MozillaZine

Contact Modification Conflict

User Help for Mozilla Thunderbird
parametric
 
Posts: 5
Joined: January 1st, 2013, 9:20 am

Post Posted February 1st, 2018, 9:14 pm

A few days ago, I noticed THIS happening on firing up TB. . . . . . . .

(Could I be allowed to upload two screenshots which show better, what the problem is) :?:

TB opens, populates, then waits for about 40 seconds.

[N.B. Since the last 3 or 4 versions of TB, on starting it up, it goes <not responding> for up to two minutes at a time . . . . perhaps its related?

though I had planned to mention THAT in a separate Thread . . .]


A STACK of conflict notices appears (One for each of my address book contacts). There is so many that a thick black border now surrounds the notices . . .

NOTHING else is possible 'til I close them ALL. . . . . :shock:

TB now connects to my mail service and downloads any emails . . . .

I came to TB from PC-Eudora, and imported my address book from there. Everything has worked fine, 'til now

I now have <All Address Books> which contains <personal Address book>, <collected Addresses> and one other called <SY-List Members>

There was one other, <Eudora Nicknames> which was the one that the Contact Conflict notification was complaining about. So I deleted it.

Closing TB and restarting, it seemed NOT to have fixed the problem though . . . . :roll:

I routinely CLONE my C: drive, as a precaution, so when this started happening, I copied the entire contents of AppData/Roaming/Thunderbird folder from my current (3 month old) copy - in the hope of fixing the issue . . . . Which it didn't (which is where I am now . . . . . )

It's looking increasingly like I have to MANUALLY make a copy of all my contacts - DELETE ALL -

and reconstruct my address books - to fix this . . . .

Unless you guys know better 8-) I really like TB and would rather NOT use anything else, especially M$

One additional point I've just remembered. When I close TB - using the big red "X", it REMAINS in the Task manager list of Apps. . . .

Sometimes, REMNANTS of the above problem remain on screen UNTIL I <end task> for TB, inside Task Manager.

Don't know if that is significant . . . . ?

Any thoughts?

ATB

parametric
Windows10 Pro64 / FireFox 58.0.1 (64bit) / Thunderbird 52.6.0 (32bit)

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 119625
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted February 2nd, 2018, 5:54 am

Does the same thing occur if you launch the application in Mozilla Safe Mode? http://kb.mozillazine.org/Safe_mode

parametric
 
Posts: 5
Joined: January 1st, 2013, 9:20 am

Post Posted February 2nd, 2018, 6:29 am

No it doesn't . . . =D>

Am I right in thinking this could be a rogue add-on then?

[Edit - I noticed extension "Emailpicky 4" installed.

It flags as incompatible with my version of TB - I've removed it]

Update: This appears to have SOLVED the problem.

I have re-introduced ReminderFox and all is well (still).

I have a few other extensions, which I will re-appraise as to whether I really need them, and then TEST (one at a time)

But I feel the problem IS in fact sorted out =D>

Thank you guys for putting me on the right road . . .

ATB

parametric
Windows10 Pro64 / FireFox 58.0.1 (64bit) / Thunderbird 52.6.0 (32bit)

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 119625
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted February 2nd, 2018, 10:43 am

You're welcome.

Moving to Thunderbird Support as there was no bug involved.

Return to Thunderbird Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests