MozillaZine

[EXT] S3.Translator

Announce and Discuss the Latest Theme and Extension Releases.
franckydiam
 
Posts: 2
Joined: December 16th, 2015, 2:47 pm

Post Posted December 17th, 2015, 7:04 am

Version 5.16 OK, thank ;-)

lucap
 
Posts: 3
Joined: December 16th, 2015, 3:10 pm

Post Posted December 17th, 2015, 7:08 am

working now
thanks!

pag77
 
Posts: 1639
Joined: December 26th, 2013, 10:46 pm

Post Posted December 17th, 2015, 7:19 am

good :)

dark_hawk
 
Posts: 35
Joined: July 15th, 2007, 5:44 pm

Post Posted December 17th, 2015, 4:51 pm

Is there a way to separate the language used in the translation window and language used in translating the whole page?

Sometime I need to translate words from Chinese for example in the window, but I always want the whole page translation to be in English.

Thanks.

pag77
 
Posts: 1639
Joined: December 26th, 2013, 10:46 pm

Post Posted December 17th, 2015, 11:54 pm

you can turn the top panel and activate the translation of the page from there

happysurf

User avatar
 
Posts: 351
Joined: January 20th, 2011, 3:14 am

Post Posted December 17th, 2015, 11:56 pm

Thank you very much pag77, good work.
Surf the Internet is a dirty job but someone has to do it.

dark_hawk
 
Posts: 35
Joined: July 15th, 2007, 5:44 pm

Post Posted December 18th, 2015, 8:10 pm

pag77 wrote:you can turn the top panel and activate the translation of the page from there


If you mean the toolbar, I like my Firefox minimal. If you mean the top panel which appears when the page is translated. Sometimes it's in Chinese and I can't find English.
It would be great if you added an option for selecting a language for whole page translation separate from the word translation.

Thank you.

pag77
 
Posts: 1639
Joined: December 26th, 2013, 10:46 pm

Post Posted December 19th, 2015, 12:27 am

dark_hawk wrote:It would be great if you added an option for selecting a language for whole page translation separate from the word translation.

ok, I added this suggestion in work plan

dark_hawk
 
Posts: 35
Joined: July 15th, 2007, 5:44 pm

Post Posted December 19th, 2015, 1:28 am

pag77 wrote:
dark_hawk wrote:It would be great if you added an option for selecting a language for whole page translation separate from the word translation.

ok, I added this suggestion in work plan


Thank you.

pintassilgo
 
Posts: 167
Joined: August 30th, 2013, 3:50 pm

Post Posted January 9th, 2016, 12:38 pm

The positioning of icons should consider the visible area of the page. If I scroll the page a little, then select something on the top of visible area, the icon will be hidden, I need to scroll up to find it. In this cases, the icon should be displayed below the cursor.

Thanks.

pag77
 
Posts: 1639
Joined: December 26th, 2013, 10:46 pm

Post Posted January 9th, 2016, 1:27 pm

pintassilgo wrote:The positioning of icons should consider the visible area of the page. If I scroll the page a little, then select something on the top of visible area, the icon will be hidden, I need to scroll up to find it. In this cases, the icon should be displayed below the cursor.

thank you for your bug report!

froodman
 
Posts: 1
Joined: January 22nd, 2016, 9:07 am

Post Posted January 22nd, 2016, 9:22 am

Greetings!

I have downloaded and tried your S3 translator extension on Firefox. However, I am concerned about data privacy of translated language behind password-protected sites, or https sites.

Sure, the content is passed to Google's servers to be translated and that part is my decision to send that content to Google. However, my concern is more about leakage of data outside of the channel between my browser and Google's servers, in other words, via the extension itself.

If you have already explained it somewhere, I'm happy to read it up if you can provide a link. If not, can you please explain how you handle data privacy? (is there some standard enforced/reviewed by Mozilla?)

Thanks!
frood

pag77
 
Posts: 1639
Joined: December 26th, 2013, 10:46 pm

Post Posted January 22nd, 2016, 9:38 am

Addon does not transmit data without the user's knowledge.
Only the user initiates the transmission of the text (translate selected text, translate entered words, translate page) to the Google-server.
Privacy Policy and security related answers can be found on Google's privacy & terms page: https://www.google.com/policies/privacy/

pipinek
 
Posts: 9
Joined: November 24th, 2007, 10:57 am

Post Posted February 6th, 2016, 12:58 am

Greetings,

I have just learnt that it is possible to apply a custom theme to the plugin. This is really great idea!
I would appreciate any guidance to make custom buttons or even more (ie custom window border, no shadow, etc)

Thank you in advance.

PS
Have just found a code to disable shadow, but it does not work at all. I have purged Firefox cache.
Should Firefox implement the original file with a custom css code or a new custom css file is created?


for disabling shadow:
1. create new text-file
2. paste in file:

Code: Select all
.s3gt_translate_tooltip_mini {
box-shadow: none;
}
.s3gt_translate_tooltip_mini:hover {
box-shadow: none;
}


3. save file
4. open flying-window, click button "settings", choise "Theme-Custom file"
5. select your file
6. done! shadow is disabled.


Where can I find a full/original css styles file to edit it?

pag77
 
Posts: 1639
Joined: December 26th, 2013, 10:46 pm

Post Posted February 6th, 2016, 1:22 am

All styles in this file:
chrome://s3gt/skin/s3gt_tooltip.css

You need to create a text file in which will be only the differences
Example: disable shadow in mini-button:
Code: Select all
.s3gt_translate_tooltip_mini {
   box-shadow: none;
}
.s3gt_translate_tooltip_mini:hover {
   box-shadow: none;
}


After create file:

    open settings in FlyWindow
  • Image
  • Theme - Custom File
  • Select your file

Return to Extension/Theme Releases


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests