MozillaZine

Instagram no pictures or video solution , XP , SM 2.49.4

User Help for Seamonkey and Mozilla Suite
rereser
 
Posts: 25
Joined: June 21st, 2018, 1:35 am

Post Posted June 2nd, 2019, 5:01 am

Instagram no pictures or video solution , XP , SM 2.49.4

no pictures solution.
about:config
general.useragent.override
or just general.useragent.override.instagram.com
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 10.0; Win64; x64; rv:67.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/67.0 does not work on instagram.
no pictures are shown , just a gray page with a center icon.
with this:
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 10.0) AppleWebKit/537.36 (KHTML, like Gecko) Chrome/64.0.3282.140 Safari/537.36 Edge/17.17134 it works.
restart browser and pictures are back.

no video solution.
close browser.
find or create the file userContent.css in your profile / chrome folder.
add this.

@-moz-document domain(instagram.com) {
div.ZyFrc[role="dialog"] { display: block !important; }
}

save file.
credit for the css code to member mixit and mathwiz on the msfn board

still no video ... see this post.
viewtopic.php?f=40&t=3040639
Last edited by rereser on June 28th, 2019, 9:56 am, edited 8 times in total.

Frank Lion

User avatar
 
Posts: 20475
Joined: April 23rd, 2004, 6:59 pm
Location: ... The Exorcist....United Kingdom

Post Posted June 2nd, 2019, 12:20 pm

Your code is not showing the right number of curly braces and should look like this instead =

Code: Select all
@-moz-document domain("www.instagram.com")
{ .OAXCp { padding-bottom: 350px !important; } }
Metal Lion latest SeaMonkey & Thunderbird Themes - Sea Monkey and Silver Sea Monkey
"The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil, is for good men to do nothing." - Edmund Burke (attrib.)

Psychonaut

User avatar
 
Posts: 81
Joined: April 7th, 2008, 3:56 am
Location: Vienna

Post Posted June 3rd, 2019, 4:31 am

Frank Lion wrote:Your code is not showing the right number of curly braces and should look like this instead

Still doesn't work for me (on x86-64 Linux). More details in the original Instagram videos don't display any more thread.

Frank Lion

User avatar
 
Posts: 20475
Joined: April 23rd, 2004, 6:59 pm
Location: ... The Exorcist....United Kingdom

Post Posted June 3rd, 2019, 5:23 am

Psychonaut wrote:
Frank Lion wrote:Your code is not showing the right number of curly braces and should look like this instead

Still doesn't work for me

Works for me on 2.49.4.

So does the original code, but it will prevent any later userContent.css entries from working!
Metal Lion latest SeaMonkey & Thunderbird Themes - Sea Monkey and Silver Sea Monkey
"The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil, is for good men to do nothing." - Edmund Burke (attrib.)

Anonymosity
 
Posts: 8572
Joined: May 7th, 2007, 12:07 pm

Post Posted June 3rd, 2019, 10:30 am

Why does code that is not targeted at a particular parameter affect other code which does do that either before or after it?
For instance, in userChrome.css, I had to move code that affected font sizes to the end of that file otherwise subsequent code stopped it from working. That other code affected menu, window & dialog box sizes, spaces between buttons, & removed some buttons, That had nothing to do with fonts, so why would it affect fonts?

Frank Lion

User avatar
 
Posts: 20475
Joined: April 23rd, 2004, 6:59 pm
Location: ... The Exorcist....United Kingdom

Post Posted June 3rd, 2019, 11:08 am

Anonymosity wrote:I had to move code that affected font sizes to the end of that file otherwise subsequent code stopped it from working.

That's nearly always a syntax problem and even the best text editors don't pick up all such errors with syntax highlighting. This one was a trailing brace error.

Writing related theme code in blocks is a good technique when it comes to finding such errors, i.e. the toolbars show OK, but not buttons, therefore the error is between them. Error Console is also useful.

Needing to move good code up is usually a sign of poor code logic. The 'little man' reads .css files from left to right and top to bottom. When he gets to the bottom he starts again. Therefore you need to write in a way that makes sense to him and not ask the child element for something and then 20 lines later ask the parent element for something totally different, as the code stacks are also read top to bottom.

All stuff worth knowing if you, as I have had to do, have 8000+ lines of code to be beaten into obedience. :)
Last edited by Frank Lion on June 4th, 2019, 12:33 am, edited 1 time in total.
Metal Lion latest SeaMonkey & Thunderbird Themes - Sea Monkey and Silver Sea Monkey
"The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil, is for good men to do nothing." - Edmund Burke (attrib.)

Psychonaut

User avatar
 
Posts: 81
Joined: April 7th, 2008, 3:56 am
Location: Vienna

Post Posted June 3rd, 2019, 11:30 am

Frank Lion wrote:
Psychonaut wrote:
Frank Lion wrote:Your code is not showing the right number of curly braces and should look like this instead

Still doesn't work for me

Works for me on 2.49.4.

So does the original code, but it will prevent any later userContent.css entries from working!

Well, you've just given me the clue as to why it wasn't working: the file is named userContent.css, not usercontent.css as specified by the OP. I suppose rereser is using a case-insensitive file system.

When I put the code in userContent.css, I can see Instagram videos again, though the aspect ratio of the preview is wrong and the video itself seems smaller than usual.

rereser
 
Posts: 25
Joined: June 21st, 2018, 1:35 am

Post Posted June 3rd, 2019, 11:36 pm

thanks psychonaut and frank.
rarely use capital letters when i post something.
sorry about that.
good to hear you got it working.
Last edited by rereser on June 28th, 2019, 10:03 am, edited 1 time in total.

rereser
 
Posts: 25
Joined: June 21st, 2018, 1:35 am

Post Posted June 27th, 2019, 6:40 am

update !
see first post.
found a different css code.
credits to mixit and mathwiz on the msfn board.
preview aspect ratio and video size are now correct.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------
- Bug 958714 Remove special case for flex & grid items' percent block-axis margin/padding resolution, to align with other browsers (b12973bc9)
- Bug 958714 Simplify percent-margin/padding resolution code to pass around a single length as the percent basis (83459c927)
- Bug 958714 Remove obsolete assertion & comment (1b153b3f2)
- Merge pull request #650 from janekptacijarabaci/css_layout_flex-grid_1 (edc1da82d)
--------------------------------------------------------------------------
maybe this can be implemented in the next seamonkey 2.49.5 release.
Last edited by rereser on June 28th, 2019, 9:57 am, edited 4 times in total.

kmike
 
Posts: 122
Joined: November 4th, 2002, 10:54 pm

Post Posted June 27th, 2019, 9:42 pm

Thanks for the fix!

frg
 
Posts: 804
Joined: December 15th, 2015, 1:20 pm

Post Posted June 29th, 2019, 3:59 am

> - Bug 958714 Remove special case for flex & grid items' percent block-axis margin/padding resolution, to align with other browsers (b12973bc9)
> - Bug 958714 Simplify percent-margin/padding resolution code to pass around a single length as the percent basis (83459c927)
> - Bug 958714 Remove obsolete assertion & comment (1b153b3f2)
> - Merge pull request #650 from janekptacijarabaci/css_layout_flex-grid_1 (edc1da82d)

I just put it into 2.53 but at this point in time I/we don't want to mess with 2.49.x any more. Testing one last fix and just seeing that it finally gets out of the door.

FRG

frg
 
Posts: 804
Joined: December 15th, 2015, 1:20 pm

Post Posted June 29th, 2019, 6:26 am

Ok, I tossed the coin and backported Bug 988714 to 2.49.5. Please test tomorrows build from Bill: http://www.wg9s.com/comm-esr/

I played with it a little in a Windows 10 vm and it seems to be ok but if I don't get feedback it will not be put into the upcoming release. The patch needed some heavy rebasing.

FRG

TPR75
 
Posts: 797
Joined: July 25th, 2011, 8:11 am
Location: Poland

Post Posted June 29th, 2019, 1:41 pm

frg wrote:Ok, I tossed the coin and backported Bug 988714 to 2.49.5. Please test tomorrows build from Bill: http://www.wg9s.com/comm-esr/

I played with it a little in a Windows 10 vm and it seems to be ok but if I don't get feedback it will not be put into the upcoming release. The patch needed some heavy rebasing.


WG9s SeaMonkey 2.49.5 x64 (Build identifier: 20190629062805) under Win7 SP1 64-bit and Win10 1809 64-bit (VM).
Test 1:
https://bug958714.bmoattachments.org/at ... id=8358760
Test 2:
https://bug958714.bmoattachments.org/at ... id=8358771
Test 3:
https://bug958714.bmoattachments.org/at ... id=8358772
Test 4:
https://bug958714.bmoattachments.org/at ... id=8358774
... gives the same output like in Firefox 60.x ESR, Fx 67.0.4 and Chromium 74.x.

But comparing to previous output from 2.49.4/5:
- Test 2 is not correct (I can see lime top quarter; "lime top half" in 2.49.4)
- Test 4 is not correct (I can see red; lime only in 2.49.4).
- Tests 3... I don't know. What output should be correct (2.49.4 or 2.49.5)?

Instagram video plays correct:
https://www.instagram.com/p/BxAxl44l5N3/

Any other tests?

EDIT: SeaMonkey 2.49.5 x86 (Build identifier: 20190629062805) under WinXP SP3 32-bit (VM) - the same situation like above (except for Instagram video).

frg
 
Posts: 804
Joined: December 15th, 2015, 1:20 pm

Post Posted June 29th, 2019, 3:06 pm

Thanks. The 4 tests now display the same in 2.49.5 2.53 2.57 and Edge Chromium Insider. They all differ now from 2.49.4. Based on the source I would say 2.49.4 was more ok but based from what the bug said it seems this was done to align with other browsers so lets call it "fixed" :)

hardys
 
Posts: 133
Joined: August 7th, 2015, 9:15 am

Post Posted June 29th, 2019, 11:10 pm

Will these fixes be included in the next WG9s SM 2.53 builds?
With the actual build, the Instagram video doesn't play in Win10 64bit.

Edit: video plays on Win 10 64bit with fixed SM 2.49.5
Last edited by hardys on June 30th, 2019, 1:52 am, edited 1 time in total.

Return to SeaMonkey Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests