MozillaZine

Address book :nsLDAPOperation afilter string not correct

User Help for Mozilla Thunderbird
rogetnoprl
 
Posts: 2
Joined: July 20th, 2017, 11:54 pm

Post Posted July 21st, 2017, 12:18 am

Hello,
I have a problem with thunder bire. I have two machine, one is freshly installed and thunderbird address book works, however, another one search always return zero result. both LDAP offline download are ok, ldap setting are the same too
I compared the ldap log between two machine, the error machine seems have incorrect afilter string compared to normal
10216[b12140]: nsLDAPOperation::SearchExt(): called with aBaseDn = 'dc=mycomany, dc=com'; aFilter = '(&(|(cn=*Roget*)(givenName=*Roget*)(sn=*Roget*)(mozillaNickname=*Roget*)(mail=*Roget*)(mozillaSecondEmail=*Roget*)(&(description=*Roget*))(o=*Roget*)(ou=*Roget*)(title=*Roget*)(mozillaWorkUrl=*Roget*)(mozillaHomeUrl=*Roget*)))'; aAttributes = ...
below are log from normal machine
0[1111140]: nsLDAPOperation::SearchExt(): called with aBaseDn = 'dc=mycomany, dc=com'; aFilter = '(&(|(mail=*roget*)(cn=*roget*)(givenName=*roget*)(sn=*roget*)))'; aAttributes = ...
you see, it might be extra filter string caused no result return.
how to modify the default search string? I didn't find template from about:config, I spent 3 days to lookup this issue but no luck...
the version is 52.1.1(no return) and 35.x.x
it's werid after upgrade the normal ont to 52.2.1(latest), now it's not working... so I assume it's a bug or f new version?
Last edited by rogetnoprl on July 23rd, 2017, 7:31 pm, edited 1 time in total.

tanstaafl
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 43265
Joined: July 30th, 2003, 5:06 pm

Post Posted July 22nd, 2017, 3:32 am

See http://kb.mozillazine.org/Go_back_to_an ... hunderbird if you'd like to install an older version of Thunderbird in a different directory and use it with the same profile. That would help you troubleshoot whether its a version specific problem.

The BaseDn are different. You could search for oracle in the config editor on the "normal machine" to find where that is stored, and then check the corresponding setting (now that you know what its called) on your other machine. However, if your other machine is supposed to use a different server have you tested that server still works correctly using some other software?

rogetnoprl
 
Posts: 2
Joined: July 20th, 2017, 11:54 pm

Post Posted July 23rd, 2017, 7:38 pm

tanstaafl wrote:See http://kb.mozillazine.org/Go_back_to_an ... hunderbird if you'd like to install an older version of Thunderbird in a different directory and use it with the same profile. That would help you troubleshoot whether its a version specific problem.

The BaseDn are different. You could search for oracle in the config editor on the "normal machine" to find where that is stored, and then check the corresponding setting (now that you know what its called) on your other machine. However, if your other machine is supposed to use a different server have you tested that server still works correctly using some other software?


Sorry, I forget to hide my basedn in normal log in my post. The base dn is the same, only query are different. Is there any way to change filter str? I searched and found ldap_2.servers.SERVERNAME.autoComplete.filterTemplate
but I can't find this perference in config editor

tanstaafl
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 43265
Joined: July 30th, 2003, 5:06 pm

Post Posted July 24th, 2017, 5:18 am

That might be because its always used the default value. Try adding it as a string in the config editor. See https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=668087#c2 for an example of how to add it.

You might try asking for help on the tb-enterprise mailing list since most ordinary users don't use LDAP. Occasionally I see a LDAP related post but I'm not aware of anybody who regularly visits this forum that uses it. See https://mail.mozilla.org/listinfo/tb-enterprise

Return to Thunderbird Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 3 guests