MozillaZine

Text Encoding not working

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
Barkley Hound

User avatar
 
Posts: 354
Joined: June 1st, 2006, 8:53 am

Post Posted July 30th, 2018, 7:37 am

Text Encoding on the View Menu is grayed out and not selectable. I added it to the >> menu and it was still grayed out.

LIMPET235
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 38558
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 1:53 am
Location: The South Coast of N.S.W. Oz.

Post Posted July 30th, 2018, 7:47 am

Moving to Firefox Support...
Ancient Amateur Astronomer
Win-7-HP/Intel® DualCore-2.0GHz/500G HDD/4 Gig Ram/550Watt PSU/350WattUPS/Firefox-20.0-57.0-61.0-62.0/T-bird-2.0.0.24/SnagIt-v10.0.1/MWP-7.11.0.
(Always choose the "Custom" Install.)

RobertJ
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 10776
Joined: October 15th, 2003, 7:40 pm
Location: Chicago IL/Oconomowoc WI

Post Posted July 30th, 2018, 8:32 am

.
If the page specifies text encoding (charset) such as

Code: Select all
<meta http-equiv="content-type" content="text/html; charset=utf-8">

Text Encoding on the View Menu will be grayed out. It is available only when the page HTML does not specify it.

EDIT: Here is a site

https://cheesebuerger.de/

that does not specify it and Text Encoding on the View Menu is not grayed out.

.
FF 66.0 - FF 66b14 - FF 67a - TB 60.5 - Mac OSX 10.13.6
Computers I've used: IBM 7094/UNIVAC 1108/IBM 360/DEC PDP11/DEC VAX-11 780/DEC VAXstation 8000/Sun SPARCstation 2/Mac from 1984 to 2019

Barkley Hound

User avatar
 
Posts: 354
Joined: June 1st, 2006, 8:53 am

Post Posted July 30th, 2018, 8:39 am

RobertJ wrote:.
If the page specifies text encoding (charset) such as

Code: Select all
<meta http-equiv="content-type" content="text/html; charset=utf-8">

Text Encoding on the View Menu will be grayed out. It is available only when the page HTML does not specify it.

EDIT: Here is a site

https://cheesebuerger.de/

that does not specify it and Text Encoding on the View Menu is not grayed out.

.


Thanks. That explains it.

RobertJ
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 10776
Joined: October 15th, 2003, 7:40 pm
Location: Chicago IL/Oconomowoc WI

Post Posted July 30th, 2018, 8:46 am

.
Actually that site does specify this

Code: Select all
<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=iso-8859-1">


So I'm somewhat confused. It has been a while since I coded web sites and there may be something I'm forgetting.

.
FF 66.0 - FF 66b14 - FF 67a - TB 60.5 - Mac OSX 10.13.6
Computers I've used: IBM 7094/UNIVAC 1108/IBM 360/DEC PDP11/DEC VAX-11 780/DEC VAXstation 8000/Sun SPARCstation 2/Mac from 1984 to 2019

Gingerbread Man

User avatar
 
Posts: 7743
Joined: January 30th, 2007, 10:55 am

Post Posted July 30th, 2018, 11:52 am

The Character Encoding menu is unavailable on the vast majority of sites. It's intentionally only enabled when the site doesn't specify a character encoding via an HTTP response header, or when there are UTF-8 errors. If you're looking for technical details, see below, but please don't add unnecessary comments there.

Bug 980904
Bug 1461741, comment 2

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 19374
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted July 30th, 2018, 12:05 pm

Then is FF 52 different in that respect?

https://www.google.com/search?source=hp ... R%F6yksopp

Code: Select all
Unicode: Röyksopp
Western: Röyksopp
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 19374
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted August 1st, 2018, 9:04 am

Then is FF 52 different in that respect?

Yes.
Available in 52, grayed out in Quantum.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

AlainCh2
 
Posts: 13
Joined: April 16th, 2017, 6:30 am

Post Posted March 5th, 2019, 1:36 pm

On DHL.it the menu is greyed out....
in a frame all the week days are displayed wrong:

Lunedì = Luned�
Martedì = Marted�

And so on.
____________________________
Text is also garbled in the main page:

Waybill: 4026394702
Spedizione in transito - BRUSSELS - BELGIUM Marted�, Marzo 05, 2019 at 08:09 Origine Service Area: LE HAVRE - TREMBLAY EN FRANCE - FRANCE Destinazione Service Area: TURIN - ITALY
Data di consegna stimata: Marted�, Marzo 05, 2019
______________________________
Any solution?

(this is only an example - in Europe we have lot of mixed sites - and I just suffer in silence)

Alain

Grumpus

User avatar
 
Posts: 12106
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 4:23 am
Location: ... Da' Swamp

Post Posted March 6th, 2019, 6:35 am

Try this first:
In your /tools/options/General /Fonts for : set to other writing systems
and on the same tab - Text encoding for legacy content set to Other (including western European)
Check allow pages to select thier own fonts.

If that doesn't resolve the issue Try and change the items below, make sure you take paper notes on what you change
intl.charset.fallback.tld; ---set to true
intl.charset.fallback.override; ---set to windows-1252
intl.charset.detector; ---set to UTF-8
intl.charset.fallback.utf8_for_file; ---set to true
intl.fallbackCharsetList.ISO-8859-1; ---set to UTF-8

AlainCh2
 
Posts: 13
Joined: April 16th, 2017, 6:30 am

Post Posted March 6th, 2019, 8:31 am

Thanks for caring:

No, they dont work

Alain

Try yourself this link - set site in italian
https://www.dhl.it/it/express/ricerca.h ... &brand=DHL

Grumpus

User avatar
 
Posts: 12106
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 4:23 am
Location: ... Da' Swamp

Post Posted March 6th, 2019, 11:26 am

The problem looks like the site and not Firefox or your encoding settings
101 Errors, 253 warning(s)
They need to fix the site.

mightyglydd

User avatar
 
Posts: 9337
Joined: November 4th, 2006, 7:07 pm
Location: Hollywood Ca.

Post Posted March 6th, 2019, 11:47 am

^^ Site works just fine, try disabling Firefox Hardware Acceleration and restart. (Options /Performance)
#KeepFightingMichael

AlainCh2
 
Posts: 13
Joined: April 16th, 2017, 6:30 am

Post Posted March 7th, 2019, 8:49 am

mightyglydd wrote:^^ Site works just fine, try disabling Firefox Hardware Acceleration and restart. (Options /Performance)


Sorry didnt find this option... but this one instead:
" Use recommended performance settings"
Update ..
ok : disabled recommended - Hdw Accel. appeared ..... and was disabled

Same as before (after a restart)


Alain

dickvl

User avatar
 
Posts: 52483
Joined: July 18th, 2005, 3:25 am

Post Posted March 7th, 2019, 7:02 pm

This looks like a problem with the website.
This data is retrieved via XHR and if I check this response then I see the question mark in a diamond (FFFD) characters in the server response.
You can check this in the Network Monitor and only select XHR.
https://www.dhl.it/shipmentTracking?AWB ... 2009985205

"description" : "Mercoled�, Marzo 06, 2019 at 13:59",

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests