MozillaZine

Tab bar to bottom ???

User Help for Seamonkey and Mozilla Suite
smallhagrid
 
Posts: 19
Joined: December 9th, 2007, 10:32 pm
Location: Vermont

Post Posted July 31st, 2013, 11:30 am

Hi Folks.
I tried searching for this but it tells me that the words tab & bar are too common and refuses - so I guess I have to ask...:

In Seamonkey 2.19 I am really missing having Tab Mix Plus - and the worst of it is wanting the tab bar at the bottom.
Would someone please tell me if & how this may be done, please ??

Thanks.

patrickjdempsey

User avatar
 
Posts: 23734
Joined: October 23rd, 2008, 11:43 am
Location: Asheville NC

Post Posted July 31st, 2013, 2:36 pm

Since SeaMonkey uses the old tab style and never updated to the Firefox 4.0+ style, you should be able to use the old Firefox userstyle that's around.... found it:

Code: Select all
#content > tabbox { -moz-box-direction: reverse !important; }
Tip of the day: If it has "toolbar" in the name, it's crap.
What my avatar is about: https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/seamonkey/addon/sea-fox/

smallhagrid
 
Posts: 19
Joined: December 9th, 2007, 10:32 pm
Location: Vermont

Post Posted July 31st, 2013, 3:03 pm

Thank You Patrickjdempsey !!
I stuck what you provided into a brand new userChrome.css file, and...:
[code] #content > tabbox { -moz-box-direction: reverse !important; } [/code]
Now the tab bar is much better !!!

I am seeking a way to put a new toolbar at the bottom as well, so I may populate it with the buttons I use constantly, and how to do that is eluding me as well - any idea how that might be done ??

Thanks.

Edit:
I forgot to mention that I tried searching that here as well - and got scolded, thusly=>
"The following words in your search query were ignored because they are too common words: toolbar."
Woof.

patrickjdempsey

User avatar
 
Posts: 23734
Joined: October 23rd, 2008, 11:43 am
Location: Asheville NC

Post Posted July 31st, 2013, 3:36 pm

I'm afraid there is no easy way to do that. SeaMonkey uses the old "statusbar" at the bottom and all of the proper toolbars are combined at the top in one containing element. You would need an extension to add another toolbar, and I'm too new to SeaMonkey to know what to suggest. ;)
Tip of the day: If it has "toolbar" in the name, it's crap.
What my avatar is about: https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/seamonkey/addon/sea-fox/

smallhagrid
 
Posts: 19
Joined: December 9th, 2007, 10:32 pm
Location: Vermont

Post Posted July 31st, 2013, 3:50 pm

Thanks Again !!!
I looked through all the extension sources I could find before asking and found nothing for this at all.

It is alarmingly funny that the official Mozilla add-ons site is actually the WORST place for Seamonkey add-ons.
(The search function there is useless as it cannot be restricted to just a single app.)

BTW, your tip of the day=> *If it has "toolbar" in the name, it's crap.*
Is ABSOLUTELY precious !!!

Thanks.

patrickjdempsey

User avatar
 
Posts: 23734
Joined: October 23rd, 2008, 11:43 am
Location: Asheville NC

Post Posted July 31st, 2013, 4:07 pm

Many of the older Mozilla Suite developers who maintained their addons for SeaMonkey were around long before AMO even existed, so many had their own means of distribution or used older Mozilla channels for distribution (such as mozdev.org). The other half of the story is that Mozilla has many "nanny" policies in the way it runs AMO which many developers do not favor.
Tip of the day: If it has "toolbar" in the name, it's crap.
What my avatar is about: https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/seamonkey/addon/sea-fox/

smallhagrid
 
Posts: 19
Joined: December 9th, 2007, 10:32 pm
Location: Vermont

Post Posted July 31st, 2013, 4:19 pm

Understood.
The Mozilla add-ons site is not helpful, I accept that - and I've looked at any/all the community sites I could find and found some great stuff too.

Just nothing for making a bottom toolbar, sadly.

Thanks.

James
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 27644
Joined: June 18th, 2003, 3:07 pm
Location: Made in Canada

Post Posted July 31st, 2013, 4:20 pm

smallhagrid wrote:It is alarmingly funny that the official Mozilla add-ons site is actually the WORST place for Seamonkey add-ons.
(The search function there is useless as it cannot be restricted to just a single app.)

You are in the SeaMonkey section when you do the search? as it defaults to Firefox.
https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/seamonkey/

smallhagrid
 
Posts: 19
Joined: December 9th, 2007, 10:32 pm
Location: Vermont

Post Posted July 31st, 2013, 4:29 pm

Absolutely. And the results ??!
All Firefox add-ons.
Utterly useless for Seamonkey, usually.

Thanks.

smallhagrid
 
Posts: 19
Joined: December 9th, 2007, 10:32 pm
Location: Vermont

Post Posted April 6th, 2019, 5:51 pm

Wow.
I posted the OP in 2013 - and now - years later, I still find no solution for this common query.
Have I missed something someplace that fixes this ??
Thanks.

LIMPET235
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 38849
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 1:53 am
Location: The South Coast of N.S.W. Oz.

Post Posted April 7th, 2019, 1:30 am

Hi,
A lot has changed since Thu 1st Aug 2013.

If you have a problem, then please, just start a new thread...
or try a forum search. ----------------------------------->>>

Locking this due to very old age.
Ancient Amateur Astronomer
Win-7-HP/IntelĀ® DualCore-2.0GHz/500G HDD/4 Gig Ram/550Watt PSU/350WattUPS/Firefox-20.0-62.0-70.0/T-bird-2.0.0.24/SnagIt-v10.0.1/MWP-7.12.
(Always choose the "Custom" Install.)

Return to SeaMonkey Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests