MozillaZine

How to copy Seamonkey profile

User Help for Seamonkey and Mozilla Suite
hayley3
 
Posts: 126
Joined: April 13th, 2006, 5:06 am

Post Posted August 24th, 2018, 11:19 am

I do not understand why this is not working.
I go to AppData and Roaming and copy the profile Default and copy it to the new Seamonkey , deleting the Default folder that is there yet it is not working.
Can anyone explain to me how to do this, so I don't pull my hair out?

Thanks
Cheryl
Last edited by hayley3 on August 24th, 2018, 7:02 pm, edited 2 times in total.

hayley3
 
Posts: 126
Joined: April 13th, 2006, 5:06 am

Post Posted August 24th, 2018, 12:37 pm

won't work at all, it says missing the profile.
I have deleted Seamonkey and re-installed many times since and then restarting PC but still I get the same error. Please help!

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 19165
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted August 24th, 2018, 1:11 pm

hayley3 wrote:won't work at all, it says missing the profile.
I have deleted Seamonkey and re-installed many times since and then restarting PC but still I get the same error. Please help!
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 19165
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted August 24th, 2018, 1:12 pm

Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 19165
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted August 24th, 2018, 1:16 pm

Not clear on what you're looking to do, but...

(Generally) Mozilla finds profiles by looking in profiles.ini.
So the location specified in profiles.ini needs to exist.

Or you can use Profile Manager to set up a "new" Profile pointing to the location where you have made this "copy" (which I'm not clear on).

Or you can use Profile Manager to create a new Profile, & then copy existing files from your "old" (which I'm not clear on) Profile into the new (overwriting the new).


Any number of things you can do, but have to understand what it is you're looking to do.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

hayley3
 
Posts: 126
Joined: April 13th, 2006, 5:06 am

Post Posted August 24th, 2018, 1:24 pm

I installed Seamonkey 2.0 over the most current Seamonkey and then used the Windows Start menu and found Manage Profile and after a few attempts was able to create a new profile and Seamonkey started...whew

So my problem is solved..although I still need to import my old profile..but that's another question. :-)

hayley3
 
Posts: 126
Joined: April 13th, 2006, 5:06 am

Post Posted August 24th, 2018, 1:28 pm

You would think it would be a matter of simply copying...however I changed the name...so that may be my issue but I had to recover from that which took me awhile so now I'm afraid to mess with it...but I would like my bookmarks and passwords.

hayley3
 
Posts: 126
Joined: April 13th, 2006, 5:06 am

Post Posted August 24th, 2018, 1:36 pm

Okay it worked...whew..Thank you therube....I left the original user profile alone and made a new one and then copied the files over without changing the name that Seamonkey assigned and all my bookmarks are there...woohoooooo! It's a miracle!

Thank you as always for stepping up to help me!

hardys
 
Posts: 87
Joined: August 7th, 2015, 9:15 am

Post Posted August 24th, 2018, 5:34 pm

hayley3 wrote:I go to AppData and Local and copy the profile Default and copy it to the new Seamonkey , deleting the Default folder that is there yet it is not working.
Can anyone explain to me how to do this, so I don't pull my hair out?


You have to copy your profile from AppData -> Roaming
Just copy the Seamonkey folder from there to your new destination. Should work as expected.

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 19165
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted August 26th, 2018, 10:08 am

(I doubled a link, above, rather then putting in the link I wanted:
Transferring data to a new profile - Firefox.)
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

Ztruker

User avatar
 
Posts: 1275
Joined: February 27th, 2005, 1:08 pm
Location: Melbourne, Fl

Post Posted August 27th, 2018, 11:48 am

When I do this, I copy my profile directory from the old to the new, i.e. 9sc8mwq4.Rich
I then open Profile Manager and create a new user account called Rich and point it to the directory I just copied over , 9sc8mwq4.Rich.
That's it. When I start Rich, everything is there as it should be.
Rich
Artificial intelligence is no match for natural stupidity.

hayley3
 
Posts: 126
Joined: April 13th, 2006, 5:06 am

Post Posted August 27th, 2018, 2:18 pm

My original issue was I changed the name of the new one to match the old one...that was a mistake.

Ztruker

User avatar
 
Posts: 1275
Joined: February 27th, 2005, 1:08 pm
Location: Melbourne, Fl

Post Posted August 27th, 2018, 3:53 pm

Ah, yes, I see that now after re-reading. Thanks for the info.
Rich
Artificial intelligence is no match for natural stupidity.

Return to SeaMonkey Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests