MozillaZine

[Ext] Classic Theme Restorer (Fx 29-56)

Announce and Discuss the Latest Theme and Extension Releases.
FineWine

User avatar
 
Posts: 184
Joined: July 16th, 2004, 12:21 am

Post Posted November 17th, 2017, 4:26 pm

Aris wrote:I don't think it ever was about prettier here or prettier there. It was mostly about forcing a change, any change actually for the sake of being a change. Let another 30 Firefox versions pass and we get curved forced on us tabs again.
----
In my opinion appearance should also serve usability and the issue with Australis tabs (and Google Chromes tabs) is the same, they are both wasting too much space and suffer from aliasing in edge/curve areas.
Instead of reserving 60px for the width of a stupid curve, tabs could display more text or tabs toolbar more tabs. In both cases the user would gain something instead of looking on a useless space.
Same applies for the dumb and ugly new AMO design, way too much useless space. That site looks like it was made in the 90s by a child, but I remember seeing more though-out page designs even back then.

Mudder wrote:The only thing needed to make the experience 'perfect' for me would be moving the tabs below the nav/search bar, right now they're in the middle between that and the menu bar on top. I'd post a screen shot but tinypic is giving me troubles and I'm about to abandon that for the other. I remember some discussion earlier on moving the tabs but can't seem to find the posts. Has Aris figured this out?
Can some one point me to the previous discussion on this, PLEASE, then I'll try to tackle userChrome.css on the weekend. I like to tinker but in the past it wasn't necessary for me to fiddle with css.
Thanks in advance.

This I would love to have. I've never seen the point of having the tabs anywhere but below the Bookmark bar/Address bar and just above the site page. From a geographical point well there is no point having them that far away. On top was change for change sake - YUK. Function + Form NOT Function + Different for the sake of Different. Has Steve Jobs & Jony Ive not taught program designers anything.

And as far as listening to their (Mozilla) user base well they need a cochlear implant because they are not hearing let alone listening. Yes security + speed are essential in todays browsers but so is form and function and one of the great beauties of <FF56 was that you could change & adapt it to the way you wanted it but allowing FF to retain security & speed.

Come on Mozilla let us the User Base decide how we want our browser to look.

OK rant over - thanks

Mudder

User avatar
 
Posts: 37
Joined: July 7th, 2013, 4:14 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Post Posted November 17th, 2017, 4:34 pm

Thank you BP, don't fully understand it yet, seems some parts I don't need but will give it a go on Sunday.
Saw the tabs ones as well.

BobbyPhoenix

User avatar
 
Posts: 80
Joined: April 24th, 2014, 5:58 am

Post Posted November 17th, 2017, 4:41 pm

Mudder wrote:Thank you BP, don't fully understand it yet, seems some parts I don't need but will give it a go on Sunday.
Saw the tabs ones as well.


No problem. It's very simple. Don't read into it as a book of code that you need to pick and choose to copy and paste. Three easy steps if you don't have the chrome folder/files in your profile yet. Create the folder "chrome", create the file "userChrome", and then simply copy and paste the entire code from top to bottom. It's that easy. And I mean everything. Put your cursor in from of /*AGENT_SHEET*/, and then copy everything to the bottom /**/. If you want to add other codes just double enter at the end, and paste the next code after that. You can continue to add codes until you have Firefox as you want. If you get stuck, or want quick help, just message me. I mean you can post here, but I know what you're looking for, so I can continue to help until you're comfortable on your own.
Do, or do not. There is no try.

Mudder

User avatar
 
Posts: 37
Joined: July 7th, 2013, 4:14 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Post Posted November 17th, 2017, 4:54 pm

OK, see you Sunday, if I remember, I'm an old dog and as I said, been trying to keep the UI as old fashioned as possible, never cared for Aero, Australius or what's being done on some Linux distros.

EDIT: Had to remove that new extension for FDM, it wasn't integrating into the browser to redirect the download to FDM and this was after installing that annoying user client thing, both the installer and the uninstaller for that are old fashioned .bat - batch files. Then used a utility to make sure registry was clean and no traces were left.
That was a third party product, not associated with FDM.org. As said before, Fx57 is still in its early days but developers had better catch up by next July.

QuipZilla, or its new name I can't recall right now, has a simple checkbox to make it work with an external downloader, which is important if you desire to place different items into their specialised folders. So now, until an extension is written that works, reverting back to the old way. Click on a link location in Real-Debrid or VPN then give the 'add download' button in FDM's main window a tap, then FDM's dialogue box appears and you can run normally from that step. Ditto for bulk d/ls.

mightyglydd

User avatar
 
Posts: 9061
Joined: November 4th, 2006, 7:07 pm
Location: Hollywood Ca.

Post Posted November 17th, 2017, 9:25 pm

Hi Aris, thanks for the .zip file, excellent !
I'm a bit of an amateur at this but trying to learn, is there any way reduce the height of the searchbar and urlbar ?
#KeepFightingMichael

FineWine

User avatar
 
Posts: 184
Joined: July 16th, 2004, 12:21 am

Post Posted November 18th, 2017, 12:40 am

Thank you Aris for ALL your work with CTR over the years - much appreciated.

Using some of your css code in userChrome.css from your github pages I have managed to get FF57 mostly back to pre FF57. Mainly bringing the TABS BELOW NAVIGATION TOOLBAR and then colourising each state of the various tabs.

I have also managed to place border-top lines for #PersonalToolbar & #TabsToolbar I prefer that delineation.

Plus I also have managed to centre the favicons on the Bookmarks bar over the top of the text (I have had this preference for years), with this code:
Code: Select all
/* CENTER BOOKMARK TOOLBAR FAVICONS OVER TEXT */
* #PersonalToolbar toolbarbutton {
  -moz-box-orient: vertical !important;
  margin-top: 5px  !important;
}


What we need is a FF57 version of chromEdit Plus.

Cheers - Thanks

avada
 
Posts: 1749
Joined: February 10th, 2008, 6:30 am
Location: Hungary

Post Posted November 18th, 2017, 3:05 am

FineWine wrote:This I would love to have. I've never seen the point of having the tabs anywhere but below the Bookmark bar/Address bar and just above the site page. From a geographical point well there is no point having them that far away. On top was change for change sake - YUK. Function + Form NOT Function + Different for the sake of Different.

It silly that you pointed this out, because this at least makes a lot of sense. The urlbar content is not global, so having on top makes no sense, because it essetially belongs to the tab, which the newer tabs-on-top design suggests.
Furthermore, from a practical standpoint, if you have the urlbar on top the results cover the tabs, which impairs usability.

FineWine wrote: Has Steve Jobs & Jony Ive not taught program designers anything.

What, like how to create a useless fashion company? How to rip-off their users/buyers with 500%-1000% percent overpriced crap? Or how to be money grubbing businessman?
Nothing else can be learnt from them.

ReggieNJ
 
Posts: 25
Joined: March 21st, 2016, 5:45 am

Post Posted November 18th, 2017, 10:49 am

Using some of your custom CSS code to change the order of the urlbar results I've got basically what I want but now everything seems centered, with gigantic spaces on either side. The same code I'm using worked in 56 but now in 57 I have this. Any idea why or how to fix it?

https://i.imgur.com/4gMC1Y3.png

BobbyPhoenix

User avatar
 
Posts: 80
Joined: April 24th, 2014, 5:58 am

Post Posted November 18th, 2017, 11:07 am

ReggieNJ wrote:Using some of your custom CSS code to change the order of the urlbar results I've got basically what I want but now everything seems centered, with gigantic spaces on either side. The same code I'm using worked in 56 but now in 57 I have this. Any idea why or how to fix it?

https://i.imgur.com/4gMC1Y3.png


Select customize through the menu, and remove/drag away the "spacers". They are there by default on 57. No idea why.
Do, or do not. There is no try.

ReggieNJ
 
Posts: 25
Joined: March 21st, 2016, 5:45 am

Post Posted November 18th, 2017, 11:17 am

I did that to remove the spaces around the urlbar itself in the toolbar. But now the results inside the dropdown box have spaces. That's what I'm trying to get rid of.

BobbyPhoenix

User avatar
 
Posts: 80
Joined: April 24th, 2014, 5:58 am

Post Posted November 18th, 2017, 12:04 pm

ReggieNJ wrote:I did that to remove the spaces around the urlbar itself in the toolbar. But now the results inside the dropdown box have spaces. That's what I'm trying to get rid of.


Oh, OK. I see what you mean now. Not sure what is setting it to that limit.
Do, or do not. There is no try.

micn
 
Posts: 6
Joined: November 7th, 2015, 9:21 pm

Post Posted November 18th, 2017, 6:38 pm

So i current have a Grey location bar(bookmark bar and tab bar)(greyish transparent) I can't find the setting in css file to turn this off (it like a greyish transparent layer over them all.

Aris

User avatar
 
Posts: 3070
Joined: February 27th, 2011, 10:14 am

Post Posted November 18th, 2017, 6:54 pm

mightyglydd wrote:...
I'm a bit of an amateur at this but trying to learn, is there any way reduce the height of the searchbar and urlbar ?


Yes, look for locationbar_reduce_height.css inside userChrome.css

ReggieNJ wrote:Using some of your custom CSS code to change the order of the urlbar results I've got basically what I want but now everything seems centered, with gigantic spaces on either side. The same code I'm using worked in 56 but now in 57 I have this. Any idea why or how to fix it?

https://i.imgur.com/4gMC1Y3.png


None of my scripts do this do location bar autocomplete popup.
Test "ac_popup_url_and_title_50percent_width.css" Its closer to what you are trying to achieve, but does not reduce popup width.


micn wrote:So i current have a Grey location bar(bookmark bar and tab bar)(greyish transparent) I can't find the setting in css file to turn this off (it like a greyish transparent layer over them all.


Are you using latest files from Github?
Are you using a lw-theme?
Does it look different without the files from Github (-> vanilla ui)?
Customize Firefox 57+ UI || Classic Theme Restorer (Fx 29-56) || Classic Toolbar Buttons || CustomizeMyBird

How to use legacy add-ons after Firefox 57 release? Switch to Firefox 52 ESR or move to Waterfox browser or Basilisk browser.

mightyglydd

User avatar
 
Posts: 9061
Joined: November 4th, 2006, 7:07 pm
Location: Hollywood Ca.

Post Posted November 18th, 2017, 7:06 pm

Thanks, found it. :)
#KeepFightingMichael

micn
 
Posts: 6
Joined: November 7th, 2015, 9:21 pm

Post Posted November 18th, 2017, 8:12 pm

Lastest version fix all the issues thanks.

Return to Extension/Theme Releases


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests