MozillaZine

Google site search for search bar

User Help for Seamonkey and Mozilla Suite
Psychonaut

User avatar
 
Posts: 57
Joined: April 7th, 2008, 3:56 am
Location: Darmstadt

Post Posted October 1st, 2018, 1:06 am

Is there some way of getting SeaMonkey to Google the currently open site using the search bar? For example, if my browser is currently viewing the page at http://www.example.com, can I type just "foo" in the search bar and have it return results only from http://www.example.com?

I have tried various workarounds but they are all unsatisfactory:
  • I know that I could add "site:www.example.com" to the search query. I don't want to have to type that all the time, because often I want to do the same search on a dozen different sites I have open in different tabs.
  • I also know that I can create a bookmark scriptlet that will allow me to do site searches from the location bar. I don't want to do that either, because then (1) I always need to remember whether to type my searches in the location bar or the search bar, and will end up getting confused; (2) I would need to retype my search query for every site I have open (whereas the most recent search query persists in the search bar); and (3) bookmark scriptlets are buggy and don't allow you to do Google site searches containing certain characters.
  • I also know that there is a GoogleBar add-on that allows site searches, but this is unmaintained and starting to break for me.

I searched on addons.thunderbird.net for "Google site search" but didn't find anything that will add Google site search to the search toolbar. Have I overlooked something?

ElTxolo

User avatar
 
Posts: 2365
Joined: July 30th, 2007, 9:35 am
Location: Localhost

Post Posted October 1st, 2018, 7:11 am

    Image Although the question may be obvious...

    Have you tried Edit >> 'Find in This Page'?






    Cheers!! Image
How to Ask Questions The Smart Way - How to Report Bugs Effectively ;)
Mozilla/5.0 (X11; Linux x86_64; rv:52.0) Gecko/20180711 SeaMonkey/2.49.4
Mozilla/5.0 (X11; Linux x86_64; rv:54.0) Gecko/20170619 SeaMonkey/2.51

Psychonaut

User avatar
 
Posts: 57
Joined: April 7th, 2008, 3:56 am
Location: Darmstadt

Post Posted October 1st, 2018, 7:45 am

ElTxolo wrote:Have you tried Edit >> 'Find in This Page'?

That searches the single page that's currently open, not all pages on a given domain (for which an external search engine like Google is required).

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 19109
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted October 1st, 2018, 8:26 am

Bookmarklet, google site search.

Highlight, or type in your search term, then performs a "site search" on same.

And a sample search, https://www.google.com/search?num=100&q ... h%20bar%22.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

Psychonaut

User avatar
 
Posts: 57
Joined: April 7th, 2008, 3:56 am
Location: Darmstadt

Post Posted October 1st, 2018, 8:41 am

therube wrote:Bookmarklet, google site search.
I don't mean to be disrespectful, but did you actually read my OP?

TPR75
 
Posts: 679
Joined: July 25th, 2011, 8:11 am
Location: Poland

Post Posted October 1st, 2018, 12:34 pm

Psychonaut wrote:Is there some way of getting SeaMonkey to Google the currently open site using the search bar? For example, if my browser is currently viewing the page at http://www.example.com, can I type just "foo" in the search bar and have it return results only from http://www.example.com?


Yes, there is some way. But it requires some typing:
1) click on address bar,
2) modify what is there to e.g.
Code: Select all
foo site:http://www.example.com/

3) press Arrow Up key twice for "Search" function and press Enter.

Typing "site:" will inform Google to search on that site only.

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 19109
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted October 1st, 2018, 1:19 pm

3) press Arrow Up key twice for "Search" function and press Enter.

Actually, so long as the search string is not seen as a "URL", you can simply enter it & hit return, no need for the Arrow Up...
(Arrow Up... is needed if the search were interpreted as a URL.)
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

Psychonaut

User avatar
 
Posts: 57
Joined: April 7th, 2008, 3:56 am
Location: Darmstadt

Post Posted October 1st, 2018, 1:47 pm

TPR75 wrote:Yes, there is some way. But it requires some typing:
1) click on address bar,
2) modify what is there to e.g.
Code: Select all
foo site:http://www.example.com/

3) press Arrow Up key twice for "Search" function and press Enter.

This is essentially the same as the second workaround I mentioned, except that it (probably) doesn't suffer from the character escape bug. It still has the other two problems I listed for that workaround.

Once again, does anyone know of a solution using the search bar (not the location bar)? The add-ons site is full of tools that add Google search variations (Google Images search, Google Scholar search, etc.) to the search bar; are there none that add Google site search?

lasardo
 
Posts: 55
Joined: September 9th, 2018, 1:41 pm

Post Posted October 1st, 2018, 1:51 pm

This site has many search engine shortcuts you can add, this page of results appears to have some that say they do a google site search https://mycroftproject.com/search-engin ... oogle+site

Psychonaut

User avatar
 
Posts: 57
Joined: April 7th, 2008, 3:56 am
Location: Darmstadt

Post Posted October 2nd, 2018, 1:19 am

lasardo wrote:This site has many search engine shortcuts you can add, this page of results appears to have some that say they do a google site search https://mycroftproject.com/search-engin ... oogle+site

Yes, #7 and #12 from that list seemingly offer a general Google site search, but they both require you to manually type the site.

I wonder if perhaps the API for the search bar doesn't actually give access to the current location. This would make what I'm asking for impossible. Can anyone point me to a tutorial or reference guide for adding search engines to the search bar?

Anonymosity
 
Posts: 8520
Joined: May 7th, 2007, 12:07 pm

Post Posted October 2nd, 2018, 12:50 pm

Why not use the Find bar?

Psychonaut

User avatar
 
Posts: 57
Joined: April 7th, 2008, 3:56 am
Location: Darmstadt

Post Posted October 2nd, 2018, 2:13 pm

Anonymosity wrote:Why not use the Find bar?

See Post #3 above. I'm not looking to search the currently open page, but rather the entire domain.

Return to SeaMonkey Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests