MozillaZine

Rogue Box

User Help for Mozilla Thunderbird
SqPeg
 
Posts: 7
Joined: May 1st, 2007, 10:57 am

Post Posted April 24th, 2019, 4:30 pm

How do I include an image from my machine?

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 121736
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted April 24th, 2019, 4:36 pm

Moving to Thunderbird Support as no problem or bug was specified in the initial post.

Have you tried dragging and dropping the image from your file manager to the right hand side of the address entry block in the compose window?

Can you clarify the meaning of the subject?

SqPeg
 
Posts: 7
Joined: May 1st, 2007, 10:57 am

Post Posted April 24th, 2019, 4:44 pm

There is a small square cutout, about 1", of the get mail window that floats above anything on the screen.

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 121736
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted April 24th, 2019, 5:08 pm

You may need to post a screen shot as I don't believe anything like that appears in my installation of Thunderbird.
http://kb.mozillazine.org/Posting_a_scr ... _the_forum

As a test, Does the same thing occur if you launch the application in Mozilla Safe Mode? http://kb.mozillazine.org/Safe_mode

SqPeg
 
Posts: 7
Joined: May 1st, 2007, 10:57 am

Post Posted April 25th, 2019, 12:42 pm

DanRaisch wrote:You may need to post a screen shot as I don't believe anything like that appears in my installation of Thunderbird.
<!-- m --><a class="postlink" href="http://kb.mozillazine.org/Posting_a_screenshot_on_the_forum">http://kb.mozillazine.org/Posting_a_scr ... _the_forum</a><!-- m -->

As a test, Does the same thing occur if you launch the application in Mozilla Safe Mode? <!-- m --><a class="postlink" href="http://kb.mozillazine.org/Safe_mode">http://kb.mozillazine.org/Safe_mode</a><!-- m -->
No. What now?

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 121736
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted April 25th, 2019, 12:50 pm

When things work properly in Safe Mode but not in Standard Mode it often indicates that an installed extension is causing problems. How many extensions do you have installed?
You could launching to standard mode and then disabling half of the extensions. Restart to standard mode and see if the problem appears. If not, enable half of the disabled extensions and restart. Repeat the process until the problem reappears. Then disable extensions one by one, restarting in between to identify the specific extension causing trouble.

SqPeg
 
Posts: 7
Joined: May 1st, 2007, 10:57 am

Post Posted April 28th, 2019, 4:54 pm

When I get the window to restart in the safe mode, it's too small to see the options. It can't be resized. I really need to send a pic.

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 121736
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted April 29th, 2019, 3:00 am

OK, see the link I posted above for information on how to do that.

SqPeg
 
Posts: 7
Joined: May 1st, 2007, 10:57 am

Post Posted April 29th, 2019, 5:58 am

I have a png but it won't transfer to the post. Can screen resolution adversely affect the layout?

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 121736
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted April 29th, 2019, 1:13 pm

Yes, depending on the size of the image.

SqPeg
 
Posts: 7
Joined: May 1st, 2007, 10:57 am

Post Posted April 29th, 2019, 3:20 pm

I have a png but it won't transfer to the post. <Can screen resolution adversely affect the layout?> of Thunderbird?

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 121736
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted April 29th, 2019, 3:26 pm

What does Thunderbird have to with posting to the forum?

SqPeg
 
Posts: 7
Joined: May 1st, 2007, 10:57 am

Post Posted April 29th, 2019, 3:46 pm

The forum title says Thunderbird support,

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 121736
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted April 29th, 2019, 5:54 pm

Clearly, but your current question was about posting a screenshot to this forum. Doing that does not require the use of Thunderbird.

Return to Thunderbird Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 6 guests