MozillaZine

[EXT] S3.Translator

Announce and Discuss the Latest Theme and Extension Releases.
Condor06
 
Posts: 6
Joined: October 31st, 2017, 7:23 am

Post Posted November 8th, 2017, 6:11 am

pag77 wrote:permanent translation of any selected text - it will be very inconvenient
the user will suffer for would constantly turn on / off this option in the settings.


I agree in some way, but that will be absolutely optional - user would use it only if he want, it's not harmful in any case, but can be very useful in some situations and for some users like me (for example, I using it only for small number of words, and when reading I want to have fast way to see translation for specific word).
But agree with you that its not to much useful for the most users... :(

pag77 wrote:but I have a more flexible solution:
open fly-window (or bottom panel) and set "instant translation of selected text"
While the translation window is open and this option is activated - there will always be instant translation for any selected text


Yeah, this can be alternative solution, the only problem is that fly-window always covering one part of the screen (but not so big deal).

In any case, thank you very much, your work is great - keep on...

pag77
 
Posts: 1378
Joined: December 26th, 2013, 10:46 pm

Post Posted November 8th, 2017, 6:33 am

Condor06 wrote:when reading I want to have fast way to see translation for specific word

Settings - Translate text - Single word - Translate word, with a long press on the left mouse button

Condor06
 
Posts: 6
Joined: October 31st, 2017, 7:23 am

Post Posted November 9th, 2017, 2:53 am

Thanks, pag77.

Off-topic: Is there somewhere link for donations, just to say thank you? ;)
EDIT: Found, you have my little contribution for your work, thank you.

pag77
 
Posts: 1378
Joined: December 26th, 2013, 10:46 pm

Post Posted November 9th, 2017, 3:00 am

Condor06 wrote:Off-topic: Is there somewhere link for donations, just to say thank you? ;)

Image
but you do not necessarily to pay.
just tell me "thank you" and tell about my addons to your friends :)
https://addons.mozilla.org/user/senselius/

Condor06
 
Posts: 6
Joined: October 31st, 2017, 7:23 am

Post Posted November 10th, 2017, 2:39 am

Of course, do not worry, your work deserves that. ;)
Already found donation option and sent little contribution, thanks.

pag77
 
Posts: 1378
Joined: December 26th, 2013, 10:46 pm

Post Posted November 10th, 2017, 2:43 am

Condor06 wrote:Of course, do not worry, your work deserves that. ;)
Already found donation option and sent little contribution, thanks.

Thank you! :)

Thomas.Weber
 
Posts: 25
Joined: April 24th, 2005, 12:46 pm

Post Posted November 10th, 2017, 3:09 pm

in firefox 52 ESR the "play" and "copy to clipboard" buttons (after selecting some text) do not seem to work, nothing happens. unless there's something wrong with my settings.
but in the settings the sample text plays fine.

in firefox 57 both work fine.

not a big deal for me personally... i can always switch back to v5.xx


/edit: strange... now playing works suddenly. maybe because i let "speech" text through the context menu. copy to clipboard still does nothing.

pag77
 
Posts: 1378
Joined: December 26th, 2013, 10:46 pm

Post Posted November 14th, 2017, 6:00 am

version 6.6
Mozilla Firefox: https://addons.mozilla.org/addon/s3google-translator/
Google Chrome: https://chrome.google.com/webstore/detail/s3translator/debnnjfbneojbmioajinefnflopdohjk

changes:
added: Portuguese BR locale (thanks JDMs)
updated: Spanish locale (thanks Roxxz)
fixed: minor bug fixes

MPC-BE
 
Posts: 2
Joined: November 14th, 2017, 8:15 am

Post Posted November 14th, 2017, 8:26 am

Hi, thank for your work! I have a trouble, with new version of firefox the automatic translation it si not working, (but working without ublock and umatrix enables) (sorry for my english)

Thomas.Weber
 
Posts: 25
Joined: April 24th, 2005, 12:46 pm

Post Posted November 14th, 2017, 3:34 pm

Thomas.Weber wrote:in firefox 52 ESR the "play" and "copy to clipboard" buttons (after selecting some text) do not seem to work, nothing happens. unless there's something wrong with my settings.
but in the settings the sample text plays fine.

in firefox 57 both work fine.

not a big deal for me personally... i can always switch back to v5.xx


/edit: strange... now playing works suddenly. maybe because i let "speech" text through the context menu. copy to clipboard still does nothing.

after a restart of the browser, the "play" button stopped working again. also the context menu "play" doesn't do anything right now... i wonder what i did last time to make it work.

/edit: now i tried on some russian site.... and it works there!? also on german sites. on english sites it still doesn't. weird.

cazssiew
 
Posts: 1
Joined: November 14th, 2017, 6:56 pm

Post Posted November 14th, 2017, 7:02 pm

Hi, is there any way to confine the bottom panel to the tab in which it was first opened?

Thanks so much for this amazing extension!

Thomas.Weber
 
Posts: 25
Joined: April 24th, 2005, 12:46 pm

Post Posted November 14th, 2017, 10:39 pm

Thomas.Weber wrote:after a restart of the browser, the "play" button stopped working again. also the context menu "play" doesn't do anything right now... i wonder what i did last time to make it work.

/edit: now i tried on some russian site.... and it works there!? also on german sites. on english sites it still doesn't. weird.

sorry for spamming, but found out it has nothing to do with the language. i use noscript, and when js is disabled on a site, s3.translater doesn't speech.


but "copy to clipboard" never works.

pag77
 
Posts: 1378
Joined: December 26th, 2013, 10:46 pm

Post Posted November 15th, 2017, 12:25 am

MPC-BE wrote:but working without ublock and umatrix enables

please try add in "ublock, etc.." in white list: translate.google.com

cazssiew wrote:Hi, is there any way to confine the bottom panel to the tab in which it was first opened?

please wait future versions

Thomas.Weber wrote:i use noscript, and when js is disabled on a site, s3.translater doesn't speech.

please try add in "noscript, etc.." in white list: translate.google.com

Thomas.Weber wrote:but "copy to clipboard" never works.

this feature not avialable in WebExtensions API for Firefox52

Thomas.Weber
 
Posts: 25
Joined: April 24th, 2005, 12:46 pm

Post Posted November 15th, 2017, 5:09 am

please try add in "noscript, etc.." in white list: translate.google.com

that doesn't help, i need to allow the current domain, here forums.mozillazine.org

this feature not avialable in WebExtensions API for Firefox52

ah ok, thanks.

pag77
 
Posts: 1378
Joined: December 26th, 2013, 10:46 pm

Post Posted November 15th, 2017, 5:17 am

Thomas.Weber wrote:
please try add in "noscript, etc.." in white list: translate.google.com

that doesn't help, i need to allow the current domain, here forums.mozillazine.org


Try: NoScript - Settings - Disable XSS

Return to Extension/Theme Releases


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 5 guests