MozillaZine

"Close Tab" button is missing in SM. How can put it back?

Discussion of features in Seamonkey
George59
 
Posts: 13
Joined: April 6th, 2011, 7:21 am
Location: Budapest, Hungary

Post Posted October 20th, 2017, 4:02 am

I really miss the "X" Close Tab buttons, I did a little research on this subject and found several forum posts with css codes back from 2011, I'm not sure if these codes would still work, they look different from the one I just used to change the color of the active tab.

I also found the entry "browser.tabs.closeButtons" in about:config set to 0, I changed it to 1, didn't make any difference after restart.

How can I do the magic and have close tab buttons in SM?

I also installed the FF theme in the hope, that I'll get my close tab buttons, but I didn't. :(

frg
 
Posts: 633
Joined: December 15th, 2015, 1:20 pm

Post Posted October 20th, 2017, 4:46 am

I use SeaTab X 2

Works likes a charm in all SeaMonkey versions right now.

George59
 
Posts: 13
Joined: April 6th, 2011, 7:21 am
Location: Budapest, Hungary

Post Posted October 20th, 2017, 6:00 am

Thank You, it works for me to on v.2.48 but I had to search for the name of it on Google, the Add-on library does not list it, it's strange.

videobruce
 
Posts: 119
Joined: March 25th, 2006, 11:38 am
Location: Buffalo NY

Post Posted Yesterday, 3:39 pm

SeaTab X2 is grayed out for SM v2.49
https://addons.thunderbird.net/en-US/se ... rm=windows

Is there anything else?
Chrome-Dome is a poor excuse for a browser. It doesn't even have a Menu Bar which should be standard for any & all programs in spite of M$ 'toy phone' change with W8 & 10..

frg
 
Posts: 633
Joined: December 15th, 2015, 1:20 pm

Post Posted Today, 1:44 am

Just pick it and use download anyway. Works fine up to 2.57.
https://addons.thunderbird.net/seamonke ... src=search

videobruce
 
Posts: 119
Joined: March 25th, 2006, 11:38 am
Location: Buffalo NY

Post Posted Today, 6:53 am

It was grayed out in that link I posted, I couldn't.

Thanks for a working link. Why there isn't a close tab is beyond me. It should be standard fare for any browser.
Chrome-Dome is a poor excuse for a browser. It doesn't even have a Menu Bar which should be standard for any & all programs in spite of M$ 'toy phone' change with W8 & 10..

frg
 
Posts: 633
Joined: December 15th, 2015, 1:20 pm

Post Posted Today, 8:22 am

> It was grayed out in that link I posted, I couldn't.

I was able to click on the gray area.

> Why there isn't a close tab is beyond me. It should be standard fare for any browser.

Not enough devs. I am glad the extensions still works or this would be one point more which would be needed to be addressed for 2.57.

FRG

videobruce
 
Posts: 119
Joined: March 25th, 2006, 11:38 am
Location: Buffalo NY

Post Posted Today, 8:51 am

One would think something as minor as this should be a no-brainer.
Chrome-Dome is a poor excuse for a browser. It doesn't even have a Menu Bar which should be standard for any & all programs in spite of M$ 'toy phone' change with W8 & 10..

Return to SeaMonkey Features


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest