MozillaZine

FireFox loosing focus - how to diagnose?

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
pokeefe0001
 
Posts: 81
Joined: January 18th, 2010, 4:25 pm
Location: Pacific Northwest, USA

Post Posted June 10th, 2018, 12:59 pm

3 or 4 times in the last 2 weeks FireFox has lost focus. There is no way to bring it to the foreground. (I cannot guarantee there is not a 1-pixel FireFox window the is in the foreground, I guess.) No problem switching between other running programs; no problem starting new programs. If I bring up Process Explorer (or probably Task Manager) and kill all FireFox process, FireFox will restart and run fine.

Each time I've experienced this I have been running a .bat file containing a VereCrypt mount command. The mount completes but the command does not terminate. I think this implies that FireFox is a victim rather than the culprit but I don't know for sure. I suspect that both FireFox and VeraCrypt are victims but I don't know how to verify this. I don't recall seeing anything suspicious in the Windows Event logs (but I can't be sure I looked).

Any suggestions on where I should begin debugging this?

BTW, I'm running FF 60.0.1 on Win10 1803.
Patrick O'Keefe
Win10 x64 Pro, FF 60.0.1 TB 52.1.1

Brummelchen
 
Posts: 3464
Joined: March 19th, 2005, 10:51 am

Post Posted June 10th, 2018, 1:38 pm

provide information please (text, not raw)
https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/us ... ix-firefox

is firefox acting same in safe-mode?
https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/tr ... -safe-mode

Mozilla Crash Reporter
https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/mo ... shreporter
The Mozilla Crash Reporter dialog box appears when Firefox crashes and lets you send a crash report. Learn how it works and how to access your crash reports.

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 18679
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted June 11th, 2018, 3:52 am

What are the contents of your .bat file?

Is FF running from a VC container?

I take it, in these situations, in Process Explorer, FF shows as a process with no associated window (that can be brought to foreground)?
(I have seen that, from time to time, when FF hangs on a Quit.
One time, the last actually, once I realized that this happened, FF did eventually crash - on its own, just from the process hang & then once it actually crashed, it then exited from memory - on its' own.
https://crash-stats.mozilla.com/report/ ... 3dc0180610.)
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

pokeefe0001
 
Posts: 81
Joined: January 18th, 2010, 4:25 pm
Location: Pacific Northwest, USA

Post Posted June 11th, 2018, 10:02 am

therube wrote:What are the contents of your .bat file?

"C:\Program Files\VeraCrypt\VeraCrypt.exe" /q /v d:\VC_Container /l M
therube wrote:Is FF running from a VC container?

No.
therube wrote:I take it, in these situations, in Process Explorer, FF shows as a process with no associated window (that can be brought to foreground)?

Uhh, I don't know how to tell which FF process (if any) has an associated window. Right now I have 2 open FF windows. Process explorer shows 5 FF processes. Obviously, two of them have associated windows but I don't know how to tell which.
therube wrote:(I have seen that, from time to time, when FF hangs on a Quit.
One time, the last actually, once I realized that this happened, FF did eventually crash - on its own, just from the process hang & then once it actually crashed, it then exited from memory - on its' own.
https://crash-stats.mozilla.com/report/ ... 3dc0180610.)

I don't know if I waited long enough, but thee was no FF crash.

Based on Brummelchen's post I took a look at the FF diagnostic data. I notice it says I have both Windows Defender and Kaspersky Internet Security active. I thought Kaspersky was supposed to inactivate (to the extent possible) Windows Defender. (FF diagnostic data on another PC shows just Kaspersky.) There are all sorts of warning about running multiple antivirus programs on the same computer. I'm going to look into that before I do any more checking into FireFox.
Patrick O'Keefe
Win10 x64 Pro, FF 60.0.1 TB 52.1.1

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 18679
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted June 11th, 2018, 10:52 am

In Process Explorer, if you right-click on the 'firefox.exe' process (the head of a particular FF "tree", I guess it would be, in the case of FF w/multi-process), there is the Window-> context-menu item (Bring to front, Restore, Minimize...).

If FF has "lost it's window", Window or all the items therein, are grayed out, that is what you'd want to look for. No method to bring it to front, to restore it... It is "running", but dead to you.


As far as I understand, in Win10, "Windows Defender" is an actual "antivirus" program (less so in earlier Windows versions), so yes I would think you should not be running Kaspersky & Windows Defender simultaneously.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

BobbyPhoenix

User avatar
 
Posts: 101
Joined: April 24th, 2014, 5:58 am

Post Posted June 11th, 2018, 1:55 pm

You could try something like this to see what takes focus: http://www.happydroid.com/focus
Do, or do not. There is no try.

pokeefe0001
 
Posts: 81
Joined: January 18th, 2010, 4:25 pm
Location: Pacific Northwest, USA

Post Posted June 12th, 2018, 7:52 pm

Now that I've got my antivirus software squared away I think I'll just wait and see if the problem happens again.
Patrick O'Keefe
Win10 x64 Pro, FF 60.0.1 TB 52.1.1

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot] and 19 guests