MozillaZine

SAVING BOOKMARKS

Talk about Mozilla browsers for small devices such as PDAs and cellphones.
maxlight
 
Posts: 4
Joined: January 12th, 2017, 3:23 pm

Post Posted January 12th, 2017, 4:08 pm

THERE IS NO BOOKMARK STAR.
CAN'T SAVE BOOKMARKS IN FIREFOX FOR ANDROID

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 117969
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted January 12th, 2017, 4:15 pm

Moving to Mobile forum.

Please don't post in all capital letters. On the Internet and forums that's considered shouting.

maxlight
 
Posts: 4
Joined: January 12th, 2017, 3:23 pm

Post Posted January 12th, 2017, 4:28 pm

"DanRaisch" YOU ARE RIGHT I AM SHOUTING CAN'T SAVE A BOOKMARK. NO BOOKMARK STAR NO SAVED BOOKMARK WHAT GOING ON.
THE BOOKMARK STAR MUST BE NEXT TO THE ADDRESS WINDOW JUST LIKE IN THE DESKTOP VERSION11111111

dfoulkes

User avatar
 
Posts: 22143
Joined: June 28th, 2008, 10:31 pm
Location: Mesquite, Nevada

Post Posted January 12th, 2017, 9:36 pm

Geeeeezzzzzz... relax please... the world is not coming to an end...yet :-" there is no star up there... probably to save room... just hit the 3 vertical dots in the upper right side and a icon menu will appear... the star is in there.

Now, for me and others...and probably you... at this time there is no ability to arrange your bookmarks, when you save them they just get entered in the order that you saved them... and I have not found an extension to fix that issue.
As you can see she's (The CAT) always alert and on the prowl for Meoware !!

maxlight
 
Posts: 4
Joined: January 12th, 2017, 3:23 pm

Post Posted January 12th, 2017, 10:19 pm

dfoulkes wrote:Geeeeezzzzzz... relax please... the world is not coming to an end...yet :-" there is no star up there... probably to save room... just hit the 3 vertical dots in the upper right side and a icon menu will appear... the star is in there.

Now, for me and others...and probably you... at this time there is no ability to arrange your bookmarks, when you save them they just get entered in the order that you saved them... and I have not found an extension to fix that issue.
d0foulkes 3 DOTS NO STAR NO STAR.

dfoulkes

User avatar
 
Posts: 22143
Joined: June 28th, 2008, 10:31 pm
Location: Mesquite, Nevada

Post Posted January 13th, 2017, 11:35 am

So, did you hit the 3 dots? ... it opens a dropdown menu and at the top of that menu is a start... also, what hardware do you have the mobile Firefox on... see this doc... do you have any of that menu stuff?

Firefox menu icon is missing on Android - how to access the menu | Firefox for Android Help
As you can see she's (The CAT) always alert and on the prowl for Meoware !!

dfoulkes

User avatar
 
Posts: 22143
Joined: June 28th, 2008, 10:31 pm
Location: Mesquite, Nevada

Post Posted January 14th, 2017, 7:36 pm

In case you want to post a screen-shot... follow the info in this doc.

See: Posting_a_screenshot_on_the_forum.
Posting a screenshot on the forum - MozillaZine Knowledge Base
Use a compressed image format like .png or .jpg and please do not post large images that break the forum layout, use thumbnails instead or only post a link.
If you need a place to host a screenshot... Note the "Uploading for general use" section of the document.
As you can see she's (The CAT) always alert and on the prowl for Meoware !!

maxlight
 
Posts: 4
Joined: January 12th, 2017, 3:23 pm

Post Posted January 14th, 2017, 8:22 pm

dfoulkes wrote:So, did you hit the 3 dots? ... it opens a dropdown menu and at the top of that menu is a start... also, what hardware do you have the mobile Firefox on... see this doc... do you have any of that menu stuff?

Firefox menu icon is missing on Android - how to access the menu | Firefox for Android Help
MAXLIGHT -3 DOTS NO STAR - HERE IS THE SCREENSHOT

Image

dfoulkes

User avatar
 
Posts: 22143
Joined: June 28th, 2008, 10:31 pm
Location: Mesquite, Nevada

Post Posted January 14th, 2017, 9:58 pm

- Have you added any extensions to Firefox? ... but since you can't get into that option I'll assume 'not'.

What hardware are you using? ... what is your screen size?
Where did you get your Firefox from... did it come with your tablet?
Have you checked for updates to it yet?

Please type about:support into your location bar and if you can .... post a screen-shot here.

From what you posted... your should have the star to the left of that share symbol.
As you can see she's (The CAT) always alert and on the prowl for Meoware !!

Bockworscht

User avatar
 
Posts: 159
Joined: May 19th, 2008, 1:57 pm

Post Posted January 15th, 2017, 12:50 am

Hello.
Happy new year to all of you.

The missing bookmark star is a bug on some devices:

https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=1258176

It is already fixed in the latest test versions.

You can add bookmarks by tapping on the place where the star should be, it still works.

dfoulkes

User avatar
 
Posts: 22143
Joined: June 28th, 2008, 10:31 pm
Location: Mesquite, Nevada

Post Posted January 15th, 2017, 11:42 am

I think this is more generally an issue on any mdpi (or ldpi) device

Saw the above in the bug report... I don't know what mdpi or ldpi stands for but I'll assume it's 'kind of' non Google type tablets? or, something like that... My Nexus 7 with Firefox does not have that issue... that's why I asked the OP some of those last questions... glad you pointed to the answer... =D>
As you can see she's (The CAT) always alert and on the prowl for Meoware !!

Bockworscht

User avatar
 
Posts: 159
Joined: May 19th, 2008, 1:57 pm

Post Posted January 15th, 2017, 12:01 pm

Mdpi and Ldpi stands for low dots per inch and medium dots per inch.
That means the relation between screen resolution and screen size.

dfoulkes

User avatar
 
Posts: 22143
Joined: June 28th, 2008, 10:31 pm
Location: Mesquite, Nevada

Post Posted January 15th, 2017, 12:22 pm

So, not so much what type of tablet a user uses then? ... of course ... I suppose if it is a low-end product?
As you can see she's (The CAT) always alert and on the prowl for Meoware !!

Bockworscht

User avatar
 
Posts: 159
Joined: May 19th, 2008, 1:57 pm

Post Posted January 15th, 2017, 12:36 pm

Devices with 7" and 1024*600 are affected, for example. Like the Kindle Fire.

dfoulkes

User avatar
 
Posts: 22143
Joined: June 28th, 2008, 10:31 pm
Location: Mesquite, Nevada

Post Posted January 15th, 2017, 1:19 pm

No issues here with my Nexus 7. So I guess it's a mix and match thing.
As you can see she's (The CAT) always alert and on the prowl for Meoware !!

Return to Mobile


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest