MozillaZine

Yahoo Mail thinks SM is too old...

User Help for Seamonkey and Mozilla Suite
Justinh
 
Posts: 169
Joined: November 13th, 2004, 7:03 pm
Location: Alabama

Post Posted April 3rd, 2017, 7:10 pm

How do I get Yahoo Mail to recognize SM as a modern browser? After I login it tells me I need to upgrade to Firefox (or some other browser) and limits me to 'classic mail'. My user agent is:
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; WOW64; rv:49.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/49.0 SeaMonkey/2.46

Yahoo just started complaining about this, and I've been on 2.46 for over a month. I had advanced mail before this started happening!

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 115456
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted April 4th, 2017, 5:00 am

Blame Yahoo for that situation. See this old article -- https://groups.google.com/forum/#!topic ... 1JUL9JQBIM

For starters, try just removing the "SeaMonkey/24.6" from the end of your current user agent string.

ElTxolo

User avatar
 
Posts: 2199
Joined: July 30th, 2007, 9:35 am
Location: Localhost

Post Posted April 4th, 2017, 7:08 am

Justinh wrote:How do I get Yahoo Mail to recognize SM as a modern browser? After I login it tells me I need to upgrade to Firefox (or some other browser) and limits me to 'classic mail'. My user agent is:
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; WOW64; rv:49.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/49.0 SeaMonkey/2.46

    :-k

  • Type about:config in the Address Bar and press Enter to display the list of preferences.
  • Ignore the warning message.
  • Right click >> New >> String >> general.useragent.override.yahoo.com
    >>> Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 10.0; WOW64; rv:52.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/52.0
  • Restart SeaMonkey.
  • Done!









    Cheers! Image
How to Ask Questions The Smart Way - How to Report Bugs Effectively ;)
Mozilla/5.0 (X11; Linux x86_64; rv:52.0) Gecko/20170313 SeaMonkey/2.49
Mozilla/5.0 (X11; Linux x86_64; rv:54.0) Gecko/20170420 SeaMonkey/2.51a2

barbaz
 
Posts: 1547
Joined: October 1st, 2014, 3:25 pm

Post Posted April 4th, 2017, 8:39 am

ElTxolo wrote:general.useragent.override.yahoo.com

It may be better to just use general.useragent.override here, because of this - viewtopic.php?f=6&t=3021425
*Always* check the changelogs BEFORE updating that important software!

Justinh
 
Posts: 169
Joined: November 13th, 2004, 7:03 pm
Location: Alabama

Post Posted April 4th, 2017, 6:30 pm

I just used the general override and it worked okay. Thanks, everyone.

Curious, what is this pref?
general.useragent.complexOverride.moodle

And how do you use this pref? Is there UI for it somewhere?
general.useragent.site_specific_overrides

Return to SeaMonkey Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 2 guests