s3gt-tooltip-mini-copy-blur.png) center no-repeat;
   background-size: contain;
   cursor: pointer;
}
#s3gt_translate_tooltip_mini_copy:hover {
   background: url(chrome://s3gt/skin/s3gt-tooltip-mini-copy.png) center no-repeat;
   background-size: contain;
}


example, change logo:
before:
Image

set style:
Code: Select all
#s3gt_translate_tooltip_mini_logo {
   background: url(https://addons.cdn.mozilla.net/static/img/app-icons/med/firefox.png) center no-repeat;
   background-size: contain;
}
#s3gt_translate_tooltip_mini_logo:hover {
   background: url(https://addons.cdn.mozilla.net/static/img/app-icons/med/firefox.png) center no-repeat;
   background-size: contain;
}


after:
Image

pipinek wrote:One more thing - I cannot find a CSS entry to target a fly-window box. Here I would like to get rid of of a shadow as well.

Code: Select all
.s3gt_translate_tooltip:not([is_mini='true']) {
   box-shadow: none;
}


pipinek wrote:I was wondering whether (if yes how) I could hide the the logo and a piece of text : Google Translator in the fly-window top bar. It makes a focus on the translated text rather pretty distracted


Code: Select all
#s3gt_translate_tooltip_head_logo {
   display: none;
}
#s3gt_translate_tooltip_name {
   padding-left: 3px;
}


PS:
Its your comment?
https://addons.mozilla.org/addon/s3google-translator/reviews/778264/
please change stars...

pipinek
 
Posts: 9
Joined: November 24th, 2007, 10:57 am

Post Posted February 8th, 2016, 11:56 am

I do thank you very much for your kind assistance. It is greatly appreciated.

Best regards.

pipinek
 
Posts: 9
Joined: November 24th, 2007, 10:57 am

Post Posted February 8th, 2016, 12:05 pm

I do thank you very much for your kind assistance. It is greatly appreciated.


There is some tiny issue though. I have applied the code:
#s3gt_translate_tooltip_head_logo {
display: none;
}
#s3gt_translate_tooltip_name {
padding-left: 3px;
}

The logo has gone but the text (in fact this is a distracting part) 3S Google Translator stays in the corner.

Would you mind, please be so kind to furnish me with the method to get rid of it.
I will be thankful.

Thank you in advance.

PS1
Stars have been already changed. Alas there are only five of them :(

PS2

Please ignore above. I have just applied the following and the text has gone:

Code: Select all
#s3gt_translate_tooltip_name {
   display: none;
}

pag77
 
Posts: 1640
Joined: December 26th, 2013, 10:46 pm

Post Posted February 8th, 2016, 11:51 pm

Thank you for the good news - I'm glad that you learned how to do it yourself :)
Also thank you for your new comment in AMO!

pag77
 
Posts: 1640
Joined: December 26th, 2013, 10:46 pm

Post Posted February 12th, 2016, 6:26 am

version 5.18 is released
https://addons.mozilla.org/addon/s3google-translator/

changes:
fixed: Alert notification box for Firefox 44+

added: Save/Load/Restore Settings
added: button "delete the source text" in bottom panel
updated: Slovenian locale (thanks Peter Klofutar)
fixed: position translate-buttons after a text selection
fixed: minor bug fixes

added: small support for Advertisements - activated only with user agreement!
The ads are added only to the http pages!
for Enable/Disable: S3.Google Translator : Settings : Advertisement

anon42
 
Posts: 303
Joined: December 1st, 2005, 12:07 am

Post Posted February 23rd, 2016, 1:00 pm

Request for additional contextual menu function:

Replace selection with translation (or some similar wording).

It would be nice if S3.Google Translator had a "replace selection" in addition to its "Translate selected text" just like Google Translator for Firefox. Here's the description of Google Translator for Firefox. The emphasis is mine.

With this addon you can translate any text to your own language with one click or hot-key. You can either translate the selected text, this way the translated text will overwrite the original selected text, or you can translate the full page too.

In other words I can highlight a selection and then with with its "Translate selection with Google Translate" contextual menu item the highlighted text will be replaced with the translation. S3.Google Translator translations either appear in a separate panel - either in a "flying window" or at bottom. These both have their uses. There's nothing wrong with those. But most of the time for selections I find replacing the selection with the translation more useful since the translated text is now always showing on the page and the page is not cluttered up with additional panels or I loose the translation when I click to dismiss the panels.

Most (99%) of the time I find myself using Google Translator for Firefox's to handle selections and S3.Google Translator for entire pages since Google Translator for Firefox doesn't seem to handle entire pages very well.

pag77
 
Posts: 1640
Joined: December 26th, 2013, 10:46 pm

Post Posted February 23rd, 2016, 1:09 pm

I add your suggestion in work plan :)

anon42
 
Posts: 303
Joined: December 1st, 2005, 12:07 am

Post Posted February 23rd, 2016, 1:20 pm

pag77 wrote:I add your suggestion in work plan :)

Thank you. I guess that's better than "thank you for your suggestion" that you replied when I first suggested this (9 Sept 2015). :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

pag77
 
Posts: 1640
Joined: December 26th, 2013, 10:46 pm

Post Posted February 23rd, 2016, 1:46 pm

may be :mrgreen:

mozillauser8564
 
Posts: 6
Joined: February 26th, 2016, 12:13 pm

Post Posted February 26th, 2016, 12:17 pm

I like the tool and have donated, but there is one thing I am confused how to do.

I only want to translate German. But sometimes when I highlight a word or sentence (example "bin") it auto-recognizes the word as English when it is a German word also.

How can I set the tool to only translate German not matter what and to turn off auto-recognizing. Thanks.

pag77
 
Posts: 1640
Joined: December 26th, 2013, 10:46 pm

Post Posted February 27th, 2016, 8:04 am

mozillauser8564 wrote:I only want to translate German. But sometimes when I highlight a word or sentence (example "bin") it auto-recognizes the word as English when it is a German word also.
How can I set the tool to only translate German not matter what and to turn off auto-recognizing. Thanks.


Set checkbox "Remember":
Image

mozillauser8564
 
Posts: 6
Joined: February 26th, 2016, 12:13 pm

Post Posted February 27th, 2016, 9:46 am

Thanks, I think it is working now.

On Google Translate I can click on the translated word and it will give me a list of one or more translations that are relevant since sometimes the translation isn't accurate for the context.

Is there an option to do this on S3.Google Translator since it is using Google api?

Image

Return to Extension/Theme Releases


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests