MozillaZine

Move tab to a new window

Discussion of features in Seamonkey
gracious1

User avatar
 
Posts: 30
Joined: April 30th, 2016, 1:36 am

Post Posted May 13th, 2017, 1:10 pm

I am a little puzzled as to why SeaMonkey does not have an easy way to move a tab to a new window. (I am speaking, at least, of SeaMonkey 2.46 [64-bit] on Ubuntu 14.04 LTS.) In FF (and PM, and many other browsers), when you right-click on the tab you get the command "Move to another window", but this is lacking in SM. In FF and other browsers, you can also drag a tab away from a window into a new window.The extension Tab to Window adds some of this functionality, by at least adding the context-menu command (and a command in the File menu). However, the extension does not add the ability to tear away a tab.

So would it be possible for future releases of SeaMonkey to add this functionality? (Both as commands and as the tear-away ability).

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 17829
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted May 14th, 2017, 7:11 am

> tear-away

You should be able to do that.
(In SeaMonkey, not sure if it actually "tears" or if it removes from one, opens in another?)
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

WaltS48

User avatar
 
Posts: 3450
Joined: May 7th, 2010, 9:38 am
Location: Pennsylvania, USA

Post Posted May 14th, 2017, 8:21 am

As soon as bug 191752 "Move Tab to New Window" option in tab bar context menu is fixed.

Or maybe the
Write front-end code to use backend Drag & Drop tabs between browser windows functionality.
bug mentioned in Comment 15.
Linux Desktop - AMD Athlon(tm) II X3 455 3.3GHz | 8.0GB RAM | GeForce GT 630
Windows Notebook - AMD A8 7410 2.2GHz | 6.0GB RAM | AMD Radeon R5

frg
 
Posts: 432
Joined: December 15th, 2015, 1:20 pm

Post Posted May 15th, 2017, 5:11 am

>> You should be able to do that.

I think not. Needs tabbrowser enhancements and a dev with some time at hand.

FRG

Andy Boze

User avatar
 
Posts: 2755
Joined: June 30th, 2005, 9:53 pm
Location: South Bend, IN

Post Posted May 15th, 2017, 7:32 am

gracious1 wrote:the extension does not add the ability to tear away a tab.

Try the Duplicate This Tab extension.
But then again, I may be wrong.

Return to SeaMonkey Features


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest