MozillaZine

Sea Monkey Run

User Help for Seamonkey and Mozilla Suite
LGreg

User avatar
 
Posts: 20
Joined: November 20th, 2003, 2:24 pm
Location: Virginia, USA

Post Posted August 14th, 2018, 5:20 pm

Have ran Firefox successfully as primary browser for numerous years. Decided to give Sea Monkey 2.49.4 a try but have had no luck getting it to run; it tries for about 5 seconds and then times out. A check of running tasks shows no indication of it, or any other browser running. Trying it in the command line "-safe-mode" gave no success. The program was downloaded from the Sea Monkey website.

Any help would be appreciated.
Win 10(Home), Firefox Quantum 61.0.2, SeaMonkey 2.49.4

frg
 
Posts: 672
Joined: December 15th, 2015, 1:20 pm

Post Posted August 14th, 2018, 11:46 pm

Hmm odd. Windows 10? Which release?

family safe mode on or antivirus which may block programs or may have quarantined parts of the program?

If you run it from the command line do you see any error?

FRG

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 19235
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted August 15th, 2018, 4:38 am

times out

What does that mean?
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

LGreg

User avatar
 
Posts: 20
Joined: November 20th, 2003, 2:24 pm
Location: Virginia, USA

Post Posted August 15th, 2018, 10:58 am

Windows 10(home) version info is: 10.0.17134 Build 17134. "Time Out" is referring to the amount of time that the little circle shows while it's attempting to bring up a program. No errors show.

Have tried running it with and without Administrator privileges with no luck and no shown errors.
Shut off "Windows Defender" and "Spybot S&D" for a short period of time with no luck and no shown errors.
Ran "C:\Program Files (x86)\SeaMonkey\seamonkey.exe" from the Run program with no luck an no shown errors.
Ran "seamonkey.exe" from within the CP (Command Prompt) program with no luck and no shown errors.

Am still trying to figure out why SeaMonkey won't come up. The "little grey cells" in my 78 year old brain aren't quite what they used to be. Thanks for your input
Win 10(Home), Firefox Quantum 61.0.2, SeaMonkey 2.49.4

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 19235
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted August 15th, 2018, 11:28 am

Can you open Profile Manager?
C:\Program Files (x86)\SeaMonkey\seamonkey.exe -profilemanager

If that works, try creating a new Profile (though I wouldn't expect that to be the issue)?

---

Others in the past have said, something like...

uninstall existing
download again (https://www.seamonkey-project.org/releases/)
disable antivirus (can't imagine Windows Defender matters, no longer familiar with Spybot)
install SeaMonkey
verify it works
enable antivirus
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

LGreg

User avatar
 
Posts: 20
Joined: November 20th, 2003, 2:24 pm
Location: Virginia, USA

Post Posted August 16th, 2018, 11:54 am

Have tried all the suggestions thus far with "no joy" in bringing up Sea Monkey. Was able to bring up the profile screen utilizing "-profile" with the Run command but I could advance no further.

I will keep deleting/moving things around and will maybe hit upon the right thing. Thanks for your help guys.
Win 10(Home), Firefox Quantum 61.0.2, SeaMonkey 2.49.4

LGreg

User avatar
 
Posts: 20
Joined: November 20th, 2003, 2:24 pm
Location: Virginia, USA

Post Posted August 16th, 2018, 4:52 pm

SUCCESS in getting SeaMonkey 2.94.4 to run.

Over the past several days have been using the download from "seamonkey-project.org" but came across the download from "WG9s SeaMonkey 2.49 Builds", tried it and it runs just fine. I guess there are several separate groups out there doing work on Sea Monkey.

Again, thanks for the help.
Win 10(Home), Firefox Quantum 61.0.2, SeaMonkey 2.49.4

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 19235
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted August 16th, 2018, 5:28 pm

Strange.
Wonder why his works.

No, just one official "group".
Though he does help, testing & making regular builds, including x64 Windows builds (something not available from seamonkey-project.org).


File (name only) diffs between official & WG9s:

Official:
Code: Select all
-rw-rw-rw-  1 RUBEN 0  110592 2018-07-13 21:34 breakpadinjector.dll
-rw-rw-rw-  1 RUBEN 0 2106216 2010-05-26 14:41 D3DCompiler_43.dll
-rw-rw-rw-  1 RUBEN 0     131 2018-07-13 21:41 update-settings.ini
-rwxrwxrwx  1 RUBEN 0  301568 2018-07-13 21:33 updater.exe
-rw-rw-rw-  1 RUBEN 0    1111 2018-07-13 21:43 updater.ini
-rwxrwxrwx  1 RUBEN 0   91648 2018-07-13 21:32 wow_helper.exe

I'll note that official *also* includes, d3dcompiler_47.dll. Something up with that?
(Guess not. FF 52 does the same.)


WG9s:
Code: Select all
distribution/extensions:
-rw-rw-rw-  1 RUBEN 0 399429 2018-07-23 10:48 {59c81df5-4b7a-477b-912d-4e0fdf64e5f2}.xpi
drw-rw-rw-  7 RUBEN 0   4096 2018-07-23 10:50 {e2fda1a4-762b-4020-b5ad-a41df1933103}
-rw-rw-rw-  1 RUBEN 0 351468 2018-07-23 10:48 inspector@mozilla.org.xpi


(The listed files are included in the respective installs, & not in the other.
My WG9s build is from 07/23/2018.)
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

frg
 
Posts: 672
Joined: December 15th, 2015, 1:20 pm

Post Posted August 17th, 2018, 4:53 am

Bills builds are unofficial. They contain mostly not yet fully done but stable fixes from me. Official builds are done with an older VS2015 compiler and are x86 only. His are done with VS2017 and are x64. But the regular builds should work on 17134 or we would probably see a lot of other reports. So great that it works but not sure why the official build fails.

Return to SeaMonkey Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests