MozillaZine


Firefox 93 overpadding solved?

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
Diane Vigil
 
Posts: 300
Joined: October 6th, 2010, 3:55 am

Post Posted October 16th, 2021, 7:42 pm

I'm using Firefox version 90 and have been blocking updates mainly due to the weird over-padding on the vertical dropdown menus. (I've applied the proton tweaks that work with v.90 to tighten up the padding.)

That said, I think it's not that great a practice to use older versions, sooo I wanted to ask whether version 93 (or is it 94 now?) still has the over-padding, and if so, whether there's a way to fix it — and what might that way be?

And, I'm running Windows 10.

Thanks so much for any help and tips.

DSperber
 
Posts: 111
Joined: September 30th, 2012, 1:52 pm

Post Posted October 16th, 2021, 8:43 pm

Proton tweaks in about:config no longer work. You must use CSS now.

Try this CSS snippet in your userChrome.css:

Code: Select all
/* v92.0 vertical menu item spacing */
menupopup:not(.in-menulist) > menuitem,
menupopup:not(.in-menulist) > menu {
  padding-block: 0px !important;
  min-height: unset !important; /* v92.0 - for padding below 4px */
}

/* Bookmark and context menu spacing */
menupopup > menuitem, menupopup > menu {padding-block: 0px !important;
}

/* Options menu spacing */
:root {--arrowpanel-menuitem-padding: 0px 0px !important;
}


0px is the minimum vertical spacing, and I like it this "tight". So you can adjust the values larger to your liking if needed.

DSperber
 
Posts: 111
Joined: September 30th, 2012, 1:52 pm

Post Posted October 16th, 2021, 8:51 pm

I also have a light-gray background for dropdown menus, bookmark folders, etc. Text is black, and the "active item" has a pale blue background with a "glowing blue" text. Very easy on the eyes, and selected items stand out nicely.

Code: Select all
/* v92.0 Bookmarks Toolbar folder drop-downs background color light-gray*/
#PlacesToolbar {
    --arrowpanel-color: black !important;
    --arrowpanel-background: #eaeaea !important;
}

menupopup {
    --panel-color: black !important;
    --panel-background: #eaeaea !important;
}

/* Active menu item background pale-blue, text glowing-blue*/
menu[_moz-menuactive="true"], menuitem[_moz-menuactive="true"] {
  background-color: #e8eefd !important;
  color: #3d3dff !important;
}



Looks like this:

Image

Image

Diane Vigil
 
Posts: 300
Joined: October 6th, 2010, 3:55 am

Post Posted October 16th, 2021, 9:07 pm

Wow! Thank you. I'll be working on this in the next few days, and will post back here.

Again, thanks!

Diane Vigil
 
Posts: 300
Joined: October 6th, 2010, 3:55 am

Post Posted October 16th, 2021, 11:29 pm

Well, I did it, and tweaked all kinds of things. Thanks again; this is much appreciated!

xanthon

User avatar
 
Posts: 272
Joined: December 17th, 2005, 11:55 pm

Post Posted October 16th, 2021, 11:49 pm

With version 93.0, the bookmarks spacing is apparently fixed if you adopt compact mode (about:config then Customise Toolbar). Like you, I have css for spacing.

Diane Vigil
 
Posts: 300
Joined: October 6th, 2010, 3:55 am

Post Posted October 17th, 2021, 12:15 am

xanthon, I don't see Customize Toolbar in the about:config. There was something else I set there — I think it was "browser.compactmode.show" but setting it to true didn't change the dropdown menus. I *think* I restarted FF after I made that setting but, at this point, I can't quite remember.

Anyway, thanks for the tip.

jscher2000

User avatar
 
Posts: 11467
Joined: December 19th, 2004, 12:26 am
Location: Silicon Valley, CA USA

Post Posted October 17th, 2021, 6:20 pm

xanthon wrote:With version 93.0, the bookmarks spacing is apparently fixed if you adopt compact mode (about:config then Customise Toolbar). Like you, I have css for spacing.

For some menus but not others.

Diane Vigil wrote:xanthon, I don't see Customize Toolbar in the about:config. There was something else I set there — I think it was "browser.compactmode.show" but setting it to true didn't change the dropdown menus. I *think* I restarted FF after I made that setting but, at this point, I can't quite remember.

Anyway, thanks for the tip.

Yes, it's a two-step process or set density directly in about:config. https://www.userchrome.org/firefox-89-styling-proton-ui.html#compactmode

xanthon

User avatar
 
Posts: 272
Joined: December 17th, 2005, 11:55 pm

Post Posted October 17th, 2021, 9:10 pm

Go to Customise Toolbar AFTER setting the preference to true. There is a button at the bottom to set density. It seems that not all bookmarks spacing is fixed. I don't know, I have had css for spacing since version 89.

Diane Vigil
 
Posts: 300
Joined: October 6th, 2010, 3:55 am

Post Posted October 17th, 2021, 11:44 pm

Thanks. Interestingly, when I went to Customize Toolbar to set the density to Compact, it said "not supported".

At any rate, my userChrome.css is set up just as I want it.

xanthon

User avatar
 
Posts: 272
Joined: December 17th, 2005, 11:55 pm

Post Posted October 18th, 2021, 12:15 am

Yes, that's what it says but I have always used compact density and, as far as I can tell, it's the same as it always has been. It became 'unsupported' recently.

smsmith
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 19935
Joined: December 7th, 2004, 8:51 pm
Location: Indiana

Post Posted October 18th, 2021, 5:02 am

xanthon wrote:It [compact mode] became 'unsupported' recently.

Correct. Mozilla will no longer be testing changes against compact mode. You will probably receive little sympathy if you file a bug, either, when something breaks.
Give a man a fish, and he eats for a day. Teach a man to fish, and he eats for a lifetime.
I like poetry, long walks on the beach and poking dead things with a stick.
Please do not PM me for personal support. Keep posts here in the Forums instead and we all learn.

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Adsense [Bot] and 3 guests