MozillaZine

FF updates w/o permission [RESOLVED]

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
LoveMyFoxy

User avatar
 
Posts: 2321
Joined: December 11th, 2009, 11:23 am
Location: USA

Post Posted April 27th, 2020, 11:55 am

I just set up Firefox 52.9ESR and Waterfox in a 3rd computer, a clean install of Win 7-64.
(Ignore my user agent; it's there for my online work.

I tried this old trick that I've done before, and it didn't work:
I pulled the ethernet plug to the router, installed FF 52.9, checked "don't update," transferred my profile from another computer, then reinserted the plug. FF installed a separate program file of whatever the current version number is. There's no wi-fi here to do things behind my back.

But there was only one instance in Revo Uninstaller. I uninstalled it and now there's no FF at all.
Last edited by LoveMyFoxy on May 1st, 2020, 12:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.
2 Desktops--Win 7 Ult.SP1 x64/6GB RAM /Firefox 52.9ESR/Waterfox64 2020.9/Thunderbird 52.9ESR/Sticky Password/Verizon FIOS wired network

WaltS48

User avatar
 
Posts: 4375
Joined: May 7th, 2010, 9:38 am
Location: Pennsylvania, USA

Post Posted April 27th, 2020, 12:49 pm

So you checked "don't update" with the new profile created when you started the fresh installation of 52.9 ESR with the ethernet plug pulled.

Then blew that profile away by transferring a profile from another computer.t

Then plugged in the ethernet cable which updated the 52.9 ESR to the current ESR when you started Firefox with the transferred profile.

Did that transferred profile also have "don't update" checked?
Linux Desktop - AMD Athlon(tm) II X3 455 3.3GHz | 8.0GB RAM | GeForce GT 630
Windows Notebook - AMD A8 7410 2.2GHz | 6.0GB RAM | AMD Radeon R5

kreemoweet
 
Posts: 760
Joined: December 30th, 2009, 11:25 pm

Post Posted April 27th, 2020, 12:51 pm

Install FF to the usual Program Files location, make sure Windows UAC is on, and disable the Mozilla Maintenance Service.
Then FF cannot possibly update itself unless you give it explicit permission at the UAC prompt.

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 20511
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted April 27th, 2020, 12:51 pm

In 52, update settings are stored - per Profile.
So if you disabled updated in Profile1, then opened a new profile, Profile2, or some existing or copied in profile, Profile3, where updates had not been disabled...

What I typically do for older obsolete (or otherwise) versions of (Mozilla browsers)...
instalDir/defaults/pref/channel-prefs.js
I change
pref("app.update.channel", "release");
to
pref("app.update.channel", "upyours");

Anything invalid suffices. Make your comment as derogatory as you want ;-).
With that, any 52 (Profile) will fail in finding updates regardless of update settings within that Profile.


Waterfox would (should) not affect anything other then Waterfox.
Waterfox has its' Classic & also its' Quantum.
(First thought was that WF C & Q could run simultaneously, but then thinking that Classic is like FF 56 & Quantum like 75... As it is, don't know exactly.)
Fire 750, bring back 250.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 20511
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted April 27th, 2020, 12:56 pm

Install FF to the usual Program Files location, make sure Windows UAC is on, and disable the Mozilla Maintenance Service.
Then FF cannot possibly update itself unless you give it explicit permission at the UAC prompt.

I suppose that should work.
Depends on FF being installed into /Profile Files/ (or similarly "secure" location).
(As it is I never "install" to a place like that.)
Maintenance Service simply bypasses the UAC prompt's prompt.
So yes, if that is the way you do things, & so long as you don't automatically accept the UAC popup ;-), then that might very well work.
Fire 750, bring back 250.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

mightyglydd

User avatar
 
Posts: 9908
Joined: November 4th, 2006, 7:07 pm
Location: Hollywood Ca.

Post Posted April 27th, 2020, 1:05 pm

LoveMyFoxy wrote:I just set up Firefox 52.9ESR and Waterfox in a 3rd computer, a clean install of Win 7-64.
Outdated OS, antique browsers, yeah that makes sense..
#KeepFightingMichael and Alex.

LoveMyFoxy

User avatar
 
Posts: 2321
Joined: December 11th, 2009, 11:23 am
Location: USA

Post Posted April 27th, 2020, 6:34 pm

error, dupe
Last edited by LoveMyFoxy on April 27th, 2020, 8:55 pm, edited 2 times in total.
2 Desktops--Win 7 Ult.SP1 x64/6GB RAM /Firefox 52.9ESR/Waterfox64 2020.9/Thunderbird 52.9ESR/Sticky Password/Verizon FIOS wired network

LoveMyFoxy

User avatar
 
Posts: 2321
Joined: December 11th, 2009, 11:23 am
Location: USA

Post Posted April 27th, 2020, 6:36 pm

mightyglydd wrote:
LoveMyFoxy wrote:I just set up Firefox 52.9ESR and Waterfox in a 3rd computer, a clean install of Win 7-64.
Outdated OS, antique browsers, yeah that makes sense..


Why did you bother posting?
2 Desktops--Win 7 Ult.SP1 x64/6GB RAM /Firefox 52.9ESR/Waterfox64 2020.9/Thunderbird 52.9ESR/Sticky Password/Verizon FIOS wired network

LoveMyFoxy

User avatar
 
Posts: 2321
Joined: December 11th, 2009, 11:23 am
Location: USA

Post Posted April 27th, 2020, 6:42 pm

therube wrote:In 52, update settings are stored - per Profile.
So if you disabled updated in Profile1, then opened a new profile, Profile2, or some existing or copied in profile, Profile3, where updates had not been disabled...

What I typically do for older obsolete (or otherwise) versions of (Mozilla browsers)...
instalDir/defaults/pref/channel-prefs.js
I change
pref("app.update.channel", "release");
to
pref("app.update.channel", "upyours");

Anything invalid suffices. Make your comment as derogatory as you want ;-).
With that, any 52 (Profile) will fail in finding updates regardless of update settings within that Profile.

Waterfox would (should) not affect anything other then Waterfox.
Waterfox has its' Classic & also its' Quantum.
(First thought was that WF C & Q could run simultaneously, but then thinking that Classic is like FF 56 & Quantum like 75... As it is, don't know exactly.)


Waterfox isn't relevant here, except I set up FF by copying the Classic WF profile. All the settings and extensions are the same. WF is also set to ask me if it can update.

Maybe I did do the steps in the wrong order.Will get back to you if this works.
Last edited by LoveMyFoxy on April 27th, 2020, 8:43 pm, edited 3 times in total.
2 Desktops--Win 7 Ult.SP1 x64/6GB RAM /Firefox 52.9ESR/Waterfox64 2020.9/Thunderbird 52.9ESR/Sticky Password/Verizon FIOS wired network

LoveMyFoxy

User avatar
 
Posts: 2321
Joined: December 11th, 2009, 11:23 am
Location: USA

Post Posted May 1st, 2020, 12:43 pm

OK, my bad. :oops: It worked this time.
2 Desktops--Win 7 Ult.SP1 x64/6GB RAM /Firefox 52.9ESR/Waterfox64 2020.9/Thunderbird 52.9ESR/Sticky Password/Verizon FIOS wired network

LIMPET235
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 39229
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 1:53 am
Location: The South Coast of N.S.W. Oz.

Post Posted May 2nd, 2020, 2:53 am

That's good to hear, errr read, LMFy.

Just for future ref; here's our Frank's original thread fix for the problem.
> viewtopic.php?p=14802688#p14802688

As Frank comments, you can name it anything you like, just as long as you change the original.
Ancient Amateur Astronomer
Win-7-HP/IntelĀ® DualCore-2.0GHz/500G HDD/4 Gig Ram/550Watt PSU/350WattUPS/Firefox-20.0-62.0-70.0/T-bird-2.0.0.24/SnagIt-v10.0.1/MWP-7.12.
W.M.Y.C.
(Always choose the "Custom" Install.)

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests