MozillaZine

Firefox hangs intermittently (Linux)

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
tohiko
 
Posts: 2
Joined: October 18th, 2018, 3:53 am

Post Posted October 18th, 2018, 4:07 am

I have been a Firefox user for years and I recently updated to Firefox 62.0.3 (64-bit) on the latest Ubuntu 18.04.

Now, every once in a while, with no apparent pattern, a grey spinning wheel appears in the middle of all my loaded tabs or newly created ones. Firefox is responsive (in that I can close it, open menus or open new tab) but all the tabs have a spinning grey wheel or are completely unresponsive. This lasts for a few seconds (and happens every couple hours) then everything goes back to normal. If I have a page that is playing some sound (like Spotify web player), the sound is also muted for these few seconds. But the problem happens even if I don't have Spotify web player open (though it might be with less frequency).

Here's what I tried so far (with exactly the same results):
- Create a new profile with no plugins
- Start firefox in safe mode
- Refresh firefox from the "about:support" page
- Disable (or enable) hardware acceleration and reduce the content process limit to 1.

Any ideas? I have stopped using Firefox because of this problem, but I really don't like Chrome.
Last edited by DanRaisch on October 18th, 2018, 4:44 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: (Linux) added to subject line.

LIMPET235
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 38513
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 1:53 am
Location: The South Coast of N.S.W. Oz.

Post Posted October 18th, 2018, 4:11 am

Moving this to Firefox Support...
Ancient Amateur Astronomer
Win-7-HP/IntelĀ® DualCore-2.0GHz/500G HDD/4 Gig Ram/550Watt PSU/350WattUPS/Firefox-20.0-57.0-61.0-62.0/T-bird-2.0.0.24/SnagIt-v10.0.1/MWP-7.11.0.
(Always choose the "Custom" Install.)

Grumpus

User avatar
 
Posts: 12059
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 4:23 am
Location: ... Da' Swamp

Post Posted October 18th, 2018, 5:47 am

The sites you visit, are they media intensive?
Are you connecting to more than one intense site at a time?
Are you waiting for sites provided viewers to function?
Sometimes, if you are blocking a script or a site with some form of media and is slow to load you will see this.
Something similar happens on some news sites where a replay of TV broadcast is involved.
If you see a panel place your cursor over the bottom of the panel and see if a pause or other controls show.
If the entire page is showing and only the activity indicator is cycling see if the tab is in full screen, try a smaller screen if so.

tohiko
 
Posts: 2
Joined: October 18th, 2018, 3:53 am

Post Posted October 18th, 2018, 7:26 am

Grumpus wrote:The sites you visit, are they media intensive?
Are you connecting to more than one intense site at a time?
Are you waiting for sites provided viewers to function?
Sometimes, if you are blocking a script or a site with some form of media and is slow to load you will see this.
Something similar happens on some news sites where a replay of TV broadcast is involved.
If you see a panel place your cursor over the bottom of the panel and see if a pause or other controls show.
If the entire page is showing and only the activity indicator is cycling see if the tab is in full screen, try a smaller screen if so.


Most website are not crazy media-intensive. And my browsing experience is not different on Chrome (or older versions of Firefox) where this problem does not appear. I am not blocking any scripts, since the problem appears even with a clean profile with no plugins.

Grumpus

User avatar
 
Posts: 12059
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 4:23 am
Location: ... Da' Swamp

Post Posted October 19th, 2018, 7:38 am

In /edit /preferences/General - Have you checked the DRM - Digital Rights Management.
If the media on the sites is protected this could cause the issue if the DRM is not checked.

milomak
 
Posts: 72
Joined: August 8th, 2008, 4:01 pm

Post Posted October 21st, 2018, 10:23 am

can you give an example of a site?

i'm running debian sid and ff 60.2.2 esr and thinking of moving out of esr. so i will test and then move to non-esr

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 10 guests