MozillaZine

Toggle media autoplay

User Help for Seamonkey and Mozilla Suite
Anonymosity
 
Posts: 8464
Joined: May 7th, 2007, 12:07 pm

Post Posted April 13th, 2017, 2:37 pm

Is there any way to toggle media autoplay in SeaMonkey other than with an extension? I just tried a Firefox extension for that and it does not work in SeaMonkey.

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 18011
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted April 13th, 2017, 6:50 pm

> I just tried a Firefox extension...

Linked, viewtopic.php?f=40&t=2834855&p=14742836#p14742836.

I guess that begs the question, "Is there any way to toggle media autoplay in FF other than with an extension?" ?

Does media.autoplay.enabled do anything for you?
Setting a Plugin (Flash) to Ask?
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

Anonymosity
 
Posts: 8464
Joined: May 7th, 2007, 12:07 pm

Post Posted April 13th, 2017, 10:58 pm

The Old Faithful streaming webcam in Yellowstone National Park will not stream for me unless media.autoplay.enabled is true, but otherwise I want it set to false. I really want to be able to toggle it with a click on something. I do not understand why "Autoplay Toggle" does not work, since it does not look that complex, but I know very little about javascript. I have a struggle just to modify bookmarklets to make them a little better.

TPR75
 
Posts: 601
Joined: July 25th, 2011, 8:11 am
Location: Poland

Post Posted April 14th, 2017, 12:20 am

Anonymosity wrote:I really want to be able to toggle it with a click on something.


It is possible. You need to install extension and make some modifications by your own. Here is solution:
viewtopic.php?p=14723062#p14723062
(this post and next one, bellow).

Extension is "Custom Buttons":
https://addons.mozilla.org/en-GB/seamon ... m-buttons/
and requires conversion:
http://addonconverter.fotokraina.com/?u ... m-buttons/

This combined solution will give you a button (placed on address bar) which can toggle value (false/true) for "media.autoplay.enabled" function.

Works for me 8-)

Anonymosity
 
Posts: 8464
Joined: May 7th, 2007, 12:07 pm

Post Posted April 14th, 2017, 2:21 pm

Thanks. Custom Buttons just needs bumping up for the max version, not being converted. I got my button made, and it works. The button is fine on my created addon-bar.

Michael REMY
 
Posts: 307
Joined: December 19th, 2009, 2:27 am

Post Posted July 10th, 2017, 11:35 pm

do you know if the media.autoplay.enabled=False stops the loading of the media content too ?

imagine the video file is 45Mo. As you disable the autostart, does it stop the stream loading too ?
do you know a way to check it ?

isaacschemm
 
Posts: 240
Joined: January 20th, 2015, 12:29 pm

Post Posted July 11th, 2017, 6:06 am

Michael REMY wrote:do you know if the media.autoplay.enabled=False stops the loading of the media content too ?

imagine the video file is 45Mo. As you disable the autostart, does it stop the stream loading too ?
do you know a way to check it ?

I don't know if it does or not, but if you have the Network tab of the developer tools open, you would be able to check whether it's shown in there.

Michael REMY
 
Posts: 307
Joined: December 19th, 2009, 2:27 am

Post Posted July 11th, 2017, 7:39 am

isaacschemm wrote:
Michael REMY wrote:do you know if the media.autoplay.enabled=False stops the loading of the media content too ?

imagine the video file is 45Mo. As you disable the autostart, does it stop the stream loading too ?
do you know a way to check it ?

I don't know if it does or not, but if you have the Network tab of the developer tools open, you would be able to check whether it's shown in there.


thank you, this is a huge handful tool you presented me ! very interesting ! thank you thank you !

well i tryed 2 videos examples :
https://www.w3schools.com/tags/tryit.as ... o_autoplay
http://www.html5videoplayer.net/html5vi ... ideo-test/

the 1st one is fully loaded whereas the second one wait i click the button...
strange different behaviors...

Return to SeaMonkey Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests