MozillaZine

Upgrading MacBookPro to Mojave 10.14 - effect on SeaMonkey

User Help for Seamonkey and Mozilla Suite
abe-ariel
 
Posts: 142
Joined: November 12th, 2012, 5:54 am

Post Posted June 5th, 2019, 11:09 pm

I am considering upgrading my MacBookPro (OS 9.5.5 late 2013) to Mojave OS 10.14. While this is OK as far as Apple is concerned, I wonder if the new OS will support SeaMonkey. Can anybody please comment on this issue, based on own experience or reliable information? Tks

frg
 
Posts: 764
Joined: December 15th, 2015, 1:20 pm

Post Posted June 6th, 2019, 2:28 am

2.49.4 has known problems. 2.49.5 is in the works and should fix this. Test builds on the new infrastructure are done but some things like uploading the builds to the official location still need to be sorted out.

If you still want to upgrade now you can run the unofficial build:
http://www.wg9s.com/comm-esr/

2.53 is also available. There is one report of 2.53 crashing macOS 10.14.5 but this uses a non standard setup and in any event is probably an apple bug.

abe-ariel
 
Posts: 142
Joined: November 12th, 2012, 5:54 am

Post Posted June 6th, 2019, 7:58 pm

Thank you.
As there's no real urgency in that matter it seems I should wait a while with the upgrading and check again in, say, three months.
By the way, does the keyboard shortcut for changing direction (Left-to-Right and Right-to-Left) work for 2.49.5 and 2.53, or this is gone for ever since 2.40?
Best

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 19914
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted June 7th, 2019, 6:13 am

What is/was the shortcut?
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

Anonymosity
 
Posts: 8567
Joined: May 7th, 2007, 12:07 pm

Post Posted June 7th, 2019, 1:42 pm

abe-ariel wrote:I am considering upgrading my MacBookPro (OS 9.5.5 late 2013) to Mojave OS 10.14. While this is OK as far as Apple is concerned, I wonder if the new OS will support SeaMonkey. Can anybody please comment on this issue, based on own experience or reliable information? Tks

If your Mac is from 2013, how did you come to have OS 9.5 on it? My first Mac was bought in 2006, and it came with OS 10.4.
I cannot say anything about MacOS Mojave, since my 2010 Mac will not support it, so I stopped at OS 10.12. SeaMonkey works with that.

abe-ariel
 
Posts: 142
Joined: November 12th, 2012, 5:54 am

Post Posted June 7th, 2019, 9:59 pm

therube wrote:What is/was the shortcut?



Please remind me how to attach an image and I'll come back with the answer.

LordOfTheBored
 
Posts: 288
Joined: December 7th, 2005, 8:36 pm

Post Posted June 7th, 2019, 10:34 pm

Anonymosity wrote:
abe-ariel wrote:I am considering upgrading my MacBookPro (OS 9.5.5 late 2013) to Mojave OS 10.14. While this is OK as far as Apple is concerned, I wonder if the new OS will support SeaMonkey. Can anybody please comment on this issue, based on own experience or reliable information? Tks

If your Mac is from 2013, how did you come to have OS 9.5 on it? My first Mac was bought in 2006, and it came with OS 10.4.

I'm assuming that was a typo and he meant 10.9.5.

By 2013 Apple had transitioned to making Intel-based "Macs", so only OSX can run on a 2013 Mac due to very fundamental differences in the hardware.
...
Also, Wikipedia says the last release of "classic" MacOS was 9.2.2.

Anonymosity
 
Posts: 8567
Joined: May 7th, 2007, 12:07 pm

Post Posted June 8th, 2019, 12:14 pm

Actually, in 2006, Apple began making Intel Macs, and my first Mac was an Intel Mac. I have never used a PPC (Motorola) Mac.

abe-ariel
 
Posts: 142
Joined: November 12th, 2012, 5:54 am

Post Posted June 8th, 2019, 9:53 pm

Anonymosity wrote:
abe-ariel wrote:I am considering upgrading my MacBookPro (OS 9.5.5 late 2013) to Mojave OS 10.14. While this is OK as far as Apple is concerned, I wonder if the new OS will support SeaMonkey. Can anybody please comment on this issue, based on own experience or reliable information? Tks

If your Mac is from 2013, how did you come to have OS 9.5 on it? My first Mac was bought in 2006, and it came with OS 10.4.
I cannot say anything about MacOS Mojave, since my 2010 Mac will not support it, so I stopped at OS 10.12. SeaMonkey works with that.



Sorry, mea culpa. It should have read OS 10.9.5.
BTW, My first Mac was the "Fat Mac", 1986. It had a 512 KB memory. No HD, of course, only 800K floppies. It cost then, at University of New South Wales (with printer) AUD 5500 after academic discount. Was great machine, I wish I would have kept it. Helped me to be admitted to the degree of PhD two years later. I think I am on my 12th Mac Now, not counting 2 iPads.

abe-ariel
 
Posts: 142
Joined: November 12th, 2012, 5:54 am

Post Posted June 8th, 2019, 10:10 pm

abe-ariel wrote:
Anonymosity wrote:
abe-ariel wrote:I am considering upgrading my MacBookPro (OS 9.5.5 late 2013) to Mojave OS 10.14. While this is OK as far as Apple is concerned, I wonder if the new OS will support SeaMonkey. Can anybody please comment on this issue, based on own experience or reliable information? Tks

If your Mac is from 2013, how did you come to have OS 9.5 on it? My first Mac was bought in 2006, and it came with OS 10.4.
I cannot say anything about MacOS Mojave, since my 2010 Mac will not support it, so I stopped at OS 10.12. SeaMonkey works with that.



Sorry, mea culpa. It should have read OS 10.9.5.
BTW, My first Mac was the "Fat Mac", 1986. It had a 512 KB memory. No HD, of course, only 800K floppies. It cost then, at University of New South Wales (with printer) AUD 5500 after academic discount. Was great machine, I wish I would have kept it. Helped me to be admitted to the degree of PhD two years later. I think I am on my 12th Mac Now, not counting 2 iPads.


I wish to reply to THERUBE supra, Can anybody please help by instructing me how to attach an image to my reply?
Tks.

TPR75
 
Posts: 751
Joined: July 25th, 2011, 8:11 am
Location: Poland

Post Posted June 8th, 2019, 11:19 pm

abe-ariel wrote:I wish to reply to THERUBE supra, Can anybody please help by instructing me how to attach an image to my reply?


FAQ:
faq.php#f3r3
Can I post images?
Yes, images can be shown in your posts. If the administrator has allowed attachments, you may be able to upload the image to the board. Otherwise, you must link to an image stored on a publicly accessible web server, e.g. http://www.example.com/my-picture.gif. You cannot link to pictures stored on your own PC (unless it is a publicly accessible server) nor images stored behind authentication mechanisms, e.g. hotmail or yahoo mailboxes, password protected sites, etc. To display the image use the BBCode [img] tag.


You must find some host service, upload image(-s) there and post URL here using BBCode:
Code: Select all
[img]URL_TO_IMAGE[/img]


Remember that image URL must end with e.g. ".jpg" otherwise BBCode will not recognize it.

https://www.lifewire.com/free-image-hos ... es-3486329

Free hosting usually means they can remove your pics after some time.

If an image is too big then don't use BBCode and just paste URL in your message - it will not break forum (rules/view/mods' mood) and if somebody wants to open it they'll click it.

abe-ariel
 
Posts: 142
Joined: November 12th, 2012, 5:54 am

Post Posted June 9th, 2019, 8:32 pm

Thank you.
Those procedures seem to be very cumbersome indeed. In this particular case I wanted to attach the pic of the Pilcrow signs cum arrows on the horizontal menu bar, indicating switch from Left-to-Right to Right-to-Left. Eventually I have found them in my Character Viewer. Will copy them from there instead of attaching them.

abe-ariel
 
Posts: 142
Joined: November 12th, 2012, 5:54 am

Post Posted June 9th, 2019, 9:05 pm

therube wrote:What is/was the shortcut?


The "shortcut" for changing direction (Left-to-Right and and Right-to-Left) was by clicking on the pilcrow sign (¶ ) cum arrow on the horiziontal menu bar. This was last operative in Ver. 2.40 .
Believing in miracles, my question was: Is it operative with OS 10.14 ?
As I understand this feature is an add-on and at the time it stopped functioning I traced its source to an Israeli guy living in Holland (name forgotten). I spoke to him on the phone several times. He did not know it's gone, but expressed no desire to revive it.
I am bilingual and that “shortcut” is very important to me. Changing direction from the pull-down menu is too cumbersome, hence I am still on 2.40.
I wonder if this matter will be ever fixed.

Tks

Frank Lion

User avatar
 
Posts: 20356
Joined: April 23rd, 2004, 6:59 pm
Location: ... The Exorcist....United Kingdom

Post Posted June 10th, 2019, 1:02 am

abe-ariel wrote:Thank you.
Those procedures seem to be very cumbersome indeed. In this particular case I wanted to attach the pic of the Pilcrow signs cum arrows on the horizontal menu bar, indicating switch from Left-to-Right to Right-to-Left. Eventually I have found them in my Character Viewer. Will copy them from there instead of attaching them.

You just search for any symbols you need in Google, etc. it's not hard - ¶ ¶ ¶ No character viewer required ¶ ¶

....and no, uploading an image in not very cumbersome, people do it all the time.


Image
Metal Lion latest SeaMonkey & Thunderbird Themes - Sea Monkey and Silver Sea Monkey
"The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil, is for good men to do nothing." - Edmund Burke (attrib.)

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 19914
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted June 10th, 2019, 4:36 am

As I understand this feature is an add-on

Oh, so it is an extension - not something native to SeaMonkey.
(And in that case, no screenshot needed.)

So... what is the name of the extension?
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

Return to SeaMonkey Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests