MozillaZine

Two Instances of Thunderbird Running with One Klick

User Help for Mozilla Thunderbird
KPC6NDB
 
Posts: 3
Joined: January 30th, 2018, 10:33 am

Post Posted January 30th, 2018, 11:00 am

This AM after trying to fix an IMAP problem (error box popped up reporting too many connections) I shutdown TB and restarted it. Two exact instances appeared on the screen. Tried several times re-starting/shutting down TB - no help.

Finally shut down PC and re-started. Same thing. Task Manager shows two instances running as well. If I shut down one of them both shut down.

This started with v52.5.2 (I think) then TB updated to 52.6.0 whilst shutting down & re-starting and still does it. ????

Don

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 119620
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted January 30th, 2018, 11:40 am

Moving to Thunderbird Support.

Not seeing that here with 52.6.0. How are you launching Thunderbird, from a desktop shortcut? Have you checked the properties for that shortcut?

morat
 
Posts: 2686
Joined: February 3rd, 2009, 6:29 pm

Post Posted January 30th, 2018, 11:50 am

Thunderbird opens multiple times when started
http://kb.mozillazine.org/Run_multiple_ ... en_started

Similar thread: viewtopic.php?f=39&t=2990045

KPC6NDB
 
Posts: 3
Joined: January 30th, 2018, 10:33 am

Post Posted January 30th, 2018, 1:13 pm

DanRaisch wrote:Moving to Thunderbird Support.

Not seeing that here with 52.6.0. How are you launching Thunderbird, from a desktop shortcut? Have you checked the properties for that shortcut?


From an icon the task bar. The two instances appeared with the earlier v52.5.0(?) whilst I was investigating the IMAP error warning and continued when TB self updated. No problems until today. Did not do any changes/updates/deletions to the PC software/hardware.

Don

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 119620
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted January 30th, 2018, 1:19 pm

I've run both 52.5.x and now 52.6.0 and have not seen the issue you are reporting.
See the recommendation posted above by morat.

KPC6NDB
 
Posts: 3
Joined: January 30th, 2018, 10:33 am

Post Posted January 31st, 2018, 12:20 am

DanRaisch wrote:I've run both 52.5.x and now 52.6.0 and have not seen the issue you are reporting.
See the recommendation posted above by morat.


I couldn't find the referenced "MinimizeToTray Plus" in "Tools -> Add-Ons" in morat's message.

So just happened to right klick on one of the TB instances on the task bar. I then klicked on "-Minimise" in the menu that came up. and that instance went away!

Shutdown TB and then restarted with only one instance! Happy daze are here again!

Cheers,

Don

Return to Thunderbird Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests