MozillaZine

JPEG image won't load on web

User Help for Seamonkey and Mozilla Suite
tfigura
 
Posts: 12
Joined: August 21st, 2010, 11:40 am

Post Posted September 12th, 2017, 6:41 pm

I followed the instructions on SeaMonkey's Help menu for inserting an image but the image doesn't show on my website. (I saved the page in SeaMonkey and transferred the file to my public files using FileZilla. I also saved the images to the public Images file using FileZilla.)

Can anyone help with pointing out what I may be doing wrong?

Ted Figura. Feel free to email me directly at [removed].
Last edited by trolly on September 13th, 2017, 3:05 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Email removed to protect from spammers.

WaltS48

User avatar
 
Posts: 3474
Joined: May 7th, 2010, 9:38 am
Location: Pennsylvania, USA

Post Posted September 13th, 2017, 7:06 am

Did you point the web page to the image in your public images file or does it still point to the image you inserted when creating the page?
Linux Desktop - AMD Athlon(tm) II X3 455 3.3GHz | 8.0GB RAM | GeForce GT 630
Windows Notebook - AMD A8 7410 2.2GHz | 6.0GB RAM | AMD Radeon R5

tfigura
 
Posts: 12
Joined: August 21st, 2010, 11:40 am

Post Posted September 13th, 2017, 5:59 pm

How do you point the webpage to the image in the public images file? The Public files on my host server do not show up when I click Chose File in the insert image window in SeaMonkey, as it is not on my hard drive or network.

WaltS48

User avatar
 
Posts: 3474
Joined: May 7th, 2010, 9:38 am
Location: Pennsylvania, USA

Post Posted September 14th, 2017, 6:31 am

I think you edit the HTML.

In order to link two files together, such as placing an image on a web a page, you need to know the path through the computer from the web page to the image in order to tell the browser where to find it.


You can read the rest of the article here.

http://www.boogiejack.com/server_paths.html
Linux Desktop - AMD Athlon(tm) II X3 455 3.3GHz | 8.0GB RAM | GeForce GT 630
Windows Notebook - AMD A8 7410 2.2GHz | 6.0GB RAM | AMD Radeon R5

isaacschemm
 
Posts: 240
Joined: January 20th, 2015, 12:29 pm

Post Posted September 14th, 2017, 7:24 am

If you know the public URL of the image, you can also just enter that in the Image Location box instead of using Choose File.

tfigura
 
Posts: 12
Joined: August 21st, 2010, 11:40 am

Post Posted September 14th, 2017, 1:20 pm

1) The article referenced discusses various ways to code in order to establish the link of image to website. I am using SeaMonkey because I am not a programmer and am relying on SeaMonkey's interface to accomplish all web development tasks. Therefore, I need instructions appropriate to steps I can take using SeaMonkey.

2) I checked what is in the Public>Images file using Filezilla. The images do not have a URL, only the image name with the .jpg suffix. I had transferred those files, which exist on my hard drive, to the Public>Images folder using Filezilla.

WaltS48

User avatar
 
Posts: 3474
Joined: May 7th, 2010, 9:38 am
Location: Pennsylvania, USA

Post Posted September 15th, 2017, 7:23 am

So I created a web page with,

<img src= "~/Pictures/walts48.jpg" /> which is on my hard drive.

I upload the new page to a web domain example.net, and the image to example.net/public/images. I don't change the code in my HTML and I expect the image to appear in my web page? I think not.

I have to change the code to point to the image on the domain if I want it to appear.

<img src="http://www.example.net/public/images/walts48.jpg"> Then upload the changed HTML page to the domain.

Or maybe I just don't understand the problem. I hope you work it out.
Linux Desktop - AMD Athlon(tm) II X3 455 3.3GHz | 8.0GB RAM | GeForce GT 630
Windows Notebook - AMD A8 7410 2.2GHz | 6.0GB RAM | AMD Radeon R5

tfigura
 
Posts: 12
Joined: August 21st, 2010, 11:40 am

Post Posted September 17th, 2017, 6:08 pm

I looked at the Code and found this, which appears to be pointing to the image.

<img alt="" src="../../Pictures/1972/img002.jpg" width="229"
height="224">&nbsp;&nbsp;
&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; &nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;
&nbsp;&nbsp; &nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; &nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;
&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; &nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; &nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;
&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; &nbsp; &nbsp;&nbsp; &nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;
&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; &nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;
&nbsp;&nbsp; <img alt=""
src="../../Pictures/MPA%20Productions%20G40C8296a.jpg"

SeaMonkey is supposed to work from the interface without getting into the coding. So let me rephrase the question,

I followed these steps from the SeaMonkey Help file:

"You can insert GIF, JPEG, BMP, and PNG (Portable Network Graphics) images into your web page. You can also use them to create links. When you insert an image, Composer saves a reference to the image in your page.

Note: If you plan to publish your pages to the web, it's best not to use BMP images in your pages.

Tip: It's best to first save or publish your page before you insert images into it. This allows Composer to automatically use relative references to images once you insert them.

To insert an image:

Click to place the insertion point where you want the image to appear.
Click the Image button on the toolbar, or open the Insert menu and choose Image. You see the Image Properties dialog box.
Type the location and filename of the image file, or click Choose File to search for an image file on your hard drive or network.
Type a simple description of your image as the alternate text that will appear in text-only browsers (as well as other browsers) when an image is loading or when image loading is disabled.

Alternatively, you can choose not to include alternate text.
If needed, click other tabs so you can adjust the settings (for example, alignment) in the Image Properties dialog box."

No image appears on my website.

is there a SeaMonkey command I am missing? Or another reason why the photos are not showing?

Ted

isaacschemm
 
Posts: 240
Joined: January 20th, 2015, 12:29 pm

Post Posted September 18th, 2017, 6:45 am

The code looks OK to me (the references are indeed relative). Maybe the pictures are in the wrong folder, or missing from the web server? It's hard to tell without being able to look at the website.

tfigura
 
Posts: 12
Joined: August 21st, 2010, 11:40 am

Post Posted September 27th, 2017, 6:25 pm

The website is www,depthastrology2.com. Click on the "here" in the second line of the home page to get to the page in question.

hardys
 
Posts: 76
Joined: August 7th, 2015, 9:15 am

Post Posted September 28th, 2017, 3:00 pm

Can you check with Filezilla in which folder relative to your html file your image is stored on the server. The path to your pic in your source code looks a little strange.

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 18016
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted September 29th, 2017, 9:01 am

I can tell you where it is not ;-).
It is not in a ../../Pictures/ directory.

Not quite sure how disk to cloud mapping plays out [Composer], but I'd expect it to be something like ./Pictures/, with Pictures being a subdirectory to the website itself, so "depthastrology2/Pictures/".
(Or could be anywhere else - so long as the mapping is correct.)

If that existed, & the paths in code adjusted as needed, & if the pictures were actually uploaded to that location (were they?), then they should show as expected.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

Return to SeaMonkey Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests