MozillaZine

semi duplicate accounts folders created

User Help for Mozilla Thunderbird
lee42048
 
Posts: 17
Joined: July 26th, 2010, 10:21 pm

Post Posted October 4th, 2018, 6:48 pm

I have version 52.9.1. I was having trouble correcting my outgoing server. I tried a few times to update it but there was an issue.
Now I have three account folders with the same name each with an inbox, send folder etc. I can't just delete the new extras because they have some emails that are not in the other (my original I want to save) folder. But they also have hundreds of duplicate messages so I can't just move all. I need a way to move/copy just the new messages into my original folder. I can't figure why new messages ended up split in the new folder.

thanks
Lee

tanstaafl
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 44326
Joined: July 30th, 2003, 5:06 pm

Post Posted October 4th, 2018, 7:36 pm

Why not move all of the messages into the latest account and then use an add-on such as https://addons.thunderbird.net/en-US/th ... -messages/ or https://addons.thunderbird.net/en-US/th ... ages-alte/ to automate removing the duplicates? Messages have a globally unique Message-ID header so that should be pretty foolproof.

lee42048
 
Posts: 17
Joined: July 26th, 2010, 10:21 pm

Post Posted October 10th, 2018, 4:44 pm

tanstaafl wrote:Why not move all of the messages into the latest account and then use an add-on such as <!-- m --><a class="postlink" href="https://addons.thunderbird.net/en-US/thunderbird/addon/remove-duplicate-messages/">https://addons.thunderbird.net/en-US/th ... -messages/</a><!-- m --> or <!-- m --><a class="postlink" href="https://addons.thunderbird.net/en-US/thunderbird/addon/remove-duplicate-messages-alte/">https://addons.thunderbird.net/en-US/th ... ages-alte/</a><!-- m --> to automate removing the duplicates? Messages have a globally unique Message-ID header so that should be pretty foolproof.
Thanks I will try it. It took a few days to all the duplicate accounts cleared up. It kept complaining that there was a duplicate name or it had to be connected to do anything. I didn't want it connected till I got it fixed.

Return to Thunderbird Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests